We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!!”
Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Palopo
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I were on a 2 week trip to Guatemala and Salvador ... I was anxious to show him my favorite places in both countries and Casa Palopó was certainly one of them - even with the extremely elevated cost of the room 350U$ breakfast NOT included I decided we would go for a day and enjoy the wonderful views the hotel has ... without a doubt the best in town! I think that is the only positive review I can give them.
I visited this hotel 10 years ago and I loved it but this visit was a complete disappointment!!! They have not remodelled or changed it one bit.
- Upon arrival the first thing we notice is a horrible smell that came from the flower arrangement in the round foyer table, the flowers were old, brown and rotten, especially the "calas" (they must´ve been there at least 10 days).
- Once we check-in and go to our room, #5, we notice there is NO view at all of the lake so we request to be moved to another room as they had offered us an upgrade on the reservation, they tell us it is fully booked so we decide to hang in there (later at night we notice that there were only 2 other couples staying at the hotel)
- We decide to go to the pool to cool off since it was quite warm but to our surprise they had not cleaned the pool or its surroundings in days so we opt to relax in the outdoor lounge.
- I ask the receptionist if they have any table games, card decks, etc. and he tells me there is a chess board downstairs... really??? a hotel that has no tv or internet does not provide such basics? I complaint and he says that my petition is very "weird".
- So we finally decide to hang out in silence which we truely enjoyed and asked for a cheeseboard and some wine.
- As the sun sets I tell my husband he´s in for a surprise he´s going to LOVE! I remembered the lighting at night was provided by candles and a fireplace - solo romantic. But no, they only light up one chandelier with candles and 3 angels on a wall. There were about 8 chandeliers and 50 candles all around. I ask the man to turn them on to create a nice atmosphere and he says that management has orders of not turning candles on unless the hotel is fully booked. HUH??? At 350U$ a night? So I request once again for him to turn them on and he walks away complaining, tells another worker what I said and they decide to turn 1 more chandelier on. Come on, it takes them 10 minutes to turn them all on and they do not consume electricity!
- Since there is nowhere to go around town, we have dinner at the hotel and ask him again to turn on the chandelier above our table, he did but before we were finished with desert he had blown out the candles of all 3, making us move our chairs to do so. (I must admit the food was good)
- I would also add the 3-4 people working that day at the hotel were constantly making noise, laughing and playing around although very polite this is not what you expect at a hotel that must consider themselves a SLH at the rates they charge.
At 100 U$ a night I probably would´ve accepted all these things but they have to make big changes to charge like a 5 star hotel in Europe.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a wonderful view with no trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TITINA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo, Gerente at Casa Palopo, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios aunque nos parecen un poco injustos.
Mil disculpas por el olor de las flores, eso no es normal, pero las cambiamos 2 veces por semana, martes por la tarde y viernes por la tarde, ustedes llegaron un martes al medio día.
Todas nuestras habitaciones tienen vista al lago, también la habitación 5, y nunca hemos contestado que el hotel estaba lleno pero no había habitación libre al precio que quería pagar. La habitación 5 es una Deluxe como la 4, 6 y 7 y todas estaban ocupadas. Quedaban libre una Master Suite y una Suite.
Limpiamos la piscina todo los días a las 7,00am (Aspirador, escoba, instalación de los cojines y de las servilletas), después pasamos varias veces para quitar las hojas y limpiar si se necesita. Es cierto que como la piscina es rodeada de árboles, con un poco de aire parece sucia. La piscina es climatizada con 30 grados siempre y es muy agradable.
Es una elección de no tener televisión para la paz de nuestros clientes, pero tenemos internet en todas las áreas del hotel, y prestamos un Ipad, tenemos un ajedrez, cartas de juego, baggamon. Tenemos también prensa en ingles, español y francés y organizamos tours, servicio de spa...
Es cierto que nunca encendemos todas las veladoras, porque muchos de nuestros huéspedes quieren ver las estrellas y las luces del otro lado del lago pero encendemos todas las cabezas de ángeles mas porta velas sobre la baranda y una candela sobre cada mesa, cuando vienen a comer encendemos la araña encima de la mesa. Eso es parte del ambiente que queremos dar al hotel.
Gracias por avisar nos de los problemas de ruido con el personal trabajando, lo hemos hablado y trabajamos juntos para mejorar nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    40
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
153
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Guatemala and very likely the best at lake Atitlan. The rooms are large, with terraces overlooking the lake thus stunning views, fantastic! The LÓccitane soaps are a nice surprise. The hotel was long ago a big house and it keeps that charm, with its living room (with a real Botero picture!!!), chimmeny, the terrace. The service is really good and the staff is very friendly, we had a problem with the shower and inmediately were changed to another room. The food is fantastic though the menu is quite short. They have a quite decent gym and a nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very nice and friendly hotel with amazing views over the lake. Being so small it is very peaceful and perfect for couples. It is a little way from Panajachel but we found it a nice escape from the town. Breakfast was very tasty and loved the margaritas!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powercat_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tecpan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were invited to stay at a great hotel near Casa Palopo and decided to go there for dinner. A popular guide book said it was one of the best restaurants on Lake Atitlan, and I definitely would agree. the ambience was amazing, the service top rate and the food was delicious. Even better, it was not outrageously expensive. Considering the decor of the lobby and restaurant, I would probably stay there on the next trip to the area.

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a review of the restaurant only. Our villa recommended we come here for a sunset cocktail at a minimum, dinner if we would like. We opted to do both and we feel so fortunate that we had the opportunity on such a stunning evening. The weather was perfect - crystal clear skies and mild winds. All I needed that night was a shawl over my sleeveless blouse. I will say, if it is overcast at all, save your visit for another night. Not only can it get cold up here at night, but the views are too amazing to miss.

We started off by having cocktails in the front and center lounge chairs, which were very comfortable with huge cushions and fronted the balcony of the restaurant area for a commanding view of the mountains, volcanoes (you can see all 3 here) and incredibly beautiful blue lake. The sunset was simply breathtaking. Both of our martinis (mine a dry vodka and my fiances an appletini) were perfect. For some odd reason, however, even though we were the only ones in the restaurant, the waiter disappeared and we had to get up to find him to order another round.

We had made reservations, so they had a very private and romantic table for two ready for us, again with an amazing view, and a lovely candelabra overhead that they went to great lengths to light for us, but unfortunately, blew out as the wind picked up that night. We had a bottle of excellent wine and a very delicious tuna tartar with an incredible presentation for our starter.

For our main course, I had the very unique shrimp wonton, which was mouth-watering and a huge portion. The only complaint about the evening was my fiance's rack of lamb. They only gave him a measly 3 pieces. I've eaten rack of lamb all over the world, at mid-range to top-end restaurants, and have honestly never seen a portion that small.

Our total bill, including all of the above, plus dessert, two after dinner drinks, and tip was $228 USD. Personally I've paid way more for way less at other restaurants. I felt like I got a good value.

Besides the waiter disappearing on us once and the small lamb portion, the ambiance and overall experience here was one we will remember and cherish forever.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WealthShips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The views from the terrace and restaurant or spectacular. The common areas are beautiful.

I wanted to love this hotel more, but it fell short of its reputation. Although the included breakfast was very good, the dinners were overpriced and over-reaching. Rather than sticking to delicious Guatemalan cuisine, the restaurant prepared continental dishes, always missing the mark. Unfortunately, the hotel is about 5K from Panahajel and the hotel charges $35 for a round trip cab ride for this 10 minute ride. After a long day touring the villages around the lake, we felt trapped at the restaurant. At least the views of the lights twinkling around the lake were spectacular.

Our room 7 had a great view of the lake and volcanos, but there were large stains on the carpet.

The pool was warm and great for a swim after a day touring.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwtraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncamom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This place was beautiful. You are greeted with quirky yet elegant fixtures upon walking into the lobby... The lobby is homey and not stuffy by any means... It is fun just to walk around and look at the decor ( ie: antique sewing machines made into floor lamps etc..) the colors are soothing and happy colors. I am all about the feel of the place and this was homey and relaxing. The many doors all opened up to a beautiful patio with vibrant candelabras and much comfortable seating. That was all dimmed when you see the views from the patio. Breathtaking views of the lake and the surrounding volcanos. not much action on the lake so you could sit and listen to the birds and the roosters ( ha) and the waves.. all that was needed was a drink and a hammock and I would not leave that spot. The staff was very courteous and would arrange to suit any need you may have. The restaurant was very good.. It was a bit pricey compared to things in town ( around 60-80 US dollars for two meals , wine and one dessert) the tables were all set up to look out on the lake. Sunset was beautiful. We took the boat into two of the villages the next morning. well worth the trip. My favorite was San Juan. The people there were peaceful and quiet and there was an organic coffee plant that you could tour and also an old church being renovated. The original wall was still up. My favorite place in this village was a co-op type place where several women would make hand crafted cloth items. They would demonstrate the beating, pulling and spinning by hand of the thread and it is all organically colored by fruits and vegetables. no acid or dye. It takes about 15 hours to make one ball of thread and takes two or more per item made.They made gorgeous things. I bought a shoulder bag dyed with walnut, basil and indigo. Our next island was Santiago. I was not too crazy about this one. It was very crowded and from the moment you got off the boat until you were pulling away someone was trying to " give you a good price" on the goods.. No was not an answer they would take easily and we had one young man follow us three blocks trying to be our tour guide. it made the whole experience irritating. I am all for asking once or twice even but after two no's I do not want to be followed and harassed. The town was very crowded not as laid back as San Juan. We ate lunch there which was very good and then went to the huge church and then left. If you want to go into panajachel to eat take the tuk tuk.. It was about half the price of a taxi and got there about as fast. We ate at a place called Hotel El Sol which was owned by an American man and his Japanese wife. The food was Japanese and very good. The cost of the meal was less than 20 US dollars for two meals , pot of tea and dessert. be sure and visit the park in panajachel. It is a nature reserve and hiking, butterfly reserve and spider money reserve and ziplining. Lots of fun.
The rooms in the hotel are small.. I think we had one of the smallest but the best view. The beds and fairly comfortable with nice thick down comforters. There is no AC in the room so it would at times get fairly warm in there but you can open the doors to the balcony and let the air in. Big roomy showers. Over all great stay and I would love to stay again..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Property: Casa Palopo
Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Palopo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which feature seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork or a more modern outtake in the private villa located above the main building with a private pool, jacuzzi, living room and kitchen. In the main building relax in front of the fireplace in our hotel living room or enjoy a gourmet meal in 6.8 Palopo restaurant, with elegantly set tables in an intimate cluster. On the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing