We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a find!”
Review of Riverwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a find!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Fabulous bed and breakfast in beautiful grounds.Great views from all windows . Enjoyed watching red squirrels and pheasants whilst eating a wonderfully cooked breakfast. I don't think you could find a more central location for sightseeing in Scotland. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and the en-suite was huge. We stayed in the Auchanross suite which I would definitely recommend . The owners, Alf and Ann make you feel very welcome but do ask that because of the polished wooden flooring, you leave your shoes at the door. Slippers are provided if you want them. I can't rate this place highly enough. We ate at one of the local inns called The Logierait where again the staff were extremely helpful and the food was amazing.. I wish we had been able to stay longer than 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you like a bath as well as a shower and a king sized bed then book the Auchanross suite, you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionalewis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
175
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in May and enjoyed every minute. The accommodation was top notch and you could relax in the very comfortable lounge or go for a walk by the nearby River. The breakfast was just the best and Alf and Anne were so very welcoming. We would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammy4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here on our last night of a whistle stop tour of Scotland and we definitely saved the best til last. We were met by Alf who advised us that this was a shoe free establishment which was fine by us as we don't wear shoes indoors and once inside when you see the lovely wooden floors and light coloured carpets you can appreciate why (slippers were provided). Alf showed us to our room which was absolutely beautiful and had views over the garden and down to the river. The bathroom was huge with a large walk in shower. Everything was absolutely immaculate and had everything you could have wanted including hairdryer alarm clock, tv etc. etc. The breakfast menu is on a scroll in the bedroom which you fill in the night before. The choice was excellent and would cater for even the fussiest eater. The view out of the window at breakfast was amazing with red squirrels, pheasants, woodpeckers, jays and many more birds just a few feet away. We ate out at the Inn on the Tay which was a pleasant 5 minute stroll away and the food and atmosphere there was excellent. This has to be the nicest place we have stayed in in the UK and our only regret would be that we didn't book for longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed in Riverwood, now in the Auchanross suite. Although we intended to stay for two days, we were tempted for one more day - which we did in the end, even though it meant an internal move to room Tay 3, from which I am writing this review. The move was no hassle as our hosts moved our luggage.
The house has one of the best spots at the river Tay. It is located on a very large plot, and the rooms and fittings ooze quality. Breakfast is excellent, with a wide choice of items which you can select the night before so it will all be freshly prepared when you show up at your indicated time. You can also help yourself to fresh fruit, local and foreign cheeses and other goodies. The coffee comes in a cafetiere and is very good. If you are travelling together and are early enough at breakfast, you can take a table at one of the windows and watch red squirrels and pheasants going about their business in the huge garden.
Alf and Ann are natural hosts, and will do anything in their power to make you a happy guest. They genuinely love what they are doing, and I am certain you will not be disappointed if you stay at Riverwood. It is not the cheapest place in Scotland, but it definitely is very good value for money.
Finally, the number of high review scores on this site and others may make you a bit suspicious, but I can vouch they are real!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snhbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We highly recommend staying here. We had an "apartment" - with a lounge room, gigantic bedroom, massive bathroom and a "muck" room - with dressing room area, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities etc. It was finished and furnished to the highest specifications. On our arrival the weather was hot and Ann gave us a mini magnum each as well as chocolate coated strawberries! There was herbal teas and "real" coffee provided, as well as shortbread biscuits, potato crisps and chocolates. The bed was really comfortable and it was quiet! We walked to the Inn both nights - about 10 minutes away- for dinner where we had lovely meals with great service and a view over the river to boot. Breakfast was awesome - Ann is a great cook and the view was simply beautiful - complete with birdlife and red squirrels hopping over the lawn. We were sorry to be only staying two nights!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Riverwood Guesthouse in Strathay near Pitlochry in July 2013. The Guesthouse is in the perfect location, right by the River. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the beds are fantastic, the bathroom modern and large. And the breakfast room: Overlooking the garden and the river, we saw pheasants and squirrls in the garden and fish jumping in the river. Finally one gets a choice of something else besides Scottish Breakfast with or without haggis/black pudding. They made us excellent french toast and had the best cheeses ever on the breakfast buffet.
IWe would recommend this place any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was the best small hotel we have ever stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, had everything that a hotel should have even DVDs to watch in your room. The owner was very helpful and did a wonderful job. We will being staying again without a doubt. It is also set in beautiful surroundings on the river with plenty of wildlife around including squirrels, pheasants, woodpeckers and lots more. What a pleasant surprise to find it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
3.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood

Property: Riverwood
Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the quiet, leafy little conservation village of Strathtay, in the very heart of Highland Perthshire, an enchanting experience awaits you. Riverwood Strathtay, a contemporary house in the Arts and Crafts style, is a luxury bed and breakfast. It sits in 4 acres of garden leading down to the River Tay.Just over 10 minutes drive from Pitlochry and Aberfeldy, we offer perhaps the best base of all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwood Strathtay, Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing