We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cotter B&B and Inns
Princeton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World Class Inn”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Just spent two days at an incredible Inn. Located on a wooded bluff hundreds of feet over the White River, this property is the ultimate hunting and fishing lodge. Reminiscent of a national park lodge in the Tetons (only much, much nicer), it is spacious, incredibly furnished, and beautifully equipped with large screen TVs for diversion after excellent trout fishing on the White River. Moose (the owner) is as good a host as you can find and obviously quite a sportsman as evidenced by his mounts that fill the inn ranging from world class fish to mountain lions and grizzly bears (not to mention a plethora of African game I could not identify). Other assets include a great view over the river and wonderful food cooked to order.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
37
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My husband and I are new to trout fishing. We found this place on Trip Advisor and figured the reviews sounded good. Little did we know we picked a FIRST CLASS operation. On arriving at the White River Inn we were greeted by Moose, the host. The Inn is an impressive native wood lodge surrounded by trees. We settled into our room and ventured out onto the back deck. We were blown away by the view. The Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the White River and you can see for miles. We saw some bald eagles fly by, an osprey, an owl, and other various birds while staying there. It was magical sitting on the back deck. I could feel all the tension of our two day drive melt away.
We had Guest Suite #3. It has a king sized bed, a large window that overlooks a small field where deer often came wandering through. Another large window looked out the back to the million dollar view I mentioned earlier. The room had plenty of space and the bathroom had a two person deep soak jetted tub plus a separate glassed-in shower. The towels were extra thick and thirsty. Very luxurious. The mattress was very comfortable (just the right firmness) and the 600 count sheets were silky smooth. There was plenty of room in the closet for our things. There was a vanity area for our things plus plenty of storage in drawers. There is a big screen TV but we didn't use that.

The Inn has two large living areas with huge TVs and lots of large overstuffed leather couches for guests to lounge and relax. There is a hot tub on the back deck so bring your swimsuits.

The ambience was just perfect for any visitors. The guests had their own mini kitchen with full size refrigerator, sink and counter space. We could have brought snacks, and drinks but soft drinks and water are in the refrigerator provided for the guests. Meals are served in the dining room that looks out the back to the incredible views. Moose and Tina (our hosts and proprietors) cooked gourmet meals during our stay. We had huge rib eye steaks on two of the nights. Every meal was carefully planned and presented in a pleasing way. Wine and beer are provided with meals. We even had cloth napkins. Now I know we were in a first class place. <grin>

We booked the fishing package for 4 days/5 nights. Our first day of fly fishing was with Mark, a guide selected for us by Moose. He was very patient and helped us refresh our rusty skills while showing us the best places to catch trout. We mostly caught small rainbow trout our first day. Mark spent most of his time with me as I am really new at this. Meanwhile my husband quietly caught trout after trout. The second day we were guided by Chad. Chad's goal was to help us master hooking and landing as many trout as we could. We did just that. We caught so many rainbows and a few browns that we lost count early on. By 3pm we were actually tired of catching fish and asked to go back to the Inn. The third day was with Chad again and he showed us both wade fishing and float fishing techniques. We continued catching lots of trout and were very happy with our improved fly fishing skills. On the fourth day we decided to try something different and Moose hooked us up with Pete, a spin fishing guide. Pete has lived in the area for most of his life and has been a guide for 30+ years. He KNOWS the river. We wanted to catch the really big brown trouts we had heard about. So we used bait that we caught and proceeded to catch 20 brown trout ranging from 16"-22" plus 3 good sized rainbows. We had 3 excellent guides that Moose selected for us.

We were so impressed with our experience at the White River Inn. I highly recommend the package deals that are offered. The guides were all excellent and very patient and very helpful. I know we wouldn't have had the success we had by ourselves. btw, we did the catch and release because we didn't want it any other way.

Moose and Tina made us feel like family and we were sorry to see our trip come to an end. The accommodations, meals, and views made our trip worth every penny.

The only cons I can manage to think of are: not enough hangers in the closet, need some hooks in the bathroom to hang our wet towels, and the pillows were too soft. You can see I am really scraping to come up with any negatives.

I highly recommend the White River Inn to anyone who wants to get away from it all. Whether you want to do some hiking in the woods, bird watching, or fishing, this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: Contact the owner, Moose, and tell him what you want so he can suggest which room would be best. Tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I fish for trout in arkansas often but don't live there. So I have been to all kinds of places. This place is spectacular. First of all, it is on top of a mountain overlooking the river. That should be enough. But the inn itself is wonderful and a sight to see. I took a lot of pictures. The food and accommodations were superb. We went as part of a guy's fishing trip, but will definitely go back with my significant other. And the lodge where we have stayed the last 4 times in the fall - well we won't be going back.

Room Tip: use their fishing guides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

You will not be disappointed. If you are looking for a beautiful view and surroundings, wonderful hosts, luxurious bedding, great food, and a relaxing time away then give The White River Inn a call. This is the nicest place in the area you will find. If you do plan to fish during the hot summer like we did, make sure you take light weight clothing, a good hat and sunscreen to protect yourself from the sun. Moose hooked us up with a great guide and we were able to catch some trout. Thanks Moose and Tina for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oologah, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We just returned to our home in Oologah, Oklahoma after spending three days and nights with Moose and Tina Watson at their home/lodge/B&B in Cotter, Arkansas. If you or your partner is an especially avid sportman, you will appreciate sharing their dream home and the exquisite beauty of this rural Arkansas setting overlooking the crystal clear White River. The full body mounts and the numerous wall mounts decorating the two main foyers of their immaculately clean lodge are a sportsman's dream come true. The food was great, the meals we shared were great fun, and Moose and Tina's congeniality made the day. Treat yourself or your loved one to this one of a kind experience. YOU GOTTA SEE THIS!!! Clyde and Cindy Wa

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CindyW995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from an incredibly relaxing weekend at the White River Inn. We booked this trip as a graduation present/Father's Day present/birthday present for my husband, and after several very stressful weeks, we just needed some quiet away time. Boy, did we get it! From the minute we stepped through the door we felt like we had known Moose & Tina forever. They stuffed us with yummy food (have them cook steak for you, you won't regret it!) and provided every creature comfort needed to truly get away. I hear the fishing's great, but we spent the day at beautiful Big Creek golf course nearby (20 minutes away). What a piece of paradise right in the heart of our home state. The rooms are so comfortable and roomy, we spent an entire evening just watching deer and birds out our window and curled up watching movies without needing to leave. Both mornings we got up and watched deer, rabbits, and hummingbirds from the porch. If you love peace and quiet, fishing, hunting, or golfing and need a place to enjoy any of those - this is a wonderful place to stay. We will be telling our friends and family about this place, for sure. Thanks, Moose & Tina, for making us feel like family. -the McDonalds

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMC825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We just returned from a wonderful visit to the White River Inn. Great setting, great facility, wonderful food, and superb fishing on the White River and on Crooked Creek (Smallmouth Bass). Moose and Tina are exceptional hosts and we hope to return in the future...Don Humphreys, Sr. VP XOM Corporation

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotter
8.7 mi away
The River Rock Hotel
The River Rock Hotel
#2 of 16 in Mountain Home
56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
Hampton Inn Mountain Home
#1 of 16 in Mountain Home
278 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 16 in Mountain Home
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Brass Door Motel
Brass Door Motel
#1 of 1 in Gassville
28 reviews
17.3 mi away
Norfork Lake Ozark Mountain Lodge
2.6 mi away
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
Twin Lakes Inn and Resort
#5 of 5 in Lakeview
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White River Inn

Property: The White River Inn
Address: 924 County Road 174, Cotter, AR 72626-9217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Cotter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cotter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The White River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White River Inn is an all inclusive Orvis Endorsed Trout fishing lodge. The lodge is warm and luxurious with five large suites.All are appointed with custom made furnishings in the mission style, 600 threadcount linens and leather sofas. 31 wildlife rich acres provide guaranteed privacy as well as spectacular views. The 130 ft back deck is a birdwatchers paradise where bald eagles and other birds of prey are seen daily.There are also a plethora of well fed song birds and hummingbirds to be viewed closely at our feeders. Wonderful food, spectacular trout fishing and southern hospitality are what keep guests coming to stay again and again. We cater to upscale travelers, families, and fly fishermen, as well as spin fishermen looking for one of the finest trout fishing experiences in North America. The lodge is a perfect location for corporate retreats and team building, or family getaways. Come relax and enjoy The White River Inn experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White River Hotel Cotter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing