We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    159
    140
    79
    55
See reviews for
177
147
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The stay at the Yuma Howard Johnson is a pleasant visit to the 1950's. The motel has been refurbished with clean but used furniture. The motel is located on a large grassy corner which is reminiscent of its glory days. The complimentary breakfast is more than adequate and made even more pleasant by the cheerful hostess, who seems like visiting an old friend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was quite disappointed in the Yuma Howard Johnsons. Despite the promise of a heated pool, not only on the website but actually printed on the directory in the room itself, the water was unheated. At about 65 degrees, I couldn't swim at all. The staff explained that the heater was only turned on during the winter. Also, the promised hot tub was drained and completely out of service. The HBO channel had so much snow and interference that I couldn't watch it. The staff was friendly, but I expected the services to be as advertised.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamhill, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Meh. Of all the hotels I've stayed in (and there have been literally hundreds) this was... one of the most recent. The Good: staff was uniformly friendly and tried hard to be helpful. They steered us to a very nice, nearby Mexican restaurant for example. The breakfast (as related by other reviewers) was good for the class of hotel, and (again) the staff person in charge was helpful, friendly, and caring. The Mediocre: wifi available only in the common areas. Entire property rather long in the tooth; using a pressure washer to get the ground-in gum off the pavement for example wouldn't be too difficult. Beds are dated and cheap. Phone message light blinks forever (finally just unplugged it). Only one bedside lamp worked. The staff couldn't figure out how to find us two rooms that were ready, in the category we had reserved, and close to each other - we traipsed to and fro for some time getting this figured out. And the staff never did understand that a room with two "full" or "double" beds is not a "double QUEEN room." The Bad: the bathroom was filthy. Looked like aquarium sand had been dumped in the toilet. The lavatory had dirt and muck compacted behind the faucet set. There was hair and dust bunnies behind the toilet and behind the door. Overall not a great representative for the HOJO brand name.

Room Tip: All rooms open to the outside. Backside rooms face the busy street; inside rooms *might* be impacted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORGinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I found this by chance...Most hotels in Yuma were close to being fully booked...Why? This city was celebrating their Centennial...which I did not realize! The price was great ...lovely pool.. and surprise! ...a B-B-Q (free) on the night I arrived! My only 2 negatives were that you had to get ice from the front desk and that I had to move a floor lamp to my bedside so I could read in bed...not major problems! The continental breakfast was excellent - juices, cereals, yogurt, waffles, toast, bagels, pastry....I will definitely stay here again. It is close to the airport...but no plane noise!

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor in front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yuma hotels
2.3 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites - Yuma
2.4 mi away
Best Western InnSuites Yuma Mall Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
La Fuente Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Yuma
10.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Yuma
3.6 mi away
Coronado Motor Hotel-Yuma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Yuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Yuma

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Yuma
Address: 3181 S 4th Ave, Yuma, AZ 85364-8195
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Yuma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Yuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Yuma 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Inn Yuma offers a pleasant guest experience at any affordable rates The hotel is guest oriented and provides a Free Breakfast and WIFI as our 24 hour coffee in lobby we do accept AAA , AARP ,Military and more Howard Johnson is known to be a Fidos favorite with a greenery area for pets its known to be one of the best get away from home vacation Howard Johnson known to be one of the best hotels in the area bilingual front-desk and housekeeping department. come enjoy your stay at the Howard Johnson inn Yuma as our rooms have been remodeled don't miss out book know or call the hotel directly ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Yuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Yuma Hotel Yuma
Howard Johnson Hotel Yuma
Howard Johnson Yuma
Yuma Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing