We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Zima
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed there 9 nights and as an American that does not speak Spanish, I found the place to be very clean, safe, and a place I would come back if I return to the area. The owner is very hands on, and his staff are very attentive to their guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
13
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bello oriente
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We've lived and travelled in Costa Rica for 15 years so we kind of know our way around. This hotel is, indeed, the best that San Isidro has to offer. Just a few blocks off the main highway, it is surprisingly quiet in a beautifully tranquil setting. Every staff member we encountered was welcoming, helpful, and very friendly. The room was spacious, clean, and well appointed but the lack of natural ventilation in the room was a concern. Fortunately, the air conditioner and bathroom fans were quiet so air circulation could be achieved. A few rooms did seem to have windows that might open, so next time, we'll ask for one of those. The restaurant is nicely laid out and open but next time we come, we'll order either chicken or fish from the menu. Ticos generally prepare those very well. With the name "Best Western" we wrongly assumed that the steaks being offered would be to North American standards. They weren't and they really should be taken off the menu. This is not the cook's fault. He seemed to have a tiny, marginally equipped kitchen in which to work and no broiler or grill that I could see. However, from this magic cubby hole, he did produce delicious Tico style breakfasts. This is a restaurant where it's a good opportunity for travellers to leave North America behind and enjoy the local food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that will open if you prefer fresh air at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've stayed here numerous times in 2014 and I will keep coming back. As a volunteer living in rural Costa Rica, this place is a treat and a little feeling of home. Everything is clean, the rooms are spacious with Cable TV, hot water showers, comfortable beds, and a desk. There is a pool and a lovely restaurant with breakfast included (and delicious omelettes!) The staff is always gracious and kind and always checking up to see if you need anything. You really can't do any better than this in San Isidro, for a pretty good price (compared to San Jose!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcross01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

As a Costa Rican, I know what to expect in towns like San Isidro. Hotel Zima was far above our expectations. Everything is neat. Clean, well-appointed rooms, nice swimming pool, and the food and service at the restaurant were excellent. Although right next to San Isidro's main street, the place is really quiet. Our only complaint: no bedside reading lamps. Overall an excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms 25 to 28, which have mountain view and a small balcony overlooking the town. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soyviajeroEscazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

It s hotel that rooms are clean but too small,you feel as a gigant in there,only when you are.on the bed you ll feel better,the price is not according with the place,they are not good to service you at the moment you arrive !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickherrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I don't give out 5 stars very often but the owner of this place went out of his way. We used a room but also we camped in our camper-van in his car-park. He charged $8usd for camping and is happy for other overlanders to stay here. The rooms are spacious and clean with large bathrooms although we only used one room so I cannot say for the other twenty or so. The pool area is good with BBQ and sun loungers. The restaurant was not open on Sunday night but the hotel is so close to downtown it doesn't matter. There is even a McDonalds not a few hundred meters away. As the hotel is on the other side of the towns ring road its quiet. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Local restaurants and bars just round the corner what more can you ask. Single rooms priced at under $40usd (ask for pricing) as some are well under $30usd (without air-con)

Room Tip: Room 18 was the one we used. They all seem OK. Some do not have aircon but you are informed at check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, UT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Like an earlier reviewer, I made an extended stay of almost three weeks at the Hotel Zima. I had lived in San Isidro and the surrounding area more than forty years ago and wanted to get a feel for the bustling city it has become. Especially considering that I did not have a car, the location was perfect for me. It is a block and a half off the Interamerican Highway in a quiet area (which is hard to find in modern San Isidro) yet just a few minutes of walking put me in the center of town.

The rooms are kept very clean, the TV has many channels, including the three main US network affiliates in Miami, the WiFi signal is strong throughout the property, and Santiago and his staff can’t do enough to make your stay enjoyable. I stayed in a room with fan only, but as it got warmer in the afternoon, the pool was a nice place to cool off.

The excellent service and the fact that it has a mostly-business clientele mean that the Zima has a lot of returning or regular guests. I was not there on business, but I hope also to be a returning guest on my next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro de El General
2.9 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#2 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#7 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PZ Country Club Hotel & Spa
PZ Country Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in San Isidro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
10.7 mi away
Natuga EcoLodge-Villas and Natural Reserve
13.9 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Zima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Zima

Property: Best Western Hotel Zima
Address: Perez Zeledon | 200 Meters North And 100 East Of Mcdonalds, San Isidro de El General 11901, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Zima)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Isidro de El General
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Isidro de El General
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Zima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Isidro, the largest city in the southern zone of Costa Rica, also affectionately referred to by locals as Perez Zeledon, located in the province of San Jose. In the Valley of the General, surrounded by Talamanca Mountains, the Cordillera de Talamanca is a Mountain range that lies on the border between Costa Rica and Panama. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Zima is undoubtedly the quietest hotel of the area, with a convenient location nearby to supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, stores and bars, as well a just meters from the Musoc bus station which provides transportation service between San Jose- San Isidro-San Jose. Many tourists utilize San Isidro del General as a stopping point when traveling between San Jose and other southern Costa Rica destinations such as Dominical, Uvita, Golfito, the Peninsula de Osa and Puerto Jimenez. Perez Zeledon is also great town to prepare for treks to Cerro de la Muerte and Cerro Chirripo, which is Costa Rican's highest peak and most challenging climb. In summer it is possible on clear days to see all across the country (from the Pacific Ocean to the Caribbean Sea). It would be a pleasure to coordinate your tours to Nauyaca Water Falls (road to Dominical) as well outdoor activities such as bird watching, horseback riding in Las Quebradas Center Biological. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Zima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Zima Costa Rica/San Isidro De El General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing