We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only lodge where I slept in Nepal and did not enjoyed”
Review of Hotel New Dragon

Hotel New Dragon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel New Dragon
Ranked #10 of 16 Nagarkot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2013

After 2 weeks trekking, I went to this hotel, recommended by my guide book for the food.
I had been very disapointed.
Not for the food, that was the good part.

When we were looking for a room, the guy told us, hot shower, nice room, etc. We visited the room quickly, and said ok.

No shower during the evening, no shower in the morning.
It's 6am, ok, we'll see when we'll come back from our walk 2 hours later.

then, no exit by the entrance of the hotel; we had a find another way, going through a barrier, but it's ok, it can happen.

But when we came back at 9am, still no hot water; When i asked for it : "Ah sorry madam, not until 10".
We had breakfast.
Still no hot water.

Then when I asked to see the manager to discuss about the new price of the room without hot shower : people told me he was away. Even by phone, it seems impossible to talk with him.

Deciding it was enough, we prepared our stuff, ready to go.

Then the manager came out from nowhere, yelling that we were thiefs, that we can't negociate, that he's going to call the police.
After half an hour of no-discussion, we paid almost the full price, just to be out of his hotel and far from the manager... DON'T GO THERE.

The hotel across the street is really better and nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JojoDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were really positively surprised with our staying at New dragon, as we arrived in Nagarkot with no plan where to stay. The owner came up to us in town and offered a room on a discount price, but first we just wanted to see it. It was great, with two big wall-length windows, white, clean bed, so we rented it with no question. We had dinner there, and had a great and interesting talk on history and politics of Nepal with the owners and the employees that evening. We had our best dish with lots of great vegetables in a month in India and Nepal there! And with candle light, as electricity In Nepal is a problematic point. But we had warm water, just not forget to plug in the heater:)
He even allowed us a thing in the hotel, which I can't write down now, but was amazing from a hotel owner, so Thank You again for that!

Room Tip: We haven't seen other rooms, but you will now, what is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kata F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel because the weather was not so great (could not see a view when we were in Nagarkot) so thought we would make the best of the situation and get some work done. The room was freezing and I had to stay under two blankets to keep warm. There was no hot water and the toilet didn't work, so we had to fill up the tank by hand. The wifi didn't work on either day we were there, and in the morning when we ordered breakfast (their only customers) it took at least 40 minutes and it was the wrong order.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thiskentuckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oga-Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeromeplongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagarkot hotels
0 mi away
Hotel at the End of the Universe
0 mi away
Peaceful Cottage & Cafe du Mont
0 mi away
Club Himalaya
Club Himalaya
#1 of 16 in Nagarkot
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Country Villa
Hotel Country Villa
#2 of 16 in Nagarkot
403 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mount Paradise (veg.vegan friendly)
0 mi away
Nagarkot Bed & Breakfast
Nagarkot Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Nagarkot
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Dragon

Address: Naldum - 8 VDC | Opp. to Eco Home Hotel, Nagarkot 44812, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Nagarkot
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nagarkot
Price Range: £24 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel New Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing