We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bismarck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Right on the lake! The surroundings were beautiful and quiet. Our room was nice and the bed was very comfy. The restaruant was great, we ate there several times, and it was always good. Especially the weekend buffets. The prices and the service . . . nice! This will not be our last trip to DeGray Lake State Park Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
55
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Take in all the amenities this place has to offer - breathtaking views, beautifully landscaped, modern facilities, plenty of meeting space, on site restaurant, courteous staff, and clean rooms. Hard to believe this is a state park facility!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank n2n8ture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our room was very clean, the resort looked very nice, and several short trails to walk. Lake is very pretty. We had a two double bed unit which was VERY small. It would be fine for two people, but four would be difficult. The toilet and shower were enclosed, but the room is so small that there is just enough room to stand. The toilet does not have a seat cover, so items put on the towel shelf tend to fall into the toilet. The tub did not drain. Water was comfortably warm but not hot. Food in the restaurant left a LOT to be desired. All that said, the resort has a great location, perfect scenery, pleasant staff, fun activities. I would definitely return, but would request the queens or king rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingonabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge is another one of Arkansas State Parks exceptional properties. The Lodge itself sits on a peninsula and is separated from the rest of the resorts offerings by a narrow bridge. The other offerings consist of campgrounds, golf course, horseback riding stables, marina (boat rentals), basketball and tennis courts. A state park road runs through the property but there are no walking or bicycling trails connecting the Lodge to the other amenities. The road is 30mph but we observed most vehicle traffic in the park exceeding this limit. This made bicycling the entirety of the property more dangerous than it needed to be especially for kids and we ended up driving between the various areas.
The Lodge is 1970's vintage, more modern in design than some of the other State Park Lodges. It has a great soaring Lobby with a central stone fire place and lots of sitting areas that shares space with a full service restaurant all overlooking beautiful Lake DeGray through giant windows that run the length of the main building. The Lodge is landscaped nicely with lots of yards and walkways and a couple of easy hiking trails. An outdoor heated pool also overlooks the lake as does an indoor/outdoor very large hot tub. EVERYTHING at DeGray Lodge was very clean and immaculately kept from the rooms to the grounds to the public restrooms. Every staff member encountered was friendly and helpful and welcoming and seemed to be happy to work there. The restaurant food quality was hit and miss and the prices were about average when compared to a chain like Chili's or Cracker Barrel although the breakfast buffet was a really good value, especially for kids under 12. The State Park staff and Rangers do a good job of scheduling a variety of optional activities for the family and kids each day. The only real drawback of the Lodge are the rooms themselves which are absolutely perfect for 2 people and 1 King sized bed but absolutely too cramped and uncomfortable for 4 people and 2 beds. The furniture they use in the rooms is standard motel 6 quality and not at all efficient or designed for a small space. Better furniture design and use of wall space could make the Lodge rooms 100 times better. All in all this State Park Lodge is an unbeatable value at its current price and I highly recommend it to families and couples with the only draw back the current state of the rooms. A family of 4 or 5 might want to seriously consider getting 2 rooms.

Room Tip: Arrive early to check in as the best rooms with views of the Lake go first come first serve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firemandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Visited the resort on 2/14/2014 for the Valentine's Day Dinner Special. Decided to spend the night as I didn't want to drive home after dark on a Friday night. The dinner was excellent and the service superb. The dining room staff was extremely friendly - they even made us up a to go tray with fresh coffee to take back to our room. Other staff members were also friendly and helpful.

Our room had a king bed and was comfortable for two people. Two chairs, wall-mounted satellite TV and normal amenities. I liked the bed as it had a nice firm mattress. My wife, liking a softer mattress, wasn't quite as happy. The room, along with the rest of resort facilities, was very clean and well maintained. We took a couple of quick hikes on the trails adjacent to the lodge. The trails were easily followed with gentle slopes.

All in all a very pleasant stay. I think we'll try it in November for their Thanksgiving Day dinner.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are on a "first come, first served," basis, so get there a bit early if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Having made our reservations slightly more than two months in advance for four rooms and requesting rooms close together, with a lake view, the only disappointment with our stay was no lake view rooms for us.The unacceptable explanation for this was that that lake view rooms were first come first served. So all lake view rooms could be occupied by guests that simply drove in that day with no reservation and your two plus months advance reservation counts for nothing.I think this is simply bad policy.

The good things about our stay is that everyone was very friendly, the rooms, though small, were very clean and comfortable. The Thanksgiving buffet was excellent, the overall dining experience during our stay was very good with well prepared food served by friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. Many of the park planned activities were presented by park rangers who made them fun and informative.

Every employee seemed to care about the guests and were always friendly and helpful. You don't always get what you want or what you request but our overall stay at the Lodge was good enough for and excellent rating for this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razorback22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Staying at the lodge at Lake DeGray is getting away from it all. The lodge sits on the bank of the lake, accessed by crossing a narrow isthmus beside the beautiful golf course. The rooms are very comfortable, the main room of the lodge homey. A huge fireplace is burning most days in fall and winter, and it's wonderful to cozy up on a sofa and read. The restaurant serves delicious, homecooked meals. A buffet is offered at noon and night, plus the wine selection is really good for the remote nature of the lodge. The staff is like family - so friendly and accommodating. I was brought coffee as I sat by the fire. It was wonderful.

There are owl prowls at night, and eagle tours on the lake during the day. Last trip out I saw two majestic bald eagles, one in flight and one sitting up on a tree. That evening as we ate in the dining room, a huge eagle arrived and sat in a tree not 30 feet from us to enhance our dining pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bismarck
12.9 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
15.3 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#5 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
Hampton Inn Arkadelphia
#1 of 11 in Arkadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
7.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 11 in Arkadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge

Property: DeGray Lake Resort State Lodge
Address: 2027 State Park Maintenance Rd, Bismarck, AR 71929-7308
Region: United States > Arkansas > Bismarck
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bismarck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 94 guest rooms is equipped with a flat panel television with satellite programming, complimentary Wi-Fi and hard-wire internet access, a mini refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron with ironing board. Additional amenities include a heated outdoor swimming pool (available seasonally), playground, sand volleyball court, bicycle rentals, horseshoe pit, gift shop, lighted walking path, and day-use courtesy dock. Explore the Island Trail which follows the western shoreline of the island. To further enhance your stay, the lodge includes a grand lobby with stone fireplace, indoor hot tub, business center,fitness center, conference center, the Shoreline Restaurant, and Blue Heron Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Degray Lake Hotel Bismarck
Degray Lake Resort
Degray Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing