We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very nice place”
A beautifully renovated Newari House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautifully renovated Newari House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
A beautifully renovated Newari House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Patan (Lalitpur), Kathmandu Valley, Bagmati Zone, Central Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Any
English first
brrruno
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice place”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Nice room in a quiet street not far from Durbar square. The owner is very hepful and sympathic. A good choice to make a round in Patan.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jena315
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
“Warm hospitality in a lovely guest house”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I stayed two nights at the Yamba and could not recommend it more highly! It was clean, very comfortable, and provided everything we needed. The owner, Pradeep, and his family were so warm and welcoming. He went above and beyond to make sure that we had what we needed, both in the guest house and as we made our plans to go out each day. The location is great - close to Patan's Durbar Square, but in a quiet street tucked away from some of the noise and traffic.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Nepal!”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I've been living in Nepal for two years and have stayed in many hotels. This home was by far the best I've stayed in. The rooms are simply beautiful- the beds incredibly comfortable, warm natural and artificial lighting and delicate Newari wood/brick work. Beyond that the owners are some of kindest people you'll meet, going above and beyond to make sure we were well fed with delicious food and comfortable. I could go on, but better you just book your stay at Yamba and enjoy it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur H
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A serene retreat in Katmandu.”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My family stayed here two nights. The owner's loving renovation is evident throughout. A welcome retreat from what can be a very noisy, dusty harried city. But the real selling point is the owner. In our two weeks in Nepal, we did not come across a more welcoming host, going so far as to invite the rest of my family to join his for dinner while I was laid low by a bug (that I certainly did not contract there!). Recommend w/o reservation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riejpn
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The amazing home!”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Yamba is the amazing home which i would return!
I have never stayed such a nice hotel with great hospitality.
The hotel facility is also great. The room and toilet are very clean and modern. Hot water available. I have stayed at a hotel with the same price in Thamel before, but Yamba is absolutely better! Great price for a value.
The owner, Pradeep , and his family are so caring and warm-hearted. It felt like as if I am in my home and with family. You will never feel alone here even if you are lone traveler. It was New Years and I was lone traveler- but I enjoyed chatting and spending time with them very much. I felt safe and peaceful here. Pradeep kindly gave me the information of sightseeing. On returning, i got lost and came back to the hotel late. Even worse, i was feeling so bad. The mother said(though she doesn’t speak English , i understood what she wanted to say) she was caring about me and waiting for me for long time... I bursted into tears!
After this they heartily took care of me and thanks to the care, I could safely get back all the way to Japan.
Thank you very much for your kindness and nicest memories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emilyklsi...
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly cozy Newari house / 充滿人情味的尼泊爾小屋”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

you will never find a guesthouse owner as thoughtful and caring as Pradeep. Not only did he welcome us in the warmest way possible, he always went out of his way to help and make sure your every need is met. the yamba house is a traditional newari house with charming and clean rooms decorated nicely with the coziest vybes. it is also located right next to the patan durbar square, so very central. strongly recommend this property for those who want a glimpse into the local hospitality that nepal is famous for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larissaba...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Beautiful, big and stylish room in a characteristic authentic Newari-style building (we booked the apartment), clean and comfortable, with a heavenly soft bed, a nice warm shower with soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, very friendly owners, lovely breakfast including fruit, porridge and the best omelet. Location in the centre of Patan!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing