We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful hospitality!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cummer Cottage

Beautiful Rural Cottage in scenic setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Rural Cottage in scenic setting
Traditional stove heating in addition to central heating Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Beautiful Rural Cottage in scenic setting
Traditional stove heating in addition to central heating
Double bedroom
Day Room within dinning area
Refurbished shower room
Beautiful scenic views
Remains of Urlaur Church and Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballyhaunis, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz O
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful hospitality!”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just back from a four day stay in Cummer Cottage. We had the most fantastic welcome from Pat and Maura, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was comfy, well equipped, and in beautiful peaceful surroundings. Only twenty minutes from Knock airport, lots to see and do close by, looking forward to back again, would thoroughly recommend a stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely, peaceful getaway!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A brilliant first trip to Ireland! We decided on a peaceful break with our 3 children ( 16, 13 and7) to celebrate my husbands birthday and Cummer cottage fit the bill. Easy to find from the nearest airport, the cottage is not too far from local amenities but still in a beautiful, quiet location. We received a lovely welcome with a roaring turf fire and some staples in the kitchen cupboards. A spacious cottage with all the mod cons we wanted. A great base to explore the west of Ireland. We would definitely recommend this cottage to others. We were well looked after.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
285deirdr...
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cosy, a home away from home”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed in Cummer Cottage, as we had a family reunion close by. All I can say is, we truly landed on our feet. We were greeted with a warm welcome from the owner and a turf fire lit for us on arrival, what more could you ask for on a wet day in Mayo. We were more than surprised with the welcome pack we received, and very grateful.
Cummer Cottage is a quaint little house in rural Ireland that boasts all that a guest house should be, and more. Well done to the owners for the outstanding example of hospitality that they are to those looking for a break away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the welcome pack
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21st_Cent...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“3rd Visit!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in this lovely little cottage before and loved it enough to come back twice! In fact we wouldn't think of going anywhere else. It offers a beautiful location, clean and tidy accommodation and great value for money.
This picturesque house is traditional but with all mod cons you could ask for (shower, central heating, dishwasher, TV & dvd, washing machine, microwave and even hair dryers) but a feel of the past with its high mantel and turf fire.
The family that own this property are kind, welcoming and have been always glad to see us arrive and we've shed tears together when we have left.
Looking forward to our next visit to Cummer Cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead C
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Cummer Cottage for the weekend while in the area for a family get together.

Arriving on a cold January evening we were welcomed by Maura and a roaring fire. The cottage is clean and well presented, the welcome pack is more than generous and you could tell that a lot of work and care went into getting the cottage ready for our stay.

We will definitely visit again, hopefully for a longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21st_Cent...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We love Cummer Cottage!”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are a family, not only familiar with the area, but returning patrons for a second visit. It truly is a home from home. The locality is central and excellent for travelling all around the west of Ireland. It's also perfect for chilling out should you wish to have a few days just soaking up the countryside and lovely atmosphere of this idilic place.
There is always something to do, driving out or enjoying the local area, walking the lanes or cosying up in front of the fire with a book or film. It is also great value and we will be back. The owners have been so welcoming and great company.
Thank you Cummer Cottage, we just love you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fire
Liked least: there was nothing i didn't like about this property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean C
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow what a wonderful experience. Felt welcome when met by the owners, nothing was a problem for them. I was impressed with the cleaneses . Irish culture at its best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing