We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Palopo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Palopo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Casa Palopo on our honeymoon and were absolutely delighted with this beautiful hotel. The views are truly breath-taking; the rooms luxurious; the food delicious; the staff excellent and the standard of service is second to none. We stayed in several other lovely hotels after Palopo but none came close to this. We couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dervla32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    40
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
45
150
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights including New Year's Eve at this stunning boutique hotel. The view from the rooms and the exquisite terrace where the restaurant 6.8 Palopo is situated is definitely as they say 'one to die for'. I totally disagree with the writer who commented that there is no view from Room 5, as this was my home for the duration and I found that it was difficult to come away from my substantial private terrace area, so fantastic was the view of the lake and the volcanoes, particularly at sunset time. The room is not over large but it is perfectly adequate with loads of cupboard and drawer space and a well sized bathroom. Service is impeccable and the French owners make sure that all your requirements are met. Very good restaurant with good choice of local and international food. There is also an attractive outdoor pool. Definitely one of my favourite hotels anywhere, but certainly in Central America. Private landing stage for the lancha boats (many steps to negotiate - approx. 160) and beware that there is a very steep driveway from the road to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa bay, fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Absolute Perfection. Traveled from the US in November for my husband's 40th birthday. Staff was warm and welcoming yet not obtrusive. Room was gorgeous: Linens soft and fresh, Lovely furniture and my favorite feature: the best view from a shower in the world from the Master Suite. Large private patio with couch and loungers overlooking the breathtaking lake and volcanos and roses in bloom. This hotel was an experience like we had never had, and one we will always remember. I cannot recall one thing that was not up to par: Excellent all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gotbetterweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family trip ended in Lake Atitlan and Casa Palopo was a grand finale. This hotel is magnificent. My husband and I had the family suite with our own deck that looked out onto the lake. Our boys had a spacious double room with a small deck. You aren't sure if you are in the South of France or Guatemala. The staff was attentive and knew who you were and what you liked in record time. Food was fabulous and because the hotel is so small, you are not overrun with other tourists. All four of us can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boymomOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Planned to spend 3 days in Lake Atitlan so we went to Trip Advisor and selected the Casa Palopo based on the reviews. We were initially booked into Room 5 but asked for a change when we read one review that said that there was no view from that room. They gladly changed us and we were in Room 2 which was spectacular as were ALL of the rooms in the hotel. We had to look at Room 5 which had a great view of the lake and volcano from the room which had an expansive balcony. The person who wrote the negative review did a disservice to the hotel. Everything about the hotel was wonderful including: location, service, food, etc. We stayed at the hotel for dinner every evening and had excellent meals. Prices for food and wine at the hotel were somewhat higher than in comparable restaurants in Antigua but well worth it based on the ambience. Sunsets were great as were the massages in our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No1HoyaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The casa Palopo has only a few rooms and each has a superb view on the Lake Atitlan and its three volcanoes. The French managers have instilled style and sophistication into the enterprise and the restaurant with great views, lots of candle candelabras serves a menu of sophisticated, tasty food.\
The swimming pool is small but its shape allows exercise to do lengths.
At night a welcome open fire warms up the evenings which can be chilly as altitude is 1500m.

Room Tip: As far as I could figure out all rooms have a view, some may be a bit larger. Room 5 has a particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Our plan was to do nothing but sit and stare at the view and I think this must be the best place we could have found to do it.
The hotel is really lovely. The rooms are great, comfy beds with white sheets and duvets. Lots of colour and character. Amazing lake views from our rooms.
Also thought the food was great and not too overpriced. The terrace outside is really sweet, with lovely candles at night. The lounge also has comfy chairs and an open fire to sit in front of if the wind gets up at night.
Most people here seem to be older couples here for one or two nights doing standard lake tours. But this was also a lovely place to relax for a couple of days if you're not on the tour circuit.
Staff were lovely and all very helpful. The manager did perhaps ignore us slightly in favour of the older clientele but we didn't mind.
The view of the lake is probably the best there is for afternoon sun and amazing sun sets. Also right in front of the elephant inside boa-constrictor from le petit prince! Bit of a shame that the view from the pool is obscured. Don't miss the garden and path down to the lake which we only discovered on our last day.
Overall a really special place to stay. Loved it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank i-escaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catarina Palopo
3.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
4.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tzam Poc Resort
Tzam Poc Resort
#3 of 4 in Santa Catarina Palopo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palopo

Property: Casa Palopo
Address: Carretera a San Antonio Palopo, km 6.8, Santa Catarina Palopo 07011, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Catarina Palopo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Catarina Palopo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Palopo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Palopó. Perched above spectacular Lake Atitlan with a view of three volcanoes and located in the Guatemalan Highlands, Casa Palopó offers two distinct brands of romantic relaxation for the sophisticated traveler. Choose from the charming and colorful accommodations in the main building, which feature seven spacious rooms decorated with contemporary and indigenous artwork or a more modern outtake in the private villa located above the main building with a private pool, jacuzzi, living room and kitchen. In the main building relax in front of the fireplace in our hotel living room or enjoy a gourmet meal in 6.8 Palopo restaurant, with elegantly set tables in an intimate cluster. On the glassed terrace, additional tables spread along the wide veranda, 6.8 Palopó is the place to catch an uninterrupted view of spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Palopo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palopo Hotel Santa Catarina Palopo
Casa Palopo Santa Catarina
Casa Palopo Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing