We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and off the beaten path”
Review of River View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calico Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calico Rock
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay and our 4 year old daughter loved having her own room. We stayed in room 10 which had 2 rooms and its own private balcony. It also had a small kitchenette with antique refrigerator. If you enjoy unique experiences and have an eclectic style, then you will enjoy River View. The hotel has a lot of history and many neat nooks and crannies that you can explore. The hotel does need some extensive TLC but regardless, it is a neat experience. The owners are so nice and friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brownie0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

my wife and i had our wedding reception here. mark and linda were more than accommodating for all of our needs. the river view made a great venue for our small gathering.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pykevand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We just returned to St. Louis from a 3 night stay at the River View Hotel and could not have hoped for a better home base for exploring the beautiful area. The hotel itself is quite unique and truly takes you back in time - yet it is quite clean and comfy and inviting, There are porches that are perfect for browsing through the many books and info on the area and to enjoy a cup of tea or a cold beverage.

We booked room 10 as a couple - because we were jazzed by the private balcony it offers and wanted a small kitchenette available to us. We LOVED the evenings sitting at the comfortable table and chairs on the balcony overlooking part of the river. It was totally perfect after a hike in the Sylamore Creek area.

Mark helped us out with a map of the county roads in the area - and we spend two perfect days sitting in the creeks and exploring. Fishing was shut down during our visit...due to high water..and while we had planned a day of fishing we found Blanchard Cave and Mountain View within easy driving distance and both were great fun.

Both days we spent there I was anxious to return to home base and relax and enjoy the evening. We BBQd on the balcony one night and the next night used the larger group kitchen that is well stocked and very inviting. The beds were huge with wonderful linens and the bathroom shower was fine and supplied lots of clean fluffy towels (also welcomed after a sit in the creek or Gunner Pool site).


One note for those who imbibe - this is a dry county and you should BYOB or be prepared to drive about 30 miles to purchase. We wound up doing both! Gin and Tonics on the balcony were too much fun.

I read the comments about the Bed and Breakfast Inn being short on breakfast,...please note that the owners disclosed that that they were no longer in the breakfast business when we booked. Didn't matter to us one bit.

We will recommend this hotel to lot's of folks we know - who appreciate both the great outdoors and a simple place to stay that offers privacy and a chance to spread out a bit at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed it completely.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RoadTrippers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Nice room. We got a room with two separate bedrooms and a bathroom. One with a full size bed and one with a king for $75. The bathroom had no shower only a bathtub. It was a quaint hotel. It reminded me of staying at my great-grandmother's as a child. There was no breakfast though, which I thought was weird for a bed and breakfast hotel. There was a guest kitchen with tea and coffee and other snacks.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank karenyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The owners are very friendly and nice. The place is very charming. However they do not serve a hot breakfast anymore. The website and other reviews show that they have fresh fruit, bread etc... However there was only a few bananas that were pretty ripe and some dry up cantelope in the fridge. Some dry raisin bread and no butter or anything to put on it. Just very diappointing overall. Usually when you stay in these kind of places they have great breakfast etc....
Also the shower was made for a minature person. I am average height and the shower head was at the middle of my upper back.
The other challenges with this place is that they need to update the electrical example- we had to turn the air conditioner unit to be able to use my hair blowdryer etc...
We would stay there again if they lowered their prices. We paid $160 for two nights but it was too overpriced for the place. Should have been around $40-$50 per night.
I hope this is helpful.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltoday10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

If you are ready to experience the ultimate in romantic, relaxing getaways, this is the place. The rooms are comfy and exceptionally clean and the the owners, Mark & Linda, are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. The breakfast was incredible and we look forward to going back next year with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GentryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Based on reviews we read, we decided to try this place. We had a great time staying there. The inn-keepers are very friendly and make themselves available when you need assistance. . The overlook of the White river makes it worth the stay. There isn't much to do in the town, but if you are going for relaxation, it's hard to beat. There was a great restaurant: Don Quixote's on main street that is within walking distance. Just bring your bottle of wine with you because it's a dry county. They don't mind!

Stayed: October 2008
Thank seb_sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to River View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Hotel

Address: 100 Rodman, P.O. Box 631, Calico Rock, AR 72519
Region: United States > Arkansas > Calico Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calico Rock
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple hotel in the Arkansas Ozarks overlooking the White River. On the National Register of Historic Places. Close to hiking, kayaking, Ozark music and crafts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing