We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real countryside gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Powick Posthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Powick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Powick Posthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Powick B&B and Inns
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A real countryside gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble upon this great b &b when looking for somewhere to stay whilst helping our son and daughter-in-law move into their new home in Powick. Set at the end of an un-made, single track road, The Post House is a gem waiting to be discovered. James and Lola were very welcoming and the hard work they have put into making their home warm and inviting is evident.
After a long day of painting, it was wonderful to come back for a quick shower prior to going out to sample some of the great restaurants in the area.
Breakfast each morning was a real treat and Lola's porridge is not to be missed! We look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: The Oak Room has a lovely en-suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumblesthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My mother, sister and I spent two nights staying in the self-contained Coach House. It was the perfect retreat away from the stresses of everyday life. Lola was very warm and welcoming and gave us a great recommendation of where to go for dinner (The Swan Inn, Newland). The Coach House was the perfect size for us with a lovely mezzanine bedroom overlooking the living room. The decking area behind the Coach House gave us the bonus of having somewhere to sit outside in the evenings. We made the most of the beautiful countryside on the doorstep with a lovely walk to the weir and we also visited the local lido in Droitwich Spa. Lola very kindly let us know we didn't have to rush off on the Sunday morning which made our trip feel even more relaxed. We'd highly recommend the Coach House for a cosy place to stay in the country.

Room Tip: We couldn't fault The Coach House and Lola's hospitality, we loved our stay. Just one teeny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJTTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Posthouse is truely fantastic - wonderful location, friendly & welcoming hosts, scrumptious breakfast and probably one of the most comfortable beds that I have slept in.
Thanks James and Lola for a lovely stay ... I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiglewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Wow!! What a wonderful place the Posthouse is. Tucked away down an unmade lane, the Posthouse is a marvel when you arrive.

Despite arriving earlier than expected, the room was ready and Lola made us most welcome (and Lola the dog too!!).

The Walnut Room is just what it says it is - decorated in beautiful decorative walnut furniture. The bed is too comfotrable as it was a struggle to get up for the fabulous breakfast!

The private bathroom is of the highest quality and everything is spotless.

Would highly recommend this accomodation if you are looking for a 'get away from it all' break. Despite its' isolation you are minutes away from Worcester or Malvern.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenCowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Thank you James and Lola.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt welcomed and well looked after.
Having stayed in similarly priced establishments throughout the country this is up with the best of them.
The location is beautiful, the property imposing and attractive and the facilities exactly what you would expect.
The room we stayed in was beautifully furnished and cleaned to my wife's standard...something I haven't managed to do at home in 18 years.
We will be back the next time we are anywhere near!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is such a beautiful tranquil setting. Lola and James are very welcoming. The room was well equipped and spacious. It was great to be able to just walk out across the fields and down to the river. So peaceful and yet it is only a short drive from the M5. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Tucked away in the lush green countryside, but only a short drive from the cobbled streets and glorious architecture of Worcester, the Posthouse was spot-on for my quiet getaway, but would be equally suited to those with more energy and eager to explore the west!

Great atmosphere, wholesome grub and a good laugh with relaxed hosts - couldn't ask for more.

Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibsonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powick
1.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Daybrook House
Daybrook House
#1 of 4 in Powick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worcester Glamping
Worcester Glamping
#7 of 13 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.4 mi away
Halfway House Inn
Halfway House Inn
#2 of 4 in Powick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Powick Posthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Powick Posthouse

Property: The Powick Posthouse
Address: The Post House Ham Lane, Powick WR2 4RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Powick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Powick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three miles from the M5, the Powick Post House offers high quality and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation situated on the edge of the picturesque Powick Ham three miles south of Worcester and five miles north of Malvern. The property is finished to a high standard and offers country walks from the door or easy access to attractions including the Three Counties Show ground. We offer both Bed & Breakfast as well as a Self Catering cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing