We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlyon Estate

Glenlyon Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Glenlyon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from Daylesford near the village of Glenlyon, regarded as one of the prettiest settings in the region. Stunning outdoor area with traditional wood-fired oven, overlooking the lake and vines. Our Pavillion serves Italian style regional antipasti platters with home-baked wood-fired bread, wood-fired pizzas and picnic hampers to order. Available for weddings, private functions and conferences.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Amazing woodfire pizza, must try the potato one with prosciutto
The dogs are lovely elle and red they make a great pair and red is very friendly

Offering a very cosy environment with outdoor sitting and heater. We also got a bottle of chardonnay which was quite nice

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shekhar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fantastic pizzas, beautiful wines, lovely hosts, nice views and friendly dogs. All make for a enjoyable and leisurely lunch. Certainly worth a visit if staying in the local area.

Helpful?
Thank 2bcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Such a nice experience. The owners (and their dogs) are very welcoming and friendly. We started by having a wine tasting than then moved on to lunch consisting of their home made wood-fire oven pizzas - DELICIOUS! The visit here was the highlight of our day and we went home with a few bottles of wine to enjoy at home.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A fabulous find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ellender Estate can be found by following a trail of signs that eventually lead you off up a dirt road to the estate. The cellar door is warm and cosy and the cafe/restaurant has a real pizza oven which is always encouraging!

The owners are very friendly and welcoming and after a wine tasting we decided to stay and try out the pizza. The wine itself was very good, in particular for us the Pinot Noir 2011, a very robust and rich wine. We found ourselves a table outside in the sun and soaked in the atmosphere while we waited for our pizza. It was very good! Very thin crust pastry (yay!) and delicious topping - cooked to perfection by the owner himself. We stayed on for an extra glass of wine and were contemplating ordering another pizza, but the winery suddenly got very busy and as the owners were working on their own that day, it did cause a bit of a food delay - so we finished our wine and left them to deal with more hungry people than us!

We did buy some wine from here, I would recommend visiting, it's a lovely place and you will feel very welcome - a bit like a home away from home. A great find for us! My suggestion is to get there for an early lunch and miss the food rush.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Grerat wine and food, warm hospitality, gracious setting and those "Wine Dogs"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Only about ten minutes or so out of Daylesford, tucked away in a gracious, groomed bushland setting is a new (for us) "must visit" winery - Ellender Estate., which, in fact was established in the 1990's

The mix of hillsides, creek, beautifully maintained grounds, plenty of indoor and outdoor seating for a meal or drinks, a warm greeting from the affable "Hello I'm Graham" ex-dentist host, and the friendly "please pat me" approach by two doe-eyed chocolate Labradors, set the scene for a relaxed afternoon or evening.

Unlike some wineries where the tasting is either hurried, disinterested, or worst of all carrying a fee, the tasting session at Ellender Estate was friendly, informative, generous and unhurried. Starting with a fresh, bubbly methode champenoise, followed by an oaky chardonnay, a fresh rose, and a couple of very good pinot noirs (the 2010 being the pick), the tasting gave some good clues as to what to purchase or to have with your lunch.

We had no hesitation in plumping for the 2010 pinot to go with the range of gourmet pizzas (about $20 each) on offer. We went for the mozzarella and potato, and one using local ingredients - the 'fromage frais and smoked Tuki trout'. Shown to us before being placed in the state-of-the-art wood-fired pizza oven, they emerged beautifully cooked and presented.

The other food offerings included tasting platters ($36 for two) , cheese platters ($25) and dessert of the day

The two gorgeous dogs made sure that we didn't get lonely while eating our lunch, but didn't intrude. They are referred to as "Wine Dogs" because they are featured prominently in a couple of beautifully-photographed books focussing on dogs that live in wineries all around Australia

Find Glenlyon on the map (just 10 or so km from Daylesford, and follow the signs (or your nose) for a couple of km along a (sealed) winding bush road, cross the creek at the ford, endure about 300 metres of jarring rutted gravel road and you're at the gates of the estate. We reckon the ambience of Ellender Estate would certainly make it worth considering for a wedding or other similar group function.

They have an excellent website which provides lots of background information and good directions so check that out before you go - but go you must !!

Helpful?
3 Thank gaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenlyon Estate also viewed

Hepburn Springs, Victoria
 
Hepburn Springs, Victoria
Glenlyon, Hepburn Springs
 

Been to Glenlyon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing