We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hosts, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bosque del Tolomuco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bosque del Tolomuco
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect hosts, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

It was bad we only had two nights to stay here but we had to move on to Panama. Anyway, the rooms are a good value, and the meals are wonderful. Our hosts were very helpful pointing out the local sites so that we had no problem filling our days with activities. Interesting birds everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MYu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great stop---Lise and Rolf were wonderful hostesses. Kind and welcoming, helped us find a great restaurant, and any other directions that we needed. Rooms were clean and we woke up to a wonderful breakfast made by them. Only stayed one night but it was a great stop!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavirden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We booked only one night, and wish we could have booked more, but our travel plans could not accommodate it. Lise and Rolf were very warm and engaging. Great food and comfort. Wonderful birds. It was the perfect stop after driving through the mountains from San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton west, ont
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Our experience there was incredible. The owners are extremely nice people and very curtious and tend to your requirements. The air quality is like no other place in the country....Clean cooler air at night. Perfect for sleeping. Best breakfast we have had at any place we have stayed in Costa Rica... HIGHLY RECOMMEND spending a few days at this lovely get away in the sky..

Room Tip: They have hundreds of meters of trails all through the tops of the mountains.. One of the best gyms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carycharbonneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

They have the best view, cabins and the best breakfast i ever had... The owners are such a very nice people.. ohh i have to tell about the temperature , is nice and cool up there, which is nice..!! Diversity of hamming birds and different kind of animals.

Room Tip: Rooms with mountain view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmé C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013. It was our last stop in a two-week trip to Costa Rica. Our goal was to be surrounded with birds and nature -- we were not disappointed. We had 6 species of hummingbirds within an hour of arriving -- and by the time we left we tallied a total of 14 hummingbird species (including some seen outside Tolomuco). We walked the trails of the forest and saw dozens of glasswing butterflies, numerous flowering plants, saw and heard many birds. Lise and Rolf are terrific hosts. Since we like to cook in when we travel, we had a room with a kitchen. And since we did not have a car, they helped us stock it with supplies. We enjoyed coffee on the porch, packed lunches for hikes, and relaxed at dinner in our own place. Heaven!
Bosque del Tolomuco is beautifully designed, extremely well kept, not at all pretentious, just your
basic beautiful. We plant to return!

Room Tip: We didn't see all the rooms, but I can't imagine any of them would be undesirable. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Bosque del tolomuco is a place to discover. Lise and Rolf were gracious hosts, concerned about the well-being of their guests. The layout of the site, gardens, pool, flowers, birds and chalets in this unique setting of cloud forest, make you want to come back regularly.

Lise is very good advisor for traveling around.

The trails are very well maintained and very interresting to walk.

The temperature ... Simply ideal.

Briefly, a incontounable if you're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelB756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro de El General
3.0 mi away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Talari Mountain Lodge
#2 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zima
BEST WESTERN Hotel Zima
#4 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
Hotel de Montana El Pelicano
#1 of 1 in San Gerardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#7 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mirador Valle del General
Mirador Valle del General
#1 of 12 in San Isidro de El General
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Tolomuco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Tolomuco

Property: Bosque del Tolomuco
Address: CA2 | kilometer 118, San Isidro de El General 11901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Isidro de El General
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in San Isidro de El General
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lodge and Bird Sanctuary located in the Talmanca Mountains, near San Isidro El General, Perez Zeledon. NO 4 x 4 REQUIRED TO ACCESS LODGE. Bird watching paradise. Confirmed bird list at 190. 4KM of good, hiking trails on 43 hectares. Elevation 1650 metres. Half of the property is forested. Heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bosque del Tolomuco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Tolomuco Costa Rica/San Isidro De El General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing