We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation & food”
Review of Halfway House Inn

Halfway House Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Powick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation & food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We both had a lovely stay friendly people spotlessly clean room good sized shower, a good choice of food in the restaurant, & the breakfast is quality full English & a good choice of cereals all you need & plenty of it. Nice sized safe car park well situated for Malvern & Leominster.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We recently had food here again, and again it was excellent, three was eight of us altogether and six went for the steak as we have had fantastic steaks in the past, we were not let down. Food excellent, staff very friendly and service excellent, always come here when we want a great experience. More than happy to recommend to family and friends. See you soon, Nick and Lesley Jaye

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We chose the Halfway House purely for its location and the good reviews it has received. Although approaching it from outside it can look like a standard pub B&B - however the experience inside as a resident is far more superior. We could not fault anything. Great king room, nice décor and clean. Very good and spotless en suite facilities. The bed / mattress is very comfortable and clearly good quality (certainly not usually the case in hotels and B&Bs). Double glazing is good - keeping the noise out as it is by a main road. The food is very good cuisine, evening meal and breakfast - both very nicely prepared. Would strongly recommend this place as a one night or a stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Room which is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue and Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose the Halfway House purely for its location and the good reviews it has received. Steve and his team thoroughly deserve these excellent reviews. We really couldn't fault anything. Great king room, nice decor, clean and well appointed. Double glazing so efficient you could hardly hear any traffic noise which, for a light sleeper, was a god send! The food which is served is excellent - both dinner the night before and breakfast. Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Picked using past reviews, we were delighted with the quality of this 'restaurant with rooms' We had a twin on the ground floor (No.3) and found a stunning room with beautiful decor and quality in every detail extending to the palacial en suite with huge walk-in shower. We were visiting friends who had booked a restaurant elsewhere, but I feel that the restaurant at the 'Halfway' would have been ideal judging by the brief 'nightcap' enjoyed in welcoming genial company and a splendid breakfast full of quality options.. Like other reviewers the adjacent road was effectively silenced so our slumbers were totally undisturbed.

Room Tip: If you want a twin with no stairs No.3 is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

On a work trip I needed to be on a main access route. The Halfway House was in an excellent location and although on a main road there was hardly any noise as the windows are high quality double glazed. I was not aware of being on a main road and was not disturbed by the traffic at all. The room I was in was in was furnished to a high standard and was roomy, trendy/modern and comfortable with all the 'little touch' extra's you need like bottled water in room. The food was exceptional and the breakfast was excellent and excelled my expectations. .Fresh fruit berries (no tined fruit in sight) & home made muesli. It was interesting to hear other guests saying how amazing the breakfast was. The real treat was the poached egg on toast. (double yoke).....eggs apparently from the chickens in the garden, coupled with home made bread. It is clear that the chef is a 'real chef' who knows how to cook exceptional food. Don't be put off by the main road as this place is a real find with a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived in the evening rush-hour, when the road (A449) was noisy with traffic. We needn't have worried about being disturbed at night: the double-glazing was extremely effective. The room (a twin) was not cramped; it was welcoming and decorated attractively. The en-suite was tiled almost throughout and fitted with smart white porcelain. The shower was in a very generously sized cubicle, and a pleasure to use.

We chose to stay in to eat, and were very pleased with the standard of service and of cuisine - as well as the reasonable prices. Perhaps the cheese and biscuits should be singled out for praise: it was extremely good value for money!

At breakfast, a high grade mix of berries was available as an alternative to cereal. Cooked food could then be ordered, and arrived hot and tasty. Much better than helping yourself to dried out items waiting on a hot (or warmish) table in a hotel!

Only one criticism of this well-run and friendly place: no cask beer (real ale). Just one would have done! [But perhaps not enough takers to make its nurturing worthwhile?] But in all other respects: excellent!

Room Tip: Location very good for Worcester, Malvern Hills, Three County Showground... A very beautiful area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powick
1.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
870 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
898 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Property: Halfway House Inn
Address: Bastonford | Bastonford, Powick WR2 4SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Powick
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Powick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Halfway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing