We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are better off sleeping in a hole!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado EconoLodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in El Dorado
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This was by far the worst experience of my life. Upon check in, the staff acted like they were doing me a huge favor acting as if I were a bother to their routine. Room had a musty smell, soap and hair in the tub. Looking forward to a soak in the hot tub, found it to have a scum on top of the water. Pool had a brown film and was NOT heated. During the night was awaken by knocks on the door...women asking to "use the phone." The next morning, in an attempt to warm a sausage biscuit, the microwave in the breakfast area, kept blowingout the circuits. In talking with a few of the townspeople, found that Best Western terminated this property's franchise. I can see why! Econo-Lodge, this property is a disgracen to your name. If you are considering this property, YOPU ARTE BETTER OFF STAYING IN YIOUR CAR!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sailboatguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElDoradoEconoLodge, Public Relations Manager at El Dorado EconoLodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thanks for sharing your concerns and giving us feedback on your stay. Know that we have taken this to heart and are going to make the appropriate changes to make sure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2009

My husband and I wanted a nice hotel to stay at during our honeymoon. We got online to choice hotels and viewed serveral pictures of some hotels. We came aross some beautiful pictures of the Econo lodge in El Dorado, and we decided to book our reservation there. When we got there the front desk clerk had about four diffrent colors in here hair, and she had on dirty street clothes. At first she told us that she was sold out of the room in which we requested but then she said she had one. We opened our room door of the "honeymoon suite" and it looked like someone had just gotten out of the bed. The clerk had told us that there was a jacuzi in the room..NONE! The shower didn't have a showerhead and taking a shower was really painful. The room smelled of stinky feet. There was a coffee maker no pot, and iron no ironing board, and i could go on forver. We will never stay here again, and need less to say our honey moon lasted for ONE day... Thanks ecno lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank torry0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElDoradoEconoLodge, Public Relations Manager at El Dorado EconoLodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

We are so sorry you had a bad experience, but we are glad to inform you that things have changed. We are under new management, and our staff is friendly and professional. The Econo Lodge has done some serious remodeling at the El Dorado location. We insure that our guest will be treated great and greeted with smiling faces when they enter the door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

don't reserve a room here if you are evacuating a hurricane. i called this hotel property directly to reserve 4 rooms on wednesday august 27th, for 3 nights sun. aug. 31st, mon. sept 1st and tues sept 2nd.i got a conf. # for all 4 rooms. on evacuation day i called them at 11:30 am to let them know we were on our way, my mother also called at 1:30 pm for the same. they told us both don't worry we have your rooms. we drove for 13 hours with 5 cars, 8 adults, 2 kids, 2 7 month old babys, 5 dogs, and a ferret. when we arrived at 1:00 am we were then told they gave our rooms away. when i asked to speak to the manager, he came down to the hotel, i inquired as to how he could give our rooms away when we have conf.#s and called twice to let them know we were on our way, he proceded to call the police to us because he said "WE WERE MAKING TROUBLE" when the police arrived they sided with us, but said there was nothing they could do. we finnaly found another hotel an hour away, which the police gave us an escort half way to the new hotel. the police were very nice and helpful. as the hotel would not only not help us find a new place to stay they wouldn't even let us borrow a phone book to look. this was a very traumatizing time for all of us especailly my children who lost everything 3 years before to katrina.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gator1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElDoradoEconoLodge, Public Relations Manager at El Dorado EconoLodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

We are so sorry for for your inconvenience and that you had to evacuate from the hurricane. The good news is we are under new management and have made some serious changes. The former Best Western is now owned by the Econo Lodge franchise. We have remodeled our rooms and our staff is very friendly and professional. If you are in our area again we hope you will consider staying in the newly remodeled Econo Lodge. We guarantee your stay will be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

It seemed like they tried in a few areas to make this a nice hotel, but fell short in almost every area. The room was okay and seemed clean for the most part, but there were no bath towels or wash cloths in the room (just 2 hand towels) and no other amenities like shampoo or soap that one would expect in a room. When we called about the towels, they didn't even send them up, they said we would have to come get them because they didn't have anybody to bring them up. One of the main reasons we made reservations there was for the children to be able to swim in the indoor pool. When I made the reservations with the property, I asked if the pool was working and was told it was. The pool was open, but it was dirty and so cold the kids couldn't swim in it. I called the front desk several times and was told the heater was on a timer and and would come on or they said they would send someone down to check on it, but they never did anything. It was a big disappointment. One good thing is there is a Mexican restaurant at the hotel that was good food and reasonable prices. But you could stay at another nearby hotel and go to the restaurant. The continental breakfast included with the room wasn't horrible, but it could have been a lot better. All in all, the hotel was just one tiny step above 'terrible' and I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrendaAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElDoradoEconoLodge, Public Relations Manager at El Dorado EconoLodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

We are sorry you had a awful experience when staying here. Since your stay here the hotel was discontinued by the Best Western Kings Inn brand because of several people such as yourself who had a bad experience. The hotel was picked up by the EconoLodge, remodeled, and put under new management that is working hard to make this a great place to stay in El Dorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

This is the second filthiest hotel I have ever stayed. The room had not been cleaned. There was used soap in the bathtub, a used coffee cup in the bathroom, the coffee maker was filthy, I had to rearrange the outlet plug so that the microwave could be plugged in, no ashtrays in our smoking room, carpet had not been vacuumed, the unopened soap was sticky, no wash clothes ... I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodieArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We stayed at this Best Western overnite.

The 4 pillow cases on the 2 double beds were filthy. They smelled horrible and they had yellow stains/drool rings on them. They looked as if they had never ever been washed.

I called the front desk and was told the only thing they could do was give me a key to another room and I could take the sheets from that room. Personally, I felt that if they didnt clean my room why should I feel that they cleaned the other rooms.

To make do we stripped the pillow cases and wrapped them in beach towels and then slept on top of the bedspread.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fenusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Dorado
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn El Dorado
La Quinta Inn El Dorado
#6 of 10 in El Dorado
81 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, El Dorado, AR
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 10 in El Dorado
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn El Dorado
Hampton Inn El Dorado
#2 of 10 in El Dorado
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 El Dorado
Super 8 El Dorado
#3 of 10 in El Dorado
102 reviews
11.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Smackover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado EconoLodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado EconoLodge

Address: 1920 Junction City Rd, El Dorado, AR 71730-7806
Region: United States > Arkansas > El Dorado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in El Dorado
Price Range: £41 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Dorado EconoLodge 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Dorado EconoLodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge El Dorado
Best Western El Dorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing