We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful escape...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This small, boutique hotel in the heart of the Patan district was a welcome respite after several days spent hiking in the Himalayas. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and showcase a blend of traditional and modern design features. I would recommend requesting Room No. 2 which connects to a private courtyard with a splendid outlook. A word of warning for tall-ish travellers: the low height ceiling beams may cause some discomfort! However, by-and-large this is a superb hotel and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

rare example of professionalism, quality, taste, customer service. with also a nice restaurant and bar.
absolutely the number one in the area of kathmandu. perfect location next to patan durbar square.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were so lucky to stay at this special place for 3 nights while in magical Patan.
The location is perfect for exploring this ancient town, and the staff are amazing. The owner, Shaym, did everything he could to help enhance our stay.

We stayed on the top floor with the wonderful private terrace. The room was large and comfortable. although the hotel had to hope with the neighborhood power blackouts everyday, they provided reserve lighting in the rooms and the restaurant is on a generator.

The food was simply amazing. Breakfasts were delicious and ample. And we ate dinner here every night because we couldn't resist trying yet another fantastic meal

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was such a treat for my wife and myself towards the end of this visit to Nepal. We understand it is one of the first two traditional homes to have been converted into a guest house. The bedroom oozed with atmosphere, traditional decor, a lovely beamed ceiling, large comfortable bed, and a very contemporary en suite bathroom with hot shower. Luxury! It is in a quiet part of town and very close walking to Patan Dhurbar square and other attractions. We had an excellent evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the breakfast was also delicious.

Room Tip: Choose with an en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2goplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having stayed in Thamel in 2011 - we wanted to experience Kathmandu in a different way - and find less touristy, smaller hotels near the major sites - Kathmandu Dubar Square, Patan and Boudhanath. A great decision!! Each of these hotels were fabulous - Swotha was our absolute favourite. Not only was the hotel beautifully done - the food was without a doubt some of the best we had and the staff we just lovely.

Patan was right at the bottom of the lane - there to explore day or night - with or without tourists! And it was fabulous to wonder in and out at leisure - go back to favourite spots when the light of day was different, or just sit and watch the world go by. We were even dragged off to dance with a wedding party on the way home to the hotel one night. All good fun!

Our room was the Attic on the top floor - which was stunning!! Huge with wooden beams and exposed brick, floor to ceiling windows and a small balcony. There is also a small terrace where we had sunset drinks with friends each night, with views over the roof tops and pagodas to snow capped mountains.

A beautiful hotel and wonderful three nights stay, and thanks to Shyam and Ram for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: Just a note that a few of the rooms have very low ceiling/beams so check before you book. One of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwoToGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Swotha is a small oasis in the heart of Patan close to Durban square, which gives you the freedom to explore the richness of the city.
Staying their is a nice retreat during your travel!
The atmosphere is informal, autentic and relaxing in beautiful surroundings.
Traditional Nevari architecture with a modern twist and welcoming staff brings an overall feeling that makes you want to come back for more.
The level of design is high down to every small details. The rooms are clean, the bed is soft and the breakfast makes you smile.
The roof terrace has a great view over the city with mountain background allowing you to read a book, listening to the afternoon sounds of the city and life passing by.

I give my warmest recommendation!

Anna, Denmark.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Traditional Homes - Swotha after our trek to the Everest region of Nepal in November 2013. This was our second trip to Nepal so we wanted to stay outside of touristy Thamel this time and try something different, and from the reviews on TripAdvisor this looked like the best place to stay in Patan. We also wanted to stay in a more traditional guest house and this was our favorite of two we found. The other, Hira Guest House, was also excellent, and while less expensive, was not on the same level of quality as Swotha. 

First of all, the manager Shyam was so polite and professional and so  great to deal with. He and his staff made us feel so welcome and treated us with the utmost respect and courtesy.  He mentioned he had trained in hotels in England, and all I can say is that it certianly shows. 

Tucked down a short side street and only a block from the famous Patan Dubar Square, this hotel itself is an beautiful and interesting mix of historic Newari house and a modern looking kitchen and dining area. We had booked a room on the third floor but I am 6'3" and the cielings were a little bit short for someone of my stature. I had to watch I didn't bang my head on the cieling support beams, but without us saying anything Shyam noticed this and immediately suggested moving us to a room on the second floor once they had finished cleaning it. My head definately appreciated that and we were very greatful he took this proactive approach to ensure our comfort during our stay. 

We loved the room, which had big open air windows on wither side that allowed you to look out onto the alleyway or courtyard. The bed was super comfy (but not saggy) and the bathroom had a nice shower. In general the room was exactly what we were looking for, and we immediately felt like they found a great balance between quality and simplicity.  

Probably our favorite place to hang out was the dining area. We ate at several places around Patan during our days before and after our trip, but I can say without hesitation that this place had the best food and service in Patan and is on par with some of the best restaurants in Kathmandu in my opinion. On our first night back from our 4 weeks in the Khumbu we were tired and decided to have both our lunch and our celebratory dinner here, and both were fantastic. The wait staff were friendly and accomidating and the dishes were spectacular. I specifically remember the speghetti bolanse I had for lunch was to die for, but I recall my wife's dish being equally excellent. Breakfast was also excellent with great coffee, fresh juice and great breakfast choices. 

To be honest, Patan is probaly a little out of the way for most people travelling through the Kathmandu Valley with limitted time and staying here may mean travelling to and from Thamel to make your travel arrangements. We found this out the hard way and for this reason would recommend staying in Patan only after your trip when you don't have too many arrangements to make.

Overall thoughh, we loved this place and would definately recommend anyone staying in Patan and looking for a different experience from the standard fare hotel rooms to check out Traditionnal Homes - Swotha. In fact, I would say this must be one of the top hotels in the whole Kathmandu valley as far as this price range and traditional home style goes. I hope to one day come back to Kathmandu and my wish would be for a cleaner city and a room at the Swotha guesthouse.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bfexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
0.9 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#1 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summerhill House
Summerhill House
#4 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#22 of 209 in Kathmandu
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn Patan
The Inn Patan
#1 of 53 in Patan (Lalitpur)
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Life Story Resort
The Life Story Resort
#3 of 53 in Patan (Lalitpur)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditional Homes - SWOTHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Homes - SWOTHA

Address: South East corner of Swotha Square . 50 meters away North from Patan Durbar Square, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range: £56 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Traditional Homes - SWOTHA 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Homes- Swotha is a beautiful Boutique Bed and Breakfast nested in the heart of Patan Historical center, a few meters away from the magical Durbar Square. 5 intimate and spacious rooms with attached bathroom and an Attic Suite room. The furnishing is cosy though minimalist (iron and wood mainly) but very comfortable ( antique chair, cotton linen sheets, wool and hemp carpet, quality mattress, gas heater, hot shower, hand made soap, cotton curtains, selection of books in each rooms and powerful wifi!) to which you add a beautiful roof terrace, a wooden balcony for each room, a small garden and a nice restaurant serving fresh and organic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Traditional Homes - SWOTHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traditional Homes - SWOTHA Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing