We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Central American town”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San Isidro El General
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful Central American town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Beautiful little mountain town is classic growing Latin American city. Teeming with life - youth - families - working to enjoy their life on the planet.

Friendly people, authentic small city, non-touristy, beautiful, clean, great spot to practice your espanol!

Lot's of local food available, a beautiful drive over from the coast. Great spot to enjoy some local culture and engage a new Latin lifestyle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
300 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“This little town is why we travel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Could you pick a better setting. We sat in a restuarant high up on the valley rim overlooking the town as you come into town. The view was spectacular. You could see across the valley to the other rim. You could watch different weather patterns come in, it rained twice while we were having our lunch.
The town itself is a gem, an agri town, lots of coffee. We ended up walking through the town on another day and found little markets and coffee shops. Bazooka's steak place was a welcome find, although Trip Advisor wont let me post that one for some reason! This is a town I had to drag myself away from. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Town on top of the montain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

A cute country town on top of the mountain. The real reason to go there is to catch the Farmers Market which is hugh there. Farmers and artist from all other little towns and villages to this event bearing their fruit and cheeses and all. There are some places you can eat fresh things too. There is a pretty church in town square. From there you find your way to the parking area for this big event. Make sure to bring your own bags as you will not be able to resist these low prices. There is no haggaling.
The price will be written on a board and that is the price.
Enjoy the drive back which is very pretty and there are lots of stands with hand made items for sale.


Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Helga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“San Isidro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great authentic Central American tow. Very clean. The only American item we saw was a McDonald/s..... Too bad

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wineeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Isidro El General also viewed

San Isidro de El General, Province of San Jose
San Isidro de El General, Province of San Jose
 
San Isidro de El General, Province of San Jose
San Isidro de El General, Province of San Jose
 

Been to San Isidro El General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing