We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy tranquilo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Muy tranquilo”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

A sweet little place to stay. Only a few rooms there and friendly people. The location is up on a hill just out of town and also close to a veg stall. The trees need cutting back in order to get the potentially great view. There is a good kitchen, although another water filter is definitely needed to keep up with demand. Good value at 90Q for a private.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Owner at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for the improvement tips!
There is already a second water filter in the kitchen and we are on it with revealing the lake view again (during the rainy season everything is simply growing like crazy :).

Joy and Light,
Arpita and Arjuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pichilemu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked/stayed a week at the Yoga Hostel late June. I like the location up a small hill from the main part of San Marcos. Better views and less tourists. The yoga/meditation classes were great. It´s really affordable and you have a kitchen to use. I didn´t mind but there is no wifi and no meat/alcohol allowed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PichiSpanishSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Inhaber at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Victor,

We are glad you had a nice time at Kaivalya. We're responding to your review simply to let you and other travelers know that Wifi will be soon available again as it was before. At the moment we are struggling with some technical issues. We will mention it on our website as soon as it becomes functional again. In the meantime, the closest Internet cafe is three minutes away on foot.

Cheers and happy trails,
Arpi & Arjuna, Proprietors of Kaivalya Yoga School & Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Bliss. I think my favourite part (above and beyond the warm reception, cosy rooms and killer view) was the beautiful heartfelt quotes, pictures and personal memoirs scattered around the place....gorgeous. Also having the yoga and meditation on your door step was brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Yoga and meditation was fantastic! The classes were so inspiring and made a great impact. The accommodation was fine but we did have noise issues on a daily/ nightly basis with loud tuk tuks and trucks driving past the yoga area frequently, and a really loud family behind the property that got drunk every night until 2am, whilst their screaming kids woke us up every morning at 6.30am.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arpi-and-Arjuna, Inhaber at Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Victor,

We are very happy you enjoyed the Yoga and meditation classes we are offering. And we are very sorry you were exposed to so much noise, usually we don't receive this many nuisances from neighbors and road. To make up for your trouble we'd like to offer you a free Yoga class next time you come our way.

Blessings and happy trails,
Arpi & Arjuna, Proprietors of Kaivalya Yoga School & Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I got to experience my first darkroom retreat through the yoga hostel in san marcos lake atalin, and although it was only for three days -it was fantastic.
I was well looked after and all requests were met with smiles and an eagerness to share.
highly recommend this adventure into the dark to find the inner light!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Kaivalya Hostel so much that we doubled the length of our stay. Michael and Maria were warm and gracious hosts. The simplicity of life at the hostel enhanced our experience and helped us relax and recharge. My girlfriend enjoyed the daily yoga sessions, while I benefitted from plenty of time spent in the assorted hammocks.
I don't think you'll find a better value for money place to stay in San Marcos, so come here first and save yourself the hassle. :)

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrXStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Enter the lush garden of Kaivalya Yoga Hostel and let this peaceful space take care of the rest!

Whether you are looking for a chill spot to relax and swing in a hammock or are looking for your own spiritual journey, this is THE place! Drop in on a yoga class/meditation or delve into a month retreat of inner exploration! The Hridaya Yoga offered here is unlike any yoga I have experienced before and a personal favourite. It is a slow and effective practice that cultivates Awareness.Try out the meditations and be lulled into blissful states of consciousness. Uplift your soul and sing along at the evening kirtan offered weekly! Attend a daily lecture by knowledgable and inspirational speakers and have your consciousness expand instantly!

This oasis offers beautiful views of the lake, shared kitchen, drinking water and economic accommodation with balconies! Yoga Hostel and the People here are a blessing to the world unique gem of Lake Atitlan! ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Culler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.4 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
490 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
655 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostel Fe
Hostel Fe
#1 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School

Property: Mahadevi Ashram and Kaivalya Yoga School
Address: Calle principal, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala (Formerly Kaivalya Yoga School and Hostel)
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Important! Kindly note that as from July 2015 we've moved to the newly build enchanting and peaceful Mahadevi Ashram in Tzununa (3km from San Marcos). We are happy and humbled to welcome dedicated and curious practitioners into this Sacred Space created with Love and Selfless Service in order to provide a truly inspiring and conducive environment for a deep dive into your Heart. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing