We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Kaivalya felt like coming home, warm welcome, lovely rooms and unbelievably beautiful views.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Bliss. I think my favourite part (above and beyond the warm reception, cosy rooms and killer view) was the beautiful heartfelt quotes, pictures and personal memoirs scattered around the place....gorgeous. Also having the yoga and meditation on your door step was brilliant!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Yoga and meditation was fantastic! The classes were so inspiring and made a great impact. The accommodation was fine but we did have noise issues on a daily/ nightly basis with loud tuk tuks and trucks driving past the yoga area frequently, and a really loud family behind the property that got drunk every night until 2am, whilst their screaming kids woke us up every morning at 6.30am.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Inhaber at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Victor,

We are very happy you enjoyed the Yoga and meditation classes we are offering. And we are very sorry you were exposed to so much noise, usually we don't receive this many nuisances from neighbors and road. To make up for your trouble we'd like to offer you a free Yoga class next time you come our way.

Blessings and happy trails,
Arpi & Arjuna, Proprietors of Kaivalya Yoga School & Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I got to experience my first darkroom retreat through the yoga hostel in san marcos lake atalin, and although it was only for three days -it was fantastic.
I was well looked after and all requests were met with smiles and an eagerness to share.
highly recommend this adventure into the dark to find the inner light!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Kaivalya Hostel so much that we doubled the length of our stay. Michael and Maria were warm and gracious hosts. The simplicity of life at the hostel enhanced our experience and helped us relax and recharge. My girlfriend enjoyed the daily yoga sessions, while I benefitted from plenty of time spent in the assorted hammocks.
I don't think you'll find a better value for money place to stay in San Marcos, so come here first and save yourself the hassle. :)

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrXStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Enter the lush garden of Kaivalya Yoga Hostel and let this peaceful space take care of the rest!

Whether you are looking for a chill spot to relax and swing in a hammock or are looking for your own spiritual journey, this is THE place! Drop in on a yoga class/meditation or delve into a month retreat of inner exploration! The Hridaya Yoga offered here is unlike any yoga I have experienced before and a personal favourite. It is a slow and effective practice that cultivates Awareness.Try out the meditations and be lulled into blissful states of consciousness. Uplift your soul and sing along at the evening kirtan offered weekly! Attend a daily lecture by knowledgable and inspirational speakers and have your consciousness expand instantly!

This oasis offers beautiful views of the lake, shared kitchen, drinking water and economic accommodation with balconies! Yoga Hostel and the People here are a blessing to the world unique gem of Lake Atitlan! ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Culler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The location surrounded by nature overlooking the volcanoes, community of bright beings that welcome you in to share the space and classes full of yoga philosophy and meditative classes offered make this much more than any hostel. It is such a blessing to find a location that feels like home when traveling away from many comforts. They provide a clean and spacious vegetarian kitchen, shower and bathroom with many hammocks and comfortable spaces to lounge. I am so thankful to have taken part in the kirtan, some yoga courses and the tantra workshop which were all lead with confidence and clarity by Arjuna and Arpi. This beautiful couple lives in communion with the world, it was an honour to share the space they created! I look forward to visiting next time in Guatemala, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaleamovesmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My first reaction: "OMG, do I need anything more??" The most phenomenal view over the lake and his volcanos, a hammock and a private cozy room with straw maths and a comfy bed just for me :)) The bathroom is shared, without real hot shower but clean and spacious. Beneath there is a shared kitchen where you can cook your meals and use a fridge if needed. Kaivalya has daily meditation (by donation) and yoga classes (Q40,--) 2 times a day and lectures in the afternoons, except from Mo and Tu. I apreceated the introductional speech before every meditation and yoga class. I love this place which beautifully fits within the tranquile San Marcos atmosphere.

Warm wishes <3

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E.W. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
2.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
3.4 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
499 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
136 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School

Address: Calle principal, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala (Formerly Kaivalya Yoga School and Hostel)
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range: £4 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important! Kindly note that as of July 2015 we've moved to the newly built enchanting and peaceful Mahadevi Ashram in Tzununa (3km from San Marcos). We are happy and humbled to welcome dedicated and curious practitioners into this Sacred Space created with Love and Selfless Service in order to provide a truly inspiring and conducive environment for a deep dive into your Heart. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing