We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Club Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Himalaya
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Club Himalaya for one night and had a lovely stay. The environment is really nice and calm and gives you the chance to enjoy the nature. It is not far from Katmandu, approx. 1-2 hour drive and even to get there is a fun adventure.

However, the food is limited, there is a lack of soms toiletries (toothbrush for example) and the swimming pool does not look clean.

We enjoyed our stay, there are a lot of things to experience here, such as watching the sunset/sunrise from the rooftop and enjoying the nature. Overall experience was good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thetroon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    285
    94
    36
    12
See reviews for
175
275
57
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice resort , spacious modern rooms, limited veg items at the restaurant but manageable if u stay for1 or 2 days.friendly staff. overall nice place to stay.nice little indoor pool.one of the best resort in nagarkot.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Puneet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a very long drive from Kathmandu which was breathtaking and highly recommended , we were greeted by a welcome drink . My wife and I stayed at the Club Himalaya for one night towards the end of our visit to Nepal. Great location for sure and It's all about the view of the Himalayas from this place. Very peaceful and relaxing.We were there in August and the weather was much much cooler in Nagarkot than in Kathmandu .

We had a mountain & valley view room with balcony. View from the balcony was stunning and the valley was beautiful. The balcony was small and cosy enough, so that two people can sit at the coffee table while enjoying the amazing view and cool weather. It would have been perfect if it was a clear day. The view from the room was fantastic with greenery all around and morning/evening fog and cold air.

People basically come to see the sunset and sunrise and that is it. After dinner in the hotel, not a lot of of things to do outside of the hotel... it's a bit dull.
In morning, after enjoying the view for a while, we headed for breakfast, where there was a really good breakfast laid out; the staff was also friendly and helpful.

It's wonderful getaway .
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple .

Room Tip: choose room facing valley & mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Rao D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is beautifully located. Its one of the better properties I have visited and I travel a lot.

When we arrived it was drizzling and the clouds had come down. Our room was facing the beutifull valley and with clouds right next to us the feeling was just like being in heaven. And best part was the place is empty and private.

The food at restaurant is limited so you should try the tea house right next to the hotel. Please keep in mind tea house shuts by 7 p.m. This place is ideal for a couples holiday with not much sight seeing around the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meanujsahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The only hotel I have stayed so far that had a cozy lobby not so formal but had a tinch of Asian/ Nepali feel to it. With a fantastic drive from kathmandu to Nagarkot and an hotel built right up the mountains was an absolute bliss of the day. Aroma of agharbhattis in every nook and corner including the bathroom. A welcome cold drink when you enter the lobby (after a cold freezing is just what you need) while reservations are being done. The view from the balcony and the terrace sunset/ sunrise is to die for. When you are in the balcony, you feel you are placed above the clouds with all the fog plating up wrapping the mountains.Rooms and bathrooms are huge enough and super neat. The food buffet and wine are great with the surround glass built.Since I'm a nature freak, this would be one hotel that I would return to or suggest everybody to go if not anywhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure to take the rooms on a higher facing the mountains for a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satorisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After the heat of Chitwan, getting off at Club Himalaya in Nagarkot was a blessing. With the view of the sunset right from the hotel and a while later the full moon from behind the clouds with the rustling of leaves and the quiet was everything we had hoped for. A stroll around the hotel in the evening and the morning, alas no himalayan view as the monsoon clouds covered it all....

And then time for breakfast - a very disappointing and inadequate fare. Rotten bananas, no fresh juice or any other fresh fruit. Waiters scrambling around to cater to the loads of guests and no one really bothered to replenish the bread which was over or any other fare that might have been. For the amount the room costs for bread and breakfast, a fresh and adequate breakfast would be good and make the traveler feel truly welcome as a guest to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandanaVandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siolim, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting Nepal , only an hour from Kathmandu arriving in fresh air , beautiful scenery and lovely people , great hotel which is expanding into perfection , they will build a new , bigger spa with more treatments , more meditation , yoga and workshops

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoginira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 18 in Nagarkot
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.6 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 18 in Nagarkot
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#7 of 18 in Nagarkot
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chautari Paradise Inn
Chautari Paradise Inn
#9 of 18 in Nagarkot
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#16 of 18 in Nagarkot
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Himalaya

Property: Club Himalaya
Address: Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot 44812, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Himalaya 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in TIME Magazine (Liam McMillan, December 10, 2001) as a "Hot Spot" of the world, the Club Himalaya ( 32 kilometers East of Kathmandu) has earned local and international reputation. Superbly situated atop of a lush-green hill at a majestic elevation of 7200 ft, Club Himalaya offers an unrestricted 360˚ view of: Annapurna in the west to the mighty Everest in the East, Kathmandu valley and thick forests. Each room opens to a private balcony, where guests can enjoy the most splendid sunrise and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Himalaya Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing