We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality Steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wyvill Arms

The Wyvill Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$74
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wyvill Arms loves to look after its friends and guests.To ensure you are kept informed of our special offers, "Like us" on Facebook.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top Quality Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I've reviewed The Wyvill before but after another superb sirloin on Friday night I feel inclined to reinforce my views.

I've recently returned from a holiday in the Limosin area of France where the locals are justly proud of their beef and in particular their steak which was good however they didn't come close to that served in the Wyvill. A huge sirloin char grilled with a garni on the side, some quality real chips (not frozen) and some good English mustard. Superb!

The food at The Wyvill isn't the cheapest around but I do believe that it's amongst the best!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieNichol, Director of Sales at The Wyvill Arms, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
thank you very kindly for your feedback it is important to us, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you soon. In the next few weeks we will have 3 new bedrooms and a few more changes - watch us on facebook and keep updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    37
    13
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thank you Wyvill Arms, we had a great night with you Saturday. Food was excellent and the service fantastic. Many thanks

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ate here with friends, everyone had something different and everyone raved about their food choices. The Venison was cooked to perfection. Superb menu choices, beautifully cooked and presented. A lovely dining experience; highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HebrideanLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Because it just is ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having booked into Constable Burton Caravan site with our friends from Leeds for 'Le Tour' weekend, The Wyvill Arms, straight opposite the site, effectively picked itself for our traditional first night meal out ... and what a great pick it was too !!
The difficulty in making our choices from the not extensive menu showed just how good the food on offer really was ... I settled on the Wensleydale terrine followed by Roast cod in a king prawn, scallop and chorizo cream sauce (served with a plentiful supply of perfectly cooked vegetables) ... and was not disappointed because both courses were excellent !!!
As my friend and I waited at the bar we both agreed that the Wyvill Arms was a really top quality restaurant - and why ?? .... because it just is !!!
From the moment we walked into the very friendly and inviting bar to walking back out into the grounds for post meal photos, a fabulous night was had by all.
There is no doubt we will be returning in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMJH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Another excellent meal had at the Wyville Arms last week! I chose the fish of the day, Cod with Scallops and a chorizo sauce. The fish had the melt in the mouth factor and the sauce was a delicious complement to the dish. My friend chose chargrilled rare steak which he also enjoyed . The beer and Rioja wine was also good! This restaurant to be well recommended if visiting the Dales!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wyvill Arms also viewed

Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Wyvill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing