We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BW Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Burnaby, Bc
1 review
“BW Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent two evenings at the Coronada, the room was clean but smaller than most of the BW hotels we have stayed in. There is a pool and a deck to enjoy right outside your room. We were across the street from the office. The restaurant across the street that provides breakfast is very good and the staff was very friendly. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The house keeping staff had flair to make animals of all shapes made from towels; it was fun to see what they came up with each day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the folding of the towels, they try to make your stay a memorable one. Looking forward to your next visit. Thanks for choosing Best Western for your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    97
    44
    24
    10
See reviews for
58
110
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is in old town and has the look and character feeling of years past. It is very spread out, but once you are settled in, all is well. It was clean but lacked upgrading in some areas. A free breakfast is always appreciated, and the friendly staff at the restaurant made for an interesting visit. Picture of years past with a bit of history, gave opportunity for stories from the locals.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet area to get away fro restaurant and highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thanks you for staying with us, we really appreciate your business. I'm glad you like the history. I truly sorry our hotel museum was closed during your stay, for renovations. It's almost completed so maybe on your next visit, I'll give you a personal tour. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Front desk was polite. The hotel is divided in three sections wich was a little uncomfortable because you had to walk across the street to reach the lobby. From the moment I walk in, the first thing I noticed was that it did not have a chemical, stored old smell. The room was very clean it gave me a feeling of a five star hotel! Everything felt fancy :) the bed was comfortable and did not have your typical hotel comfort. The room had a couch wich seemed new with everything else. Clean work station, microwave and fridge. The best part was the complimentary breakfast the hotel offers. Breakfast is offered across the hotel in a dinner, wich the hotel provides with vouchers. Awesome breakfast! The voucher offers cold or hot breakfast, cold cones with cereal juice and hot breakfast offers two eggs any style, hash brown, toast, bacon or sausage! Unlimited coffee or tea... I would recommend this hotel for allll business travelers and or vacation stays.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YJMVelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. You had one of our many suites. We have 5 different kinds of suites. Maybe on your next visit ask the front desk at check in. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

A friendly and comfortable motel, conveniently close to the old downtown. A little worn, but a nice warm atmosphere. Beds and room comfortable, service helpful and prompt. Very nice to be in a hotel with character that's not an anonymous part of a big chain. Free breakfast was fine, not wonderful. A fast meal if you want to head out without delay to San Diego or Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review. The breakfast is a cooked to order breakfast. I'm sorry it was not to liking. Maybe next time maybe change the way we cook your eggs. We have nine different ways your eggs can be served.. Or our home made oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins is one of my favorites. See you next time you come to Yuma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Never been a fan of the US motel style hotels but this was nice and clean and spead over a large area. A bit confusing as there are sites at both sides of the road. The room was fine and clean. Restaurant is down the street and excellent

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thanks for staying with us We appreciate your business and looking forward to your next visit to Yuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakapuna
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Check in was slow and I was the only person in the lobby, check out was quick. The property is in an older part of Yuma. It is spread out across the street and such. You get a complimentary breakfast coupon for "The Landing" which I used. Breakfast was OK but it was free so to speak so no complaints. Back to the hotel, the exterior reminded me of the Bates Motel. This was just an observation and I don't mean to be negative. The room was spacious and there was a flat screen TV. The windows are very old and don't feel safe. Each room has a rod iron chair and table outside the front door which is a nice place to sit and mingle with other guests. The proximity to the road and bad windows contribute to the room being loud/noisy. Everything else about the motel not hotel was average. I am not sure about the area yet as there was a bum that walked by and a large intimidating man that appeared to have no purpose on the property that sort of sneaked up on me. This review comes across as negative but my stay was overall very pleasant. I would stay here again for $75 or less.

Room Tip: Can't think of any tips for this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Looking forward to your return to Yuma. We have made a alot of changes in the recent month so waiting for your comments on your next visit to the Best Western Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We recently took a trip to Yuma and were looking forward to staying at the Best Western Coronado hotel in the historic district of town. The hotel is touted as a charming, historical property with beautiful landscaping and upgraded rooms.
Generally it was a disappointment, despite the welcoming and friendly front desk staff. In actual fact, it is a very basic motel on a busy street. There have been some attempt to upgrade the beds and the TV, but the kitchenette units and bathrooms are needing attention in both modernization and in cleanliness. There was a very small swimming pool surrounded by concrete with no landscaping. The sound of traffic was audible day and night, and the back window of our unit looked out on a blank wall.
A full breakfast was included in a neighboring restaurant, which was nice, but the bar in this restaurant was also an off track betting establishment, which did not entice us to patronize it the remainder of the day. No other restaurants are within walking distance.
Staying in the historic area of Yuma does not offer much for the tourist. There have been an attempt to revitalize the downtown, but with little success to this point, since many properties are vacant, and people are not around, especially in the evening. This establishment was at best 2 star in our experience, and should not be represented as 3+ stars. We would not stay here again, and were surprised that the Best Western logo did not provide us with the service and accommodation we are accustomed to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimmerlinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne P, General Manager at Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. Sorry we did stand up to your expectations. We have been renovating the hotel for the past several months, We are almost completed so please return and give us a second chance to show you the changes.We appreciate your business and looking forward to your return to Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
1.9 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
1.7 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Yuma
Radisson Hotel Yuma
#2 of 33 in Yuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yuma Pivot Point
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma

Property: Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
Address: 233 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-2231 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Yuma
#8 Business Hotel in Yuma
#10 Family Hotel in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Yuma hotel - newly renovated, close to Colorado River, Mexico and California border. The historic Coronado Motor Hotel is near the Imperial Sand Dunes, the Yuma Territorial Prison, the Federal East and West Wetland Area and the Yuma Crossing National Heritage Area, Yuma Crossing State Park, St. Thomas Mission, and Lake Martinez are also conveniently nearby. Hotel is 5 miles to Yuma International Airport and 10 minutes to Marine Corp. Air Station, 25 minutes to Yuma Army Proving Grounds. Affordable guest rooms are newly remodeled and equipped with refrigerator, microwave, flat screen cable television with HBO and free hard wired and wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast. Amenities include 2 outdoor swimming pools, hot tub, fitness center, 3 guest laundries, and 2 full-service business centers. The hotel also boasts an onsite cocktail lounge, the Hanger Sports Bar, an Espresso Bar, and dining room Pets are welcome for a small fee. Business travelers will appreciate the hotel's proximity to the Yuma County Courthouse, the Boeing Training Station, the Bose Factory, Dole Food and the Marine Corps Base. For superior customer service and a convenient location, make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yuma
Yuma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing