We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back into the Past”
Review of River View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calico Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calico Rock
Gentry AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step back into the Past”
Reviewed 5 October 2009

If you are ready to experience the ultimate in romantic, relaxing getaways, this is the place. The rooms are comfy and exceptionally clean and the the owners, Mark & Linda, are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. The breakfast was incredible and we look forward to going back next year with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GentryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sherwood, ar
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Based on reviews we read, we decided to try this place. We had a great time staying there. The inn-keepers are very friendly and make themselves available when you need assistance. . The overlook of the White river makes it worth the stay. There isn't much to do in the town, but if you are going for relaxation, it's hard to beat. There was a great restaurant: Don Quixote's on main street that is within walking distance. Just bring your bottle of wine with you because it's a dry county. They don't mind!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank seb_sherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2006

This affordable historic hotel is incredible beyond words. It feels much more like a B&B than a hotel, and the innkeepers define hospitality. It's not ritzy, but beautiful, quiet, quaint, and homey. Our family needed some time to reconnect after my husband returned from overseas, so we came here with our kids and stayed in a two-bedroom suite with kitchenette and private porch, for an amazingly low rate. Each room/suite is different, and we had fun looking into the other ones (it's too bad we had to choose one to stay in). There's a large screened porch on the second floor for guests, and we spent hours there. Our mattress was probably the best we've found anywhere. The made-from-scratch breakfasts are creative and wonderful. The innkeepers know the area well and they not only recommended a good place to hear mountain music, but even called to reserve some tickets for us. I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sojourners4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 August 2004

Six years ago my huband and I spent our honemoon at the River View Hotel, Calico Rock, Arkansas.............The hotel and staff are wonderful. Even though the owners have changed, it's still wonderful place to stay. You feel like you are at home with the wonderful greeting, atmosphere...................and at anytime you can walk to the sunroom and see the beautiful White River and countryside. We enjoy Calico Rock so much we are up to two visits each year. If I had my way, we'd sell everything and move there. Since we can't move, we will continue making several trips a year to Calico Rock staying at the River View Hotel. Can't say enough wonderful things about the the Hotel and Calico Rock.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2002

We found the hotel online and stayed there over labor day in 2000. The
breakfasts blow you away...very inventive! The rooms are very eclectic
and scream southern charm and kookiness! This place is just wonderful
and the owner and daughter have done a lovely job. Cheers!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2002

Stayed at the River View on labor day weekend in 2000. Had the greatest time and the hotel is just perfect. The breakfast there will blow other B&Bs away...very creative and inventive! The charm of the hotel is in its wackiness... that is about the best way to say it. I loved the moon pies and cold sodas! We will be coming back!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 February 2002

We had two days to explore Arkansas and this is one of those place where memories are made. The inn keeper is very nice, and she understands that you want to be alone. She has an upstair kitchen so if you are hungry in the middle of the night or just want some hot cocoa it's there already. The scenery was beautiful and so was the room. This would be a great place to escape from the world. When I think of romantic, this place always come to my mind. :-)

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calico Rock
20.0 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
55 reviews
20.4 mi away
Ramada Mountain Home
Ramada Mountain Home
#5 of 16 in Mountain Home
421 reviews
17.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mountain View
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Cottonwood Inn
Cottonwood Inn
#1 of 1 in Salem
14 reviews
20.3 mi away
Days Inn Mountain Home
Days Inn Mountain Home
#4 of 16 in Mountain Home
317 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Hotel

Property: River View Hotel
Address: 100 Rodman, P.O. Box 631, Calico Rock, AR 72519
Region: United States > Arkansas > Calico Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calico Rock
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple hotel in the Arkansas Ozarks overlooking the White River. On the National Register of Historic Places. Close to hiking, kayaking, Ozark music and crafts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing