We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but the hotel is looking "tired"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Camden
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Camden
DFW Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great staff, but the hotel is looking "tired"”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

It had been many years since my last visit to Camden and things have changed. There's now a Super Walmart where the old Holiday Inn once stood, which was (years ago) the only really nice hotel in town. The newer HI Express is a little less convenient to the Highland Industrial Park, but still a fairly short drive. The staff at this hotel was very friendly and provided great service, but... the hotel rooms need some updating and maintenance. My biggest complaint was that the bed had a mattress protector that made sleeping uncomfortable and the "soft" pillows weren't really soft - and it took a couple of tries to lock the door (a type that has had some recent security problems) from the inside, so I didn't feel as secure in the room as I'm accustomed. Still and all, there aren't many choices in Camden and the HIE is one of two only hotels I would consider staying in here.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ProfCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
2
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here in April of 2013 for two nights. I dropped my iPhone cord in the hall as well as left my Nike Fuel Band in the bathroom when I left. The staff found both and held into them for me until I called. I couldn't have asked for better service bill definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I am a priority club member that has stayed at many HI and HI Expresses. Even though the hotel doesnt look that old, it is showing its age. Maintenance could be better and the rooms really need to be updated to today's style and standards. My bathroom door looks like a dog was kept in there because there are scratches at the bottom of the door. The microwave in the room is old, very old. The air conditioner never got real cold - it got cool but not cold cold. I guess i got lucky because my a/c was quiet. It was nice to have the refrigerator in the room.
I did not smell the mildew that other people have complained about but i did buy some air fresheners to put in the room but i always do that when i am in a hotel for an extended stay.

This is Camden so there are not too many choices. The staff is really friendly and they do try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. So, with the choices that are available, this hotel is probably your best bet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

I am staying here as we speak. I'm a priority club member. I stay at holiday inns frequently. Front desk staff here are awesome. However the entire hotel smells mildewy and damp. Yuck. I would not recommend this hotel. The room is also dirty. Hairs in sink and on floor. Plus patchy paint on walls. I thought this place was new but I guess not?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstilgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Camden, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Jstilgen,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The rooms are average at best, and this not the nicest Holiday Inn Express I’ve stayed at. There is a smell of mildew/ammonia in the rooms and throughout the hotel. The air conditioning unit is extremely loud and frequently this horrible rattling noises that made it impossible to sleep at times.

The lobby is clean and well maintained, although the microwave (they are not available in the rooms) was barely operable. There are very few restaurants that are nasty fast food, so I brought something back from the Walmart grocery store and had some difficulty trying heat it.
Holiday Inn is not my first choice for hotels, but there is little else in the area. From what I’ve been told by my co-workers, this hotel is far better than the other two in Camden. This hotel does not offer my employer’s standard per diem room rate for the area, but neither do the other two Camden hotels.

I may have work out in Camden again, so its either here or the Hampton Inn that is 30 miles away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesthebeach8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Camden, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Likesthebeach8,

Thank You for writing a review for the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Camden Arkansas. It is our mission to make every guest comfortable and feel that they are at their home away from home. I believe that your concerns are genuine and would like to have the opportunity to address t hem with you personally. Please feel free to contact via email: lori@shinnent.com or via phone @ 870-836-8100. Thank You again for taking your time reviewing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites.

Kindest Regards,

Lori DeWoody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Not much to this town but this hotel is nice. Clean, friendly staff and good breakfast. A bit pricey but it's worth it

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saskproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed at the HIE in Camden 23 times in the past four years, pretty alarming, eh? I have always found this HIE to be very well maintained and operated. The night clerk would always make a fresh pot of coffee when I would often wake up much earlier than the breakfast service; this was greatly appreciated.

The visitors lounge is very comfy with huge leather chairs and sofa's where along with my colleagues enjoyed after dinner conversations and cocktails prior to settling in for the night.

There aren't many options for hotels in rural Camden AR, but this one I would recommend if you happen to be traveling through lower Arkansas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Camden, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Mr. Galvin,

Thank You for your kind words regarding the Holiday inn Express and Suites in Camden, AR. My staff is very passionate about the satisfaction of our guest. Their attention to detail and Great Southern Hospitality comes alive when you walk through the doors. I hope that the next time you are in town for 1 day or 23 days that you will choose us again.

Kindest Regards,

Lori DeWoody
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holiday Inn Express Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Camden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Camden
Address: 1450 Highway 278 SW, Camden, AR 71701-4582
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Camden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Camden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Camden features guest rooms with a coffeemaker, iron & ironing board, clock/radio, hairdryer, and spacious bathrooms. Suites additionally provide a wet bar with refrigerator and microwave. Two suites have the above plus whirlpool jets in the bathtub. Two deluxe suites have all of the above as well as a double whirlpool for 2 in room with king bed. Our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar is available from 6 am - 9:30 am. An elevator is available for your convenience. Free hard-wired and wireless high speed Internet access in all guest rooms. Business Center provides guests with a computer with free high speed Internet access and copy machine. Guest laundry. Dry cleaning service available Monday-Friday. Outdoor pool is seasonal. Pet friendly, please inform when making reservation. Sorry, no large truck parking. Visit Camden, AR and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Take a virtual tour of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Camden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Camden Hotel Camden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing