We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
88
70
29
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
70
29
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smaller pool lovely hotel rooms are clean village balcony panajachel views lake shore flowers dogs
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The hotel is very close to the lake and the facilities are very good. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the smaller pool and we could see plenty bird life from it, including humming birds. The gardens are nicely set out but not large.The wifi only really worked from the reception area.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DavidMay1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The Spanish-Colonial style Villa Santa Catarina is on the shores of volcano-ringed Lake Atitlán. In the beautiful gardens are a large swimming pool and a smaller pool served from a hot spring. Each room has a balcony overlooking the garden but our room at the end of the block also had a full size window overlooking the lake and volcanos. It’s a very relaxing place.

The room was basic but comfortable, with no drinking water. The food and service was good but not exceptional. Breakfast was basic. They put a pot of coals in the outside area of the restaurant in the evenings as it was rather chilly. Wifi is only available in the small reception or open air table area outside the restaurant.

There are many dogs in the village and hills that bark all night but I don't suppose there is much the hotel can do about that.

Room tip: Room 51 has views over the garden and lake
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NovaTravels-net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

Very pleasant situation in front of the lake. Beautiful decoration of rooms. Wonderful garden with many trees and flowers. Very charming reception. It is a more quiet place to stay than Panajachel, but very close to the piers. The restaurant is good. Perhaps the service could be quicker. WIFI connexion could also be improved.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cathatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

I️ stayed here with 4 girlfriends in early November. I thought the hotel was a relaxing spot to enjoy everything the area has to offer. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the views of the lake and the volcanos are amazing, the staff is friendly, the food is delicious, the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. It’s not high-end by any means but it has charm! It was also great value. We paid for the hotel through a local voucher program, where various hotels that fall under a chain offer a packet of stays (for example, 10 stays) for a discounted price per night. Information isn’t available online - we found out about it through some locals and emailed management to inquire. This made the stay much better value than had we booked through a third party.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank bigmountainfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is amazing, loved the beds and ambiance. The pools are great and the gardens are incredibly well kept and clean. We were able to stay in one of the suites and the view is increíble! We brought our 1 year old baby and we were able to have an amazing time. Food and bar could be better. Service was super helpful!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Yass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews