We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Kirk

Old Kirk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Kirk
The Old Kirk in winter landscape Open plan, multi-level living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Old Kirk
The Old Kirk in winter landscape
Open plan, multi-level living area
Kitchen
Dining table (10)
Breakfast area
Feature-full bedrooms
Outdoor playground
View from living room window in Spring
Inventive multi-level lay-out making most of space
Our very own gargoyle
Play balcony and reading area
Stain glass windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Dalguise, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Comfortable, well equipped, warm and attractive. A lovely location, ideal for family, or a large very mixed group of friends. Perfectly placed for showing off Scotland to our Australian friends. Will certainly visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sympathetic adaptation of a lovely old building
Liked least: Showers over the bath. I am disabled, so unable to use them.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind review; I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Whilst we cannot change the shower-over-bath configuration, I have just amended the property description to be more explicit about the nature of the bathroom fittings so that people with mobility impairments can make an informed decision. I am relieved that the internal steps were not an issue for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Www689
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Kirk”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Where do I start, fab location ,quirky old kirk which is like a Tardis,great facilities ,ideal for walking , dog friendly great for the photographer ,and if you dont want to cook loads of well appointed eateries within a 20 minute radius to cater for every taste! For those of you looking for peace and quiet with the family to explore PerthShire this is the ideal place for you !
Will deffo use again !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey_Hu...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the Old Kirk for my daughters first birthday. It was the perfect location for our large party, with plenty of space for the adults and children. A lovely venue for a special celebration

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaDavi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MUMS 80TH FAMILY GET- TO -GETHER...AMAZINGTIME”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We just arrived home after having a long weekend away with family members to celebrate my mums 80th birthday....This included 3 generations and this fabulous facility catered for all ages...youngest being 5 days old...Everything was there that anyone could need to enjoy a peaceful quiet time in the gorgeous scenery. Everything imaginable is supplied, right down to the dog bowls, baby travel cot, potty, toys, heating, washing machine, fridge, freezer, television, cd player, spare towels, premises are spotless, surrounded by amazing scenery, with shops with 10 min drive away, This is an amazing converted old church, to a modern high standard and its an appealing holiday home to suit all ages. It was awesome and chilling time out and we all highly recommend it to everyone. Not one single complaint the whole weekend, it was that good. The property has a few sets of stairs to climb so folk will need to take that into consideration when booking if your able to get up stairs easily. Saying that, my mum managed the stairs no problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: opening the doors and seeing the amazing transformation from an old church hall to an awesome holiday home
Liked least: we had to leave and come back home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCsmokeys...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place for two- and four-legged friends”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our group of six adults and three dogs all had a wonderful time in The Old Kirk. It is very warm and comfortable, the rooms are very spacious, the kitchen had everything we needed and the owner was incredibly helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very modern, clean and comfortable
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailmc201...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the Old Kirk for 3 nights for a family retreat from the city and were delighted to have chosen this property. It is a quirky home from home which provides a great sociable space for children and adults alike. It was possible for everyone to eat and interact together easily but also to find peace and privacy. We arrived on Halloween and the youngsters were thrilled to be staying in such an old and interesting property. (Ringing the church bell was the icing on the cake). The surrounding area is one of outstanding beauty and we were able to enjoy some wonderful walks as well as taking in a bit of shopping and a coffee in Dunkeld and Pitlochry. We found the owner to be very helpful and informative and the accomodation was very clean and well stocked. We are, very much, hoping to return to The Old Kirk and have some special family memories of our time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The social space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you for your very lovely review. I am delighted that both grown ups and children enjoyed their stay - the gargoyle will no doubt have added to the Halloween appeal. We had a few niggles due to having just fully re-roofed the property and I am pleased that the cottage made up for them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
70Exile
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great retreat”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were a mixed age group with children 5 to 10 years in age. There was sufficient space indoors for all of us even on the rainiest of days and a great sense of freedom for the children outside the house playing in the garden an, on the sunny ones, . exploring in the woods. Good walking for all without using car but easy access to shops and restaurants nearby in Dunkeld.

We were initially a little disappointed there was no view from the house but did appreciate the sunny and sheltered patio.

The furnishings and bedding was all very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The noise from the occupant of the adjacent accomodation.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing