We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View-Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great View-Poor Service”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A great place to relax and enjoy the great view lake Atitlan has to offer. Make sure once you settle in your room you have all you need since going back to the reception its a pain in the butt, also the staff is not into giving you a friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    33
    6
    2
    12
See reviews for
13
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel online as they had a reseration form online. Within a day I received an email confirming my reservation for the dates selected. The mail was titled "Thank you for your reservation". After which I sent 3 mails to obtain some finer details, all of which were ignored. Upon arrival, the manager did not come out and greet me. Instead she sent a guest to tell me they did not have a room and that I was supposed to call to reserve a place. This was unbelievable as I had made my way from Antigua on Easter weekend only to be told by a guest that my confirmation meant nothing. The email gave me no indication that the reservation was uncertain. The guest she sent out to talk to me was extremely condescending and the fact that she was too embarrassed to explain to us that they had made a mistake was beyond unprofessional.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Billiams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Dulce Guatemala
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Having stayed here in years past, I was looking forward to the lovely ambience and meals remembered. When we arrived, someone did carry our bags up from the dock but showed no interest other than asking me to sign in and then requesting more money than the very nice Nicolas had indicated on the phone. When I explained this, the staff member said that I would have to take that up with Nicolas. The tables, dining area were not clean or welcoming and I had the feeling that the only interest the staff had was in eating (there were three of them grouped around their meal). I immediately knew I did not want to be here with such uninterested and unwelcoming folks. In fact, I felt afraid and have never felt this before in Guatemala. The owners should be aware. Something needs to be done. This could be such a lovely place and once was.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iingua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Super friendly staff. Waterfall next door to my hammock with a view of the lake. Food was pretty good and the price was much less than I would have ever imagined. It is a bit of a walk from town, and you do have to descend back down to get to the lake, but that was part of what I liked about it! The garden was well kept and the dock with the canoe was a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoAwayWEgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great place! great location! great price! Any hotel of this caliber would be at least $200 in the US but we only spent $18 a night.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have a free kayak you can take out on the lake and their Thai curry is the best I have ever had ( and I have been to Thailand).

This place is a must stay if you want a relaxing and beautiful getaway..

Drawbacks: rooms are fairly basic and some people seem to think the steps were a problem . Just don't stay here if you don't like steps otherwise you will love the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for one night in August while travelling around Guatemala. Our water taxi dropped us off at the hotel pier. There is a bit of a climb up to the hotel but not a big deal for us. The room was basic but for 26 dollars per night what can you really expect! The rooms probably could do with being upgraded but we had no problem with no tv etc. The bathroom was pretty dated but it didn't bother us too much. The view from our room was amazing! What a lovely tropical garden! To walk into San Marcos and it took about 20 minutes. There are lots of tuk tuks around if you don't feel like walking. The food in the hotel was fab. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. The staff were very helfpul and nothing was too much trouble for them. We took the hotel canoe out on the lake which was also great. A great place to spend a night or two.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perdido Key, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed one night in August 2012 (had planned to stay longer). The property is located on the side of a *steep* hill that has irregular steps & walks with no handrails, a good 25 minute walk from the San Marcos pier (we asked the water-taxi to take us to the hotel pier, but he refused).

Upon arrival, they presented us with a menu to order food - were not interested in eating, just wanted to check-in & go to our rooms. Finally we paid for the room (no receipt provided) & they showed us a room with zero-view, had to pay more for a room with a view (the hotel was completely empty).

The hotel room consist of a bed, towel, a bathroom with a cold water shower (hot water did not work, even though they worked on it for over an hour) - no radio, no TV, no frig., no soap, NO INTERNET (they advertise they have internet service). The 2nd room had a very nice view, though the balcony had a very steep drop-off with slippery tile flooring & no guardrails.

Finally, because there wasn't one glass in the room, we requested glasses to drink some wine we had purchased & were told to look at the rules on the back of the hotel-room-door, no food or drink is permitted on the premises and they would have to charge us for glasses to drink the wine. Then they brought out the menus again & requested we order our meals for the FOLLOWING day.

Bed was very hard, got up at daybreak, took a cold shower & left.

Room Tip: Look at the room, inquire and verify services & fees before you pay; be sure to be in good physi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMoore1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.2 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.5 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
6.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Horus
Casa Horus
#5 of 7 in San Marcos La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinava Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinava Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Jinava Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing