We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came for 3 nights, stayed over a month!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel San Marcos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel San Marcos
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Came for 3 nights, stayed over a month!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hostel San Marcos is great! I dont know that the hell the last reviewer was on about. She was a total whiny girl with some serious problems.
At Q50 for a dorm it's really good value as it also includes a proper cooked breakfast with coffee. That must be worth near Q40 as it is! The guy Carlos running the place is great too. Really friendly guy that hangs out with the guests. Great for a chat. He really makes the place what it is.
The hostel has a grass area and nice garden, so it's a really chilled place to hang out. Internet here is much better than hostel La Paz too.
There are so many different alternative courses to do at San Marcos, thus why I stayed so long. I came as a sceptic, then did massage courses, reiki courses, lucid dreaming, self-healing course, cacao ceremonies, holotropic breathing, pranayama breathwork, kambo frog etc. It's really changed my view and I've learned so much. As a changed sceptic, I highly recommend coming to San Marcos for some courses, and I couldn't recommend Hostel San Marcos more.
The hostel 'Del Lago' is more social, but the dorms aren't as good. As a lot of the courses stir up a lot of past emotions, so it's best to avoid staying at Del Lago in my opinion as you'll want more of your own space. Great place to go though in the evenings.

My view, stay at hostel San Marcos, then head to Del Lago for the bar at night; then you have the best of both worlds!!

Room Tip: Best way to get a warm shower is to turn the light on, as this will dim when the hot comes on - this...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Dayve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    24
    22
    9
    15
See reviews for
3
34
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed in Panahachel with my own legitimate bathroom at
a hotel for less. The worst part is this godawful smell that might be a cleaner but who knows and I couldn't sleep because if the smell. I heard great things about San Marcos, but this place makes me think it's a delusional rip off.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krstn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Marcos La Laguna hotels

London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

100 GTQ per night, private double w/shared bathroom, 16th – 18th June 2014

Vibe: A bit of an odd one really. The staff didn't really seem too interested in the guests and the entire place felt quite flat.

Location: From the dock, take your first left and after 2 minutes on the dirt-road, the hostel is clearly marked. San Marcos is a small village and the hostel is in a convenient enough spot.

Best thing: The hostel is well landscaped, with a lovely garden area, and well-designed rooms. The mattress in our room (#6), was the best we've experienced in three months and made for a wonderful nights rest.

Worst thing: The shower/toilet facilities. Most rooms do not include a private bathroom, yet the hostel owners have provided only one shower and one toilet – both in the same small room. Although this was not too problematic during our low-season stay, this would be far from ideal or practical when the hostel is full. The toilet paper basket (which houses all manner of goodies in Guatemala) remained full and over-flowing for our entire two-night stay, causing a less than delightful stench.

Additionally, the 'hot-shower' is only as such when the water pressure is turned down to the point that you are standing under a dribble.

Value for money: Given the limited budget choices on San Marcos, Hostel San Marcos is a decent enough option, especially considering the good-quality free breakfast included in your room price at a local restaurant (Restaurant Fe).

Recommended for: Short-term backpackers on a budget

Top tip: The pancakes are by far the best option in the free breakfast!

Rating: 6

Amenities: Wi-fi, garden, bar, hot showers (term used loosely), free breakfast.

For more of our photography, guides and travel tips, visit www. alongdustyroads .com

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alongdustyroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, basic rooms close to the lake with delicious free breakfast. Staff are very accomodating. I would recommend the Indian Nose Sunrise Hike from here! And you MUST try the pizzas.. they are actually AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleighDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This place was a solid option. The Q100 cost for a double (shared bathroom) included a great breakfast at a nearby cafe. The whole set up is pretty rustic but generally comfortable. The owner said the bar area wasn't noisy at night but it turned out to be quite loud. Fortunately we had rooms further back so it didn't really bother us (suggest you request one of these if you're not a late night partyer). Q25 got glass of wine or spirits.

One downside to this place was the sheer number of black insects the looked like a cross between centipedes and beetles that came out at night and crawled over the walls in our room, including by the beds. They generally left us alone which was good. friends in another room only got a couple (we got at least 15) so maybe it was just our room that had a problem. Appreciate it's the jungle so owners might not be able to much about it, but if you don't like bugs this may not be the place for you. Overall we had a good stay. May be a bit tricky to find as down a narrow alleyway, no road entrance. Locals will show you.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hostel is located about 100 from the dock. It has small cabins with or without private bath. It has a nice and cosy restaurant. Breakfast is included and price is very reasonable. It has a wifi.
The problems that we faced is rain water leak from the ceiling, uncomfortable single plus bad for a couple and lack of hot water and mirror. The staff were friendly and helpful. Generally it had a good experience.

Room Tip: If you are young this is the place for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Of the few accommodation option in San Marcos we chose Hostel San Marcos as it was close to the lake and fit our budget. The rooms were average and walls paper thin. The included breakfast is good enough. The common area is relaxing and inviting to have a drink or two. If you stay there try the home made cookies they sell and you won´t regret it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
3.0 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eco Hotel MayAchik
Eco Hotel MayAchik
#1 of 3 in San Juan la Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
#4 of 7 in San Marcos La Laguna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 9 in San Pedro La Laguna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel San Marcos

Property: Hostel San Marcos
Address: Barrio 3 | Main Street, San Marcos La Laguna 07016, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in San Marcos La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set 20 metres from the beautiful shoreline of Lake Atitlan - Hostel San Marcos offers the traveller a warm welcome and comfortable base to take the delights of this stunning region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing