We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved every minute!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Kirk

The Old Kirk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Kirk
The Old Kirk in winter landscape Open plan, multi-level living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Old Kirk
The Old Kirk in winter landscape
Open plan, multi-level living area
Kitchen
Dining table (10)
Breakfast area
Feature-full bedrooms
Outdoor playground
View from living room window in Spring
Inventive multi-level lay-out making most of space
Our very own gargoyle
Play balcony and reading area
Stain glass windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Dalguise, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jac488
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved every minute!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The age range in our group was 2 to 67 and we all had a fantastic time at the Old Kirk, it really is a special place. The layout was perfect for us as a family, so sociable and the kids just loved it (especially the bell). The house had everything you could possibly need for a break away. The location is wonderful, so peaceful yet only 10 minutes into lovely Dunkeld. As a family, we have been to a few holiday rentals, and this is the first one we all said we would love to visit again. I can't recommend highly enough.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazaroon
Scotland UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“That'll do nicely,thank you very much”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We rented the old kirk for an 80th birthday jaunt for my dad, so we had quite a broad mix of ages...well, all the way down to a 16 year old.

It was ideal!

We cooked a big family meal and, whilst we went well equipped (chef and all!) we needn't have bothered. This place had everything we needed (well, apart from the chef). The kitchen was so well equipped already.

There were two separate dining areas - breakfast and dinner - and the bedrooms, beds and linen were so clean and fresh.

We were able to take advantage of some dry weather and lit a fire in the outdoor barbecue, built beautifully in to the wall, for both nights of our stay. This was such a special treat!

The locale was pretty spectacular too. It was a short drive to nearby villages and had some great walks and rivers to explore...although, with a teenager, the DVD was equally good!

A lovely wee detail for me was that, out of the hifi, came an auxiliary lead with which to plug one's iPhone into.

However, the the icing on the cake, undoubtedly, was the attention four hostess. We new met, but all communication was open via email. Nothing was a problem and Heleen was happy to negotiate and compromise and be as helpful as humanly possibly. Furthermore, her directions on how to get to the old kirk were simple and easy to follow.

The old kirk was more than ideal for what we required and I would just like to say a huge thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Faultless”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Highly recommended place to stay and the photos do not do the Old Kirk justice. The owner who was extremely helpful, has everything you could wish for - we needed tomato sauce and found some in the cupboard! (which we later replenished - good system) - I even spotted cellotape! Clean, spacious and outstanding conversion, set in beautiful grounds. BBQ area too. We didn't have any kids in our party (one teenager and even they were highly impressed with the kirk) but kids would love it - a hide and seek weekend! Take your own food and drink and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole conversion
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views, inside and out”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked the Kirk for a special birthday treat and the experience was beyond our expectations. The location is stunning and once you arrive you won't want to leave. Luckily, the owners have planned for this and recommend stocking up on delicious supplies from the local town of Dunkeld. The Kirk, with its stained glass windows, is set amidst the tranquil beauty of the Perth countryside. It has an amazing layout that manages to feel both snug and spacious, and we sat watching red squirrels from the comfort of the huge leather sofas. Everything you need for a self-catering holiday is provided for and, if you want an evening out, Dunkeld is just a short drive or taxi-ride away. The Kirk is stunning as a property, a location and an experience - it was a birthday I won't forget!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara h
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful break !”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

MY SON SAW THE OLD KIRK ADVERTISED AND HIS WIFE CONTACTED THE OWNER TO BOOK A THREE GENERATION (I'M NANA) 4 NIGHT BREAK FROM 19/02/14 TO 23/02/14. The Old Kirk is situated on a snowdrop covered steep hillside,with just a few neighbouring 'cottages' nearby. It is situated in a truly glorious situation, with lichen covered trees ans a waterfall tumbing down the hillside. I even saw a a red squirrel from a Kirk window !
The Kirk itself is very well appointed with plenty of'white goods' plus a Range cooker and everything one needs for catering.
The sleeping arrangements are ideal for different family generations or even two families as the bedrooms have their own bathrooms on ground and first foors.
Plenty of towels supplied plus duvet linen etc. Bedrooms warm and cosy.
Also a 'toyroom/playroom' for children.
A lovely space to relax and spend time, but locationwise, ideal for cycling, walking and sketching...visiting nearby towns etc.
I understand the owner gave my family helpful information.
We had a supermarket delivery at 9p.m. ( Tesco) but used Dunkeld/Aberfeldy for butcher.
All in all, a wonderful experience, I did not want to depart from the Old Kirk ! Having had great mini break !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet and relaxing - great for groups with kids”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Really great place to stay. We had some last minute problems with another venue and the old kirk stepped in to save the day. The owner was so helpful and really went out of her way to make our stay a real pleasure.

The Old Kirk itself is very nice and surprisingly cosy for a converted church. It is really well stocked - so great kitchen utensils and loads of toys for children.

The surrounding area is very beautiful. Anyone who visits should go the the Hermitage to see the waterfall and the Tayside pub in Dunkeld does a good pint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessA...
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great to stay in an old church and at the same time enjoy all the comfort of modern living. Great to stay with young kids too for lots of toys available.
Ideal location from which to explore Scotland. Only 1 hour & 15 min drive from Edinburgh and a lot of nice villages to visit within 10 minutes drive.
Would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$193
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing