We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of heaven”
Review of Riverwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverwood
Ranked #1 of 3 Strathtay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Having stayed at a variety of hotels and b&b's across our 10 day trip to Scotland, Riverwood was our favorite. We stayed for two nights on a weekend in August. The house is situated on the River Tay, near the town of Pitlochry. The views from the house are stunning, with a small path taking you down to the river. There was a small table outside of our room, with views across the lawn. We spent a great deal of time relaxing in that spot and were lucky enough to have observed red squirrels, a pheasent, jays and what appeared to by a porcupine. The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated, in soft, welcoming tones. The suite was spotlessly clean and the no shoe policy validated by the impeccable suite. The bathroom was spacious, modern with a large shower. The bed was really comfortable and invited lounging. Alf and Ann were incredibly welcoming and accomodating, helping with a great recommendation to the golf course in town and being understanding regarding our dietary restrictions. I could not recommend this bed and breakfeast more- it met and surpassed our expectations!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli7isme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
182
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

So good you begin to consider being a B&B yourself, till you see how much Ann and Alf put themselves out for their guests; okay - being a guest is actually good!!! Cooking is excellent, occasionally also dinner available which is really superb, quality and variety a hallmark. Lovely atmosphere, the setting is unspoiled, the rooms a very high standard. To top it off a bijou of a golf course only 2 minutes walk away. Check out photos on website, they are a true picture of what awaits.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Highly recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a high standard of accomodation in lovely, peaceful surroundings. Kind and thoughtful hosts yet professional and unobtrusive. We will go back- high recommendation from a very fussy customer!

Room Tip: Don't think there is an advantage with any as all seemed bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebell5031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After reading fantastic reviews, we booked a night at Riverwood Strathtay as a treat for my husband's birthday. We had high expectations, based on what we had read, and were not at all disappointed. We could not fault the wonderful room or the amazing breakfast and the stunning setting of the hotel just added to our enjoyment. However, it was the friendliness of Ann and Alf and the effort they went to in catering for my gluten free needs which was the icing on the cake for us. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We visited Riverwood Strathtay for the second time this year, and were still bowled over by the warm welcome, peaceful surroundings and the amazing breakfasts. Having enjoyed our first visit so much, we returned with friends who were as delighted as we have been with the excellent standard of service and quality provided by Alf and Ann. We look forward to many more indulgent visits in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The reason being, if you tell everyone about this fabulous place it will just be harder to get booked again!
Setting, accommodation, breakfast, hosts, absolutely wonderful - before everybody began inventing their own ratings, this would genuinely have been 5*.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb but my personal favourite is the Tulliepowrie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMurtagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Fabulous bed and breakfast in beautiful grounds.Great views from all windows . Enjoyed watching red squirrels and pheasants whilst eating a wonderfully cooked breakfast. I don't think you could find a more central location for sightseeing in Scotland. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and the en-suite was huge. We stayed in the Auchanross suite which I would definitely recommend . The owners, Alf and Ann make you feel very welcome but do ask that because of the polished wooden flooring, you leave your shoes at the door. Slippers are provided if you want them. I can't rate this place highly enough. We ate at one of the local inns called The Logierait where again the staff were extremely helpful and the food was amazing.. I wish we had been able to stay longer than 3 nights.

Room Tip: If you like a bath as well as a shower and a king sized bed then book the Auchanross suite, you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionalewis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathtay
2.9 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
3.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn on the Tay
The Inn on the Tay
#1 of 2 in Grandtully
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood

Property: Riverwood
Address: Strathtay, Pitlochry PH9 0PG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry > Strathtay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Strathtay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the quiet, leafy little conservation village of Strathtay, in the very heart of Highland Perthshire, an enchanting experience awaits you. Riverwood Strathtay, a contemporary house in the Arts and Crafts style, is a luxury bed and breakfast. It sits in 4 acres of garden leading down to the River Tay.Just over 10 minutes drive from Pitlochry and Aberfeldy, we offer perhaps the best base of all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riverwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwood Strathtay, Pitlochry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing