We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of the Universe? Yes Indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel at the End of the Universe
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“End of the Universe? Yes Indeed!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a wonderful place to stay and see the mountains (including Mount Everest on a clear day), the hills, the valley - from the quaint village of Nagarkot. The Hotel at the End of the Universe stood back and up from the village. We climbed upward, taking in the sights of the hotel grounds (beautiful) as we went, making the climb so easy. The food here is amazing; the rooms spacious, with panoramic views from the windows - WOW! The staff were amazing: so helpful and kind. We loved every second of our stay, getting up at 5am to climb a flight of stairs to the Hindu Temple to see the sun rising over the snow-capped mountains, listening to the dawn chorus of birds, including the wonderful Drongo bird that swoops up, down, side to side, (like a paper aeroplane) to catch insects. If you're ever in Nepal, a trip to Nagarkot is a must-do - and the hotel is a must-must-must do too!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a 'room with a view'. The hills, mountains and wildlife are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilanewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    89
    43
    8
    9
See reviews for
34
73
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Room had a lot of character, clean and well maintained. Restaurant has a great atmosphere (though menu is somewhat limited), and nice garden where you can chill and enjoy the view.
But most of all - amazing staff, friendly and professional, that really feels like it's also their home, and made my stay so unique and special!
Tip: have your laundry done in Kathmandu, hotel is way over-charging for it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eyal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed in the main building, took rooms 1,2 and 4. Room 1 was very spacious, but no furnitures except 3 beds, another room in 1st floor was also spacious.Tiny bathrooms,basic breakfast. Nothing special about the hotel. I stayed at country villa and club himalaya earlier, the hotel is anywhere close, but much cheaper in terms of price also. I reckon the hotel is very good for friends, particularly for bagpackers, but not suitable for families specially if u senior citizens in your group. My dad had great difficulty to climb all the stairs, i had no idea that u have to climb so many stairs to climb the hill. View is good, but for bad weather we could not see the mountains. It is a family resort, Oasis is a great host. If you look for luxury, this is not the place, club himalayas or country villa will serve you better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasim1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I created a profile just so that I could review this wonderful place. It's tucked all the way at the top of several flights of beautiful winding stairs. The hike will wind you but it's so worth it. Everything is calm and wonderful. The staff here are all so kind and gentle and happy to help you with anything you need. Especially Nawa, who manages the hotel. He helped us organize all of our activities and even took us on a beautiful hike around Nagarkot on our last day. By the end of the trip he was a dear friend. Everything about the hotel and the restaurant is cozy and positive. It's truly a healing place with amazing views and loving vibes. The bathroom is small in the suite because it was built to be the owner's room, but it didn't matter, we wanted to stay here forever.

Room Tip: The views from the suite are worth the small bathroom. 270 degrees of the most breathtaking views yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmceneaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

they told me that its located just few steps on the hill as I wanted to enquire due to travleiing with parents but actually our room was on the 3rf floor and the base was also around 5 stories above the parking level. Bad information.

the views are just great from the suite but room's aesthetics are pretty bad. Just one big hall having 3 small beds on 3 corners. Smallest possible bathroom, hardly any electricity, very small attached bedroom in which you can just get in to sleep.

Worst was the staff which did not understand english or hindi. Made the worst possible food and got angry when we told them that the food is not good and how it can be made better. They just told us that its that way we have been making and will not change.

Go only for the views !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Family owned hotel and a great location for hiking amd trekking. Rooms were rustic but clean. Expect power outages when at the location. Make sure to take cash or prepay tried to pay with a cc but infortunately, the tel lines did not work at check out. Rooms can use a fan in the summer months. Food is great and reasonably priced. Staff is very friendly and very accomodating to one's needs. I will certainly stay with them again. Had a corner room for my wife, myself and my kid and had plenty of space.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Oasis, his family and staff were wonderful!
remember, is at the end of the universe, so you will have to walk up and down anywaay, but the view is breathtaking and wonrth it!
the rooms were clean, the food delicious and the wi-fi working in the common area. Because of the power problems in Nepal, make sure to have a shower when the power is on, otherwise it will be a cold one!
definetly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriThrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 18 in Nagarkot
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 18 in Nagarkot
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 18 in Nagarkot
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#8 of 18 in Nagarkot
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel at the End of the Universe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel at the End of the Universe

Property: Hotel at the End of the Universe
Address: Mahankal Temple, Nagarkot 44812, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel at the End of the Universe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all there: while viewing Kathmandu valley from above, you just turn your head for the great views over the Himalayas- from sunrise to sunset. You have your own room with attached bathroom (with hot shower), there's the restaurant, the lounge with plenty of books to read and games to play, a place to watch movies, to sit in the sun and enjoy the view.Run by Oasis Bhaju (Nepali), with the help of his family, “The Hotel at the End of the Universe” is a family run hotel where you’ll find Nepali hospitality with a western touch.The hotel is peacefully located on top of the Mahankal hill, where the air is fresh, and the views are awesome. Its homely atmosphere invites you to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel at the End of the Universe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing