We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not family friendly”
Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Palopo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked a dinner reservation for 5pm so that we could bring our 6 month old son with us and not interfere with later dinner reservations. We arrived and before we made it to the restaurant we were told no babies by an employee who had been told by a random guest. I understand a hotel with a no kids policy to accommodate honeymooners and couples but as a visitor to a restaurant it better be REALLY fancy to have a no baby policy. We were more annoyed at how it was handled. We were being escorted off the property before we even reached the restaurant. It would have been nice for an apology for the mix up at the time of the reservation or an offer to take food back to our villa. I don't like any place that doesn't like my family.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandamutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    40
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
156
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

One of the bes and expensive hotel around lake atitlan, everything nice! the view, the people, the rooms! been there several time picking up my guest! for touring on lake atitlan by boat visit of the mayan villages, and birding or biking or may kayaking!

Room Tip: every toom are nice, the villas high up hill one of the most lux!, if you want to come to panajachel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaLandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our friends treated us to a night here as a wedding gift whist we were on our honey moon. The hotel is beautiful, set high above the lake. It's very peaceful and our room had a stunning balcony with amazing views and was sheltered form the rains which poured during our stay. The room was lavishing designed with lots of art and huge bed, whilst the bathroom had a sunken bath and a greta shows which opened up onto the balcony against the mountainous scenery. The staff were very friendly and with only 8 rooms don't expect to bump into lots of people here, perfect for a escape from everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBee1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

What makes this hotel really perfect is the incredible view you have of Lake Atitlan and the volcanos. They really knew how to make good use of that since every room,the restaurant and an outdoors living have this view.
The entire hotel is romantic and quiet, perfect for a weekend of relaxation.
The service and the food are good too.
Really a place you must stay if you come to Atitlan!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapoh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I honeymooned at Casa Palopo in July 2013. Casa Palopo was simply amazing! The staff was incredible and the food was top notch. Must have gained 10 pounds that week!! Pleanty of places to eat around the lake, but with the food at Casa Palopo who would want to?! We stayed in room #7 but were able to look in each of the rooms during our stay (they left the doors open when no other guests were using the rooms). Room 7 had breathtaking views of the three volcanoes. While it is smaller than the other rooms, it was still very comfortable and had one of the best views, in our opinion. I also really loved the layout and views in room # 1. There is plenty to do around the area. You do have to pay handsomly for a boat/ guide, kyak rental, or car service around the villages, but we found that if you walk to the bottom of the hill you can easily catch a ride into town for less than $1.00 US per person on the back of a truck. It was really alot of fun and SO beautiful to see the lake from the back of a truck filled with locals heading into town to sell their goods. Highly recomend this mode of transportation around the lake- much less expensive and a very authentic expieriance.
There is tons of amazing local art in each of the rooms and you can really tell that there is amazing attention to detail in every room. We loved poking around each of the rooms to see what they looked like! Be sure not to miss seeing the library- it is so charming and full of color. The hotel was just so whimsical and romantic. Each evening, the bartenders brought me a cocktail while we listened to Enya in front of the fire. It was magical!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and 7 were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I were on a 2 week trip to Guatemala and Salvador ... I was anxious to show him my favorite places in both countries and Casa Palopó was certainly one of them - even with the extremely elevated cost of the room 350U$ breakfast NOT included I decided we would go for a day and enjoy the wonderful views the hotel has ... without a doubt the best in town! I think that is the only positive review I can give them.
I visited this hotel 10 years ago and I loved it but this visit was a complete disappointment!!! They have not remodelled or changed it one bit.
- Upon arrival the first thing we notice is a horrible smell that came from the flower arrangement in the round foyer table, the flowers were old, brown and rotten, especially the "calas" (they must´ve been there at least 10 days).
- Once we check-in and go to our room, #5, we notice there is NO view at all of the lake so we request to be moved to another room as they had offered us an upgrade on the reservation, they tell us it is fully booked so we decide to hang in there (later at night we notice that there were only 2 other couples staying at the hotel)
- We decide to go to the pool to cool off since it was quite warm but to our surprise they had not cleaned the pool or its surroundings in days so we opt to relax in the outdoor lounge.
- I ask the receptionist if they have any table games, card decks, etc. and he tells me there is a chess board downstairs... really??? a hotel that has no tv or internet does not provide such basics? I complaint and he says that my petition is very "weird".
- So we finally decide to hang out in silence which we truely enjoyed and asked for a cheeseboard and some wine.
- As the sun sets I tell my husband he´s in for a surprise he´s going to LOVE! I remembered the lighting at night was provided by candles and a fireplace - solo romantic. But no, they only light up one chandelier with candles and 3 angels on a wall. There were about 8 chandeliers and 50 candles all around. I ask the man to turn them on to create a nice atmosphere and he says that management has orders of not turning candles on unless the hotel is fully booked. HUH??? At 350U$ a night? So I request once again for him to turn them on and he walks away complaining, tells another worker what I said and they decide to turn 1 more chandelier on. Come on, it takes them 10 minutes to turn them all on and they do not consume electricity!
- Since there is nowhere to go around town, we have dinner at the hotel and ask him again to turn on the chandelier above our table, he did but before we were finished with desert he had blown out the candles of all 3, making us move our chairs to do so. (I must admit the food was good)
- I would also add the 3-4 people working that day at the hotel were constantly making noise, laughing and playing around although very polite this is not what you expect at a hotel that must consider themselves a SLH at the rates they charge.
At 100 U$ a night I probably would´ve accepted all these things but they have to make big changes to charge like a 5 star hotel in Europe.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a wonderful view with no trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TITINA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaPalopo, Gerente at Casa Palopo, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios aunque nos parecen un poco injustos.
Mil disculpas por el olor de las flores, eso no es normal, pero las cambiamos 2 veces por semana, martes por la tarde y viernes por la tarde, ustedes llegaron un martes al medio día.
Todas nuestras habitaciones tienen vista al lago, también la habitación 5, y nunca hemos contestado que el hotel estaba lleno pero no había habitación libre al precio que quería pagar. La habitación 5 es una Deluxe como la 4, 6 y 7 y todas estaban ocupadas. Quedaban libre una Master Suite y una Suite.
Limpiamos la piscina todo los días a las 7,00am (Aspirador, escoba, instalación de los cojines y de las servilletas), después pasamos varias veces para quitar las hojas y limpiar si se necesita. Es cierto que como la piscina es rodeada de árboles, con un poco de aire parece sucia. La piscina es climatizada con 30 grados siempre y es muy agradable.
Es una elección de no tener televisión para la paz de nuestros clientes, pero tenemos internet en todas las áreas del hotel, y prestamos un Ipad, tenemos un ajedrez, cartas de juego, baggamon. Tenemos también prensa en ingles, español y francés y organizamos tours, servicio de spa...
Es cierto que nunca encendemos todas las veladoras, porque muchos de nuestros huéspedes quieren ver las estrellas y las luces del otro lado del lago pero encendemos todas las cabezas de ángeles mas porta velas sobre la baranda y una candela sobre cada mesa, cuando vienen a comer encendemos la araña encima de la mesa. Eso es parte del ambiente que queremos dar al hotel.
Gracias por avisar nos de los problemas de ruido con el personal trabajando, lo hemos hablado y trabajamos juntos para mejorar nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Guatemala and very likely the best at lake Atitlan. The rooms are large, with terraces overlooking the lake thus stunning views, fantastic! The LÓccitane soaps are a nice surprise. The hotel was long ago a big house and it keeps that charm, with its living room (with a real Botero picture!!!), chimmeny, the terrace. The service is really good and the staff is very friendly, we had a problem with the shower and inmediately were changed to another room. The food is fantastic though the menu is quite short. They have a quite decent gym and a nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
490 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
773 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
48 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Property: Casa Palopo
Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Palopo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which feature seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork or a more modern outtake in the private villa located above the main building with a private pool, jacuzzi, living room and kitchen. In the main building relax in front of the fireplace in our hotel living room or enjoy a gourmet meal in 6.8 Palopo restaurant, with elegantly set tables in an intimate cluster. On the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing