We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, probably average for Kathmandu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Greenwich Village
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, probably average for Kathmandu”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for 9 days while visiting friends in Kathmandu. We were there in the middle of a bandh week, so we got around mostly on foot, with the occasional taxi or hired driver if we were feeling brave.

The hotel was moderately close to most shops and restaurants, maybe a 10 minute walk max. The rooms were decent, probably on par with most places in Kathmandu. A little cramped, oldish facilities, but we weren't expecting the Ritz for these prices.

The pool was small but well-maintained, and my kids swam happily every day. We ate a few meals there, and none was particularly good. In fact, the breakfasts were downright awful. You're much better off making a quick 5 minute walk to a neigboring restaurant, or buying something at a grocery the night before.

The tiny TV in our room had about 200 channels of Indian TV, some of which was American/HBO fare, and much of which was Bollywood. After long days pounding the pavement across Kathmandu, it was fun to kick back and enjoy more Bollywood than we'd ever get on Netflix.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatthepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    39
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
5
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed on two ocassions - a night each. Service was prompt and facilities adequate. Suggest getting a room in the main block if you can. The heater and hot water in the older annexe are not reliable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block are have more reliable heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is an average hotel by international standards, about 3-star. The rooms are fairly old-style, they have all the basics, but otherwise rather average. Breakfast is rather miserable fare with no imagination, poor start to the day, they could do so much better. The menu for lunch/dinner is acceptable, but better to eat out. The pool area is by far the best feature, a pleasant area to hang out or even to work. There is free wi-fi, a bit hit and miss. Service is friendly and helpful. The hotel is quiet, no disturbances.

The hotel is located in Lalitpur, across the 'river' from Kathmandu. You can get to central Kathmandu in about 15 minutes by taxi (250-300 rupees, $3-4). There are usually a few taxis parked up at the crossroads about 50 meters to the right of the exit from the hotel. There are many restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk of the hotel, so if you are here for a few days it's worth going walkabout on the first day to see what's nearby. As someone else has mentioned, there is a small shop directly across the road, handy for essentials.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you want to have a whiff of best of Hospitality, then this is the place to be. I was not much impressed by the locality of the hotel (except that there's a super mart right opposite to it, where you get almost everything). The staff told me that there was an ATM nearby, but somehow I couldn't find it. It gets pitch dark on the roads outside once the lights are out, which happens quite often in Nepal.

I stayed in a room without AC. No ceiling fan, just a pedestrian fan to your rescue in case you feel hot. The AC room costed $10 more than this room. considering the pleasant weather of Ktm, it was quite comfy without the AC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia SC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This was my first trip to Kathmandu and I wasn't sure what to expect. My hotel stay was booked by friends who live there so I did not do any research on the hotel first. For our purposes, which were mostly business, the hotel was very good. The property is somewhat old, but well kept up. The staff were courteous and helpful. I really liked the bed which was extra firm, but that's me. Electricity comes and goes in Kathmandu, but the hotel has a generator which they do use, so we had few outages. The hot water takes a while to get to the bathroom so you have to be patient. My air conditioner worked fine, although some of the other guests seemed to have problems in this area.
I liked the food in the restaurant. They try to have a western touch but there is still a lot of Nepali food. But, hey, you're in Nepal. The breakfast was included and they will prepare eggs per request at no extra charge.
Compared to a US or UK hotel it was reasonably priced. I did not compare local prices.
The location of the hotel is near another well known hotel but is a good distance from the Thamel tourist district. It is not far from the Patan Durbar which is one of the more famous landmarks.

Room Tip: The first floor seems to be the best. We did have some noisy guests and I had to ask the night mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axsdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

It's a budget hotel with good rooms. No AC though you may not need one in Nepal, I don't know about the summer. The staff is polite and helpful. Food is expensive and terrible in the restaurant and breakfast is average. It's located in a nice quiet area and everything is walking distance from where you are staying. I stayed here because of work, but I probably would not choose to stay here again personally. I did have a great time talking with the staff and I got some much needed sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineseema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A budget hotel with all facility. Food is so expensive. Small swimming pool. Easy access to Airport. Stayed there for a week and enjoyed the stay expect for not many plug points are in the room to charge the gadgets

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sijomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patan (Lalitpur)
0.1 mi away
Summit Hotel
Summit Hotel
#1 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#2 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shaligram Hotel
Shaligram Hotel
#3 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Goodwill
Hotel Goodwill
#8 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Clarion
Hotel Clarion
#4 of 8 in Patan (Lalitpur)
54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#38 of 201 in Kathmandu
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenwich Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenwich Village

Property: Hotel Greenwich Village
Address: PO Box 837, Kopundole Height, Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Patan (Lalitpur)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Greenwich Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Greenwich Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Village
Hotel Greenwich Village Nepal/Kathmandu Valley - Patan (Lalitpur)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing