We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with A great View”
Review of Club Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Himalaya
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nagarkot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in Deluxe room.. Rooms are spacious and clean with a balcony facing the mountains every things seemed perfect but no mountain view due to clouds.. at times one felt like we are just inside the clouds ... Just a small problem they should increase the food variety,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alok_k_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Club Himalaya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

July wasnt the perfect month to visit Nepal, but we were lucky enough during our short 3nights stay at the Nagarkot, we experience best above the cloud view.
it was pricrless!
remember to ask for a room at the new wing and high floor! if u get that you basically need not to plan any other things beside sitting at the balcony enjoy the perfect view.i love Nagarkot and Club Himalaya Resort would be your best choice to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Accompanied by my hubby we checked in to this property reserved for our stay on Aug 02, 2014, by See-Nepal Travels, Kathmandu. The staff at reception desk are pleasant, respectable and voluntarily upgraded our room. The room is quite big, shower place clean, nice beds, big portico enabling Sun rise and good roof top to view Sun set. Though the food is expensive, with South Indian vegetarians having least choice; we could manage it. But the wifi is too slow that too the free serviced one in lobby area. At dinner too, the food court staff is generous in offering some waivers. We enjoyed our stay though it's brief running to 14 hrs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that can afford you a panoramic view of sun rise from room balcony as Sun rise is aro...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ushadevisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is located 2200 metres above sea level and is accessed from a windy cork screw hill. The views are stunning and it is well worth venturing the 1.5 hours (depending on traffic and road conditions) out of Kathmandu to come here for a night. We stayed in rom 517 in the new wing which was a large corner suite with stunning panoramic views with windows on three sides of the suite and a lovely balcony complete with rocking chair. Set you alarm early to view your own private sunrise from the comfort of your room, drinking in the magnificence and beauty of the Himalayas including Mount Everest. The buffet meals were adequate and the resort had a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Do not stay in the old wing which seems to have musty small and smaller darker rooms. Overall we loved this property and would stay here again if we returned to the area.

Room Tip: Room 517 in the new wing is a corner suite with amazing views and balcony. Do not stay in the old wi...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located approx 7000 ft above sea level. This is the absolute wow factor of staying at the hotel. The rooms are nice and all facing the mountains. You need to specify in advance that you need a double bed if you are travelling as a couple. They dont seem to understand the obvious even though I had specifically asked for it while booking online as well as they seen us as a couple check in. We still ended up getting 2 single beds. When we went down to ask the lady for the double bed room she said the hotel was full and no double beds available at that time.
There is no free wifi in the rooms except in the reception and bar area. We purchased the wifi coupon which the lady said was for 1 hour only (it got disconnected after an hour and we could not use it again) however upon check out the guy charged us for a day pass stating they dont have a hour pass and its a full day pass. He charged us more than what it said for an hour but since it was not that expensive we let it go.
The sunrise and sunset is beautiful from the hotel and you can get a good view from the rooftop. It was cloudy when we went as it is rainy season however it was still extremely beautiful. The morning was stunning with all the clouds below the hotel and we even got to see the ice tips on the mountains amongst the clouds. THE BEST VIEW EVER.
The breakfast was alright not at all much but since they have an egg station we were more than happy with just that. The guy at the egg station however need a spatula as he was struggling with a fork which was hilarious to watch. They had good masala tea (if you enjoy tea with spices).
We went for a walk outside the property which was nice. At night it was pitch dark and wouldnt dare to go out although our driver said it was ok.
The drive to the hotel comes with great scenery however the roads are quite narrow and you need to have an alert driver. Try booking your transport in advance as we did, they may charge a little extra for staying back but its worth it as did not see any taxis available. We paid 5000 Nepali rupees for the return journey.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank joannedcosta31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Top customer service and the resort was fantastic in a peaceful place. Although there were some construction going in, the place was tidy overall. Will be coming back at the end of this year. Can't wait! :D

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I just returned from 4 days Nepal trip. One day and night spent at Club Himalaya Resort.
The weather was very pleasant. From the terrace we had a 360 degrees view of the green mountains, the valley, the distant Himalayan view, beautiful sky at dawn and dusk.
The food was ok.

Its quite near to Kathmandu about one hour plus drive. We visited Bakhtapur on our way to Nagarkot. A beautiful temple complex - a World Heritage site !!

Room Tip: East facing rooms at a higher floor, for a nice view of the sun rise over Himalayas.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SHAILESH KUMAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 16 in Nagarkot
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mystic Mountain
Hotel Mystic Mountain
#8 of 16 in Nagarkot
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fort Resort
The Fort Resort
#6 of 16 in Nagarkot
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Himalayan Villa
Hotel Himalayan Villa
#5 of 16 in Nagarkot
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel View Point
Hotel View Point
#13 of 16 in Nagarkot
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Himalaya

Address: Windy Hills | P.O Box 2769, Nagarkot 44812, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Nagarkot
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Himalaya 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured in TIME Magazine (Liam McMillan, December 10, 2001) as a "Hot Spot" of the world, the Club Himalaya ( 32 kilometers East of Kathmandu) has earned local and international reputation. Superbly situated atop of a lush-green hill at a majestic elevation of 7200 ft, Club Himalaya offers an unrestricted 360˚ view of: Annapurna in the west to the mighty Everest in the East, Kathmandu valley and thick forests. Each room opens to a private balcony, where guests can enjoy the most splendid sunrise and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Himalaya Hotel Nagarkot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing