We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodation!”
Review of Casa De Los Celtas

Casa De Los Celtas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Isidro del General
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa De Los Celtas
Reviewed 13 December 2011

As we wanted to see Cerro Chirripó, the highest mountain in Costa Rica we choose our accomodation in close vicinity and decided for Casa de los Celtas not far from Rivas. We were warmly welcomed by Sheelagh and John who made our stay as nice and comfortable as could be. The accommodation is wonderful and clean with a nice bedroom, a seperate bathroom and a huge patio (with big kitchen) with a magnificent view. Sheelagh and John were always in the neighbourhood to give us advice when needed and Sheelagh cooked us a great breakfast every morning. In short, if you are looking for clean, spacy and beautiful accomodation with a gorgeous view and very nice owners, you should stay at Casa de los Celtas!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandH0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

We had a great stay at Casa de los Celtas. 
Sheelagh & John are such great hosts. They make you feel part of the family & we felt we were leaving friends on the day of our departure. 
The Almendra room was spacious & comfortable, with an excellent adjoining shower room. 
Breakfast, served on the patio, was superb. We had everything we needed & couldn't begin to attempt the cooked breakfast also on offer!! Facilities are provided for making tea & coffee at any time, and a fridge is also available. Another great little touch. 
We opted for the evening meal. Sheelagh is an accomplished cook & we loved everything she made for us. 
Sitting looking out over the garden was a great way to relax & spot the birds.
We highly recommend staying here & thank them both for sharing all their knowledge about their adopted country. 

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed with John and Sheelagh at their beautiful home and B&B for just a night en route from Quepos to San Jose. Despite its brevity, it will remain a pleasant memory. Everything about it exceeded our expectations: a guided stroll through botanical gardens; engaging conversation and good humor; an excellent recommendation for dinner at "Bazooka"; a most peaceful sleep; an incredibly delicious breakfast; and, a farewell promise to return. Situated on one of the many bucolic hillsides of CR, but with an unparalleled view of CR's highest peak, Chirripo, and the rush of its river below, the impeccable home and grounds are presided over by peerless hosts. It's almost embarrassing to pay just $60 for all this.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTACO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

John and Sheelagh gave us a warm welcome after our long drive from Arenal. It was an ideal stop on our route to Wilson Gardens.
This b&b is situated about 7kms out of San Isidro de General on a good road, just before reaching Rivas.
A large garden that is kept immaculate by John provides a good chance of seeing birds . They also have a bird table with many visitors!
Our room was nicely furnished, bed was comfortable and it had tea & coffee making facilities, fridge etc.
Having been in CR only a few days John and Sheelagh spent time with us to answer our numerous questions.
Yes, a good stay that contributed to making our 3 week CR holiday so worthwhile.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s55jce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Casa de los Celtas. The cabin we stayed in was clean, well appointed and very pleasant. John and Sheelagh are wonderful hosts who are very attentive to the needs of their guests. More importantly, they are both very interesting people who are wonderful conversationalists. Sheelagh is a great cook and we recommend having dinner at the Casa de los Celtas at least once during your stay. If you are interested in birdwatching and plan to visit Skutch's famous farm, we highly recommend staying at Casa de los Celtas. You can actually see an amazing number of species on John and Sheelagh's property and they will appreciate any additions you can make to their bird list.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed at this quiet B+B for 6 nights during our search for property in the southern zone of Costa Rica. The hosts, John and Sheelagh Richards, went way beyond the "call of duty" to make sure our stay was comfortable, relaxing, and enjoyable. Their B+B has only 2 guest rooms: the cabin detached from their house that we stayed in, and a unit in their house itself. The cabin is fully furnished with 2 twin beds, a full kitchen, and a bath with shower and plenty of hot water. There are several acres of grounds with well-kept gardens surrounding the property. The property is located outside of the city of San Isidro El General, but is easy to get to on a good paved road. It is close to the Chirripo National Park.

The hosts were happy to accommodate our vegetarian diet, and greeted us every day with a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh juice, granola and other cereals, and every day a different freshly baked bread!

Sheelagh and John also were extremely helpful in providing us with directions to various local attractions, and advice and references to resources to aid us in our search for property. In the end, we feel that they are our new friends in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro del General
0.0 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#6 of 6 in San Isidro del General
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Zima
Best Western Hotel Zima
#3 of 6 in San Isidro del General
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosque del Tolomuco
Bosque del Tolomuco
#1 of 15 in San Isidro del General
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Princesa Hotel
La Princesa Hotel
#3 of 15 in San Isidro del General
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Los Celtas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Los Celtas

Address: San Isidro del General, San Isidro del General District, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Perez Zeledon > San Isidro del General District > San Isidro del General
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Isidro del General
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Celtas Costa Rica/San Isidro Del General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing