We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel Arka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arka
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Reviewed 20 June 2008

although i never tend to pay much attention to hotel reviews ( hadn't read the most recent one before i went) i was slightly worried that i had choosen the wrong hotel to spend a week at. however, do not pay attention to any of the reviews during or pre 2006 as i think the hotel has either had a substantiial face lift or the people had nothing better to do than complain or hadn't been to a ski resort before and didn't know what to expect froma ski hotel. Obviuosly the boot room is going to whiff slightly, when you have been out on the slopes skiing all day there is a likelyhood that your feet may be a little hot and smelly, but as it's in the basement it really doesn't matter. However, i confess i didn't try the hot tub, was out skiing too long to have time.

the room were small, but perfectly formed with lovely views from the balcony, and had everything you would need for the trip. as someone else mentioned you are here to ski not sit in a room. the bathrooms and linen were clean at all times and changed daily.

The food, which has been described as terrible i cannot fault. Normally the last thing i do on holiday is go half board as i like to eat at the local restaurants, but we thought we'd book and then go out if it was bad, as the price was good. However, we actually only ate out one night, and that was the worst meal we had,
The hotel food was always hot, and there was plenty of choice. If you didn't want the buffet there was always the chef's choice, which wa always tempting, sea bass, salmon, steak, lamb, but to name a few. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice hot and cold. i don't see how anyone can complain about toast and jam if nothing else was acceptable to them.

The location is literally about 3 mins walk from the slopes if you cut in by olimpiades bar, which by the way has a fantastic happy hour from 5-7. (4 euros for 2 pints.) anyone on a skiing holiday should be abe to manage that, and not to complain about it.

All in all i cannot fault this hotel, and we have actually booked for 2009 we were that impressed. although, i am going to email them to give me a room with a balcony..........................................

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirsty11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2008

i stayed in the hotel for a week in march. Originly had booked the magi pas but was told it was over booked and they had moved us. apart from being at the top of a very steep hill and draggin our cases up it was in a very good position. just a short walk and you could take a short cut to the slopes so ideal really.the rooms were very clean and maids came in and cleaned and tidied the room every day. had a small balcony with a great view.food was great a few things we were a bit confused as to what it was but overall impressed with the food.i used the jacuzzi which was very clean and great to relax. the only downfall was i had my ipod stolen from my room and one of the other guys had money go missing. there was a safety deposit box so my advise would be to actually use it or take any valuables with you. there were a few russians(i think) but they were just loud but not really a problem.overall a fab value for money which i would def recommend and was glad i wasn t at the magic pasas it was close to some rowdy pubs.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank gen_webster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Having just returned i have a slightly different view, the hotel was clean and breakfast was(by buffet standards) not to bad and lots of it. Didnt eat dinner there so not to sure but other guests said it was more than ok.
The room was small and basic but comfortable, i tend not to spend that much time in my room as i am on holiday!!! Sauna and jacuzzi both good, it seemed a bit silly to have to book them as they were not often being used, would have been better to have them all on same level and near each other. 5 euros 0r 7.50per couple a small price to pay to ease aches and pains.
Finally location, yes it is uphill from the slopes but not very far from , if you cut through bars and restaurants 3-4 min walk max. After all you are on a physical exercise holiday so another few minutes shouldnt kill you.
I have previously stayed in pas and some of the hotels have been nicer but worth the extra money?? probably not. look at it as a decent 3* and you wont be to dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boarder69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2006

its just not a four star hotel even by andorra standards. There are four or five better hotels that are four stars and just as cheap. Try the magic hotel.
This hotel is at the top of the resort and a trek to the middle although there is a short cut to the slopes. Reception is ok, but although many rooms face the slope and have a good view ours was rubbish and the room was small and pokie. Bath rooms was smart and tidy and the linen was done every day.
The jaccuzzi was terrible and you have to pay extra. it was smelly and all the floors were awash with water, it was noisy and hair floating all over it. I didn't get in and got my money back. Also have to pay for lockers and and safe. Use the lockers on the slope.
Food was hit and miss. some days it was excellent and others it was ok and cold. Staff are nice though.
As i say I would stay else where and you will make your money back by using their free facilities. Good resort tough and caters for all needs. Maybe get your lessons i soldeu though as they are english and have better runs. Just a short bus trip if you can't shi over though.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxsaf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
14
Reviewed 8 January 2006

After a long trek in the middle of the night we arrived at the hotel tired and weary which was not helped by an unfriendly greeting at reception. After what seemed an age and a lot of confusion we eventually got checked in to the hotel. Our room was suprisingly small for a 4* but the bathroom was clean and a good size. As previously experienced by others our bed clothes were stained and we also had a kettle with no cups. The breakfast was good but the buffet/ dinner was uninspiring and cold which was disappointing as were staying half board. There was no lobby or anywhere to relax and it cost an extra €5.00 to use the sauna. Overall, I found the reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful. I would definitly not return there and would advise others to avoid it also.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2006

We stayed at the Reial Pirineus last year and although it was ok it was not the standard we expected. I do work in the travel industry and am aware that * ratings differ in some countries but there were certain elements that were pretty bad.

The hotel on the whole is clean and tidy - as said before it is built into the side of a mountain so there are no windows in any corridors which means it can be very dark. The restaurant has large balconies which during the summer months would be lovely with brilliant views. We went and found the Sauna/Steam area but I have to say we didn't use it as it was so dirty at the time - this may have been because it was near the ski storage with people carrying wet equipment through. There was a fee to use the ski storage but I would recommend that you use the ones on the slopes as there is a very steep hill between the slopes and the hotel ( very difficult walking in ski boots and carrying skis + poles). The slope storage is heated so boots are dry and warm every day.

We had paid for a room with balcony on check-in we were given a standard room (very dark) I would recommend paying for the balcony if you decide to stay here. They reception staff, very helpful, found a room with a balcony but we were told they try not to use it because of the views!! We understood why when we opened the curtains we were staring at the back of the building in front of us - we could just see the top of the mountains in the distance but it gave a lot more natural light in the room than the original room we had been given which had just a small window. Bedding was stained, the balcony door wouldn't lock - we had to fix it ourselves as there was no one on site who could do it.

The food at this hotel was awful - the breakfast was ok as long as you liked slimey eggs - nothing else hot otherwise, the continental style breakfast they served would have been lovely in summer but for a day on the slopes we were hoping for something hot for breakfast !! The restaurant opened at 7pm for dinner by 7.15 the food was cold (all buffet style) very limited choice - complained to restaurant manager but no change. A main meal could be cooked to order but took over 45 minutes to be served.

The hotel was full when we stayed as it was the peak season for skiing. I would not return to this hotel during the ski season as I do not feel it provided us with the standard we had paid for. I know of other hotels in the town which provided a much better service all round as family were staying in resort at the same time as us.

Stayed: January 2005
1  Thank saree2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Valencia, Spain
14
Reviewed 27 May 2005

The wonderful thing about Trip Advisor is the right of free speech and the ability to write things as you find them.
I read the previous two reviews and thankfully was not put off visiting the hotel. I showed the reviews to the hotel manager on the reception computer and he was mortified. I promised to write to Trip Advisor to "set the record straight".
Yes. The hotel is dark. It has grey slate floors, grey walls and mahogany veneer paneling. I did not find this oppressive. It did show some battle scars of a hard ski season.
Yes. The reception area is small but is that a criticism? Its a small hotel!
The 5th floor reference is slightly misleading. The hotel is built into a hillside and thus the minus 5th floor isnt some subterranean dungeon but is at more or less street level from the front of the hotel (you enter at the back of the hotel at level 0 with just one floor above (+1). I found no odorous pong. Perhaps this came not from sewage but from sweaty ski gear?
I used both the jacuzzi and sauna and both were fine.
The room. We had a double bedroom (very small), bathroom and sitting room (with my older son´s bed in it), separate loo and two balconies (note: stunning views from the balconies. see photo).
There was a kettle and no cups. We bought a couple of cheap mugs within a 100 metres of the hotel and brewed up when we wanted.
At breakfast a high chair for our toddler was brought to our table without asking. The food was plentiful but not exceptional.
The hotel is only a short (but steep!) walk from the town. and was very quiet.
The staff were excellent: friendly, informative, multilingual and helpful.
One could argue about star ratings in Andorra, Spain and Europe until the cows come home. I can only express my total satisfaction with Hotel Reial Pirineus. A small, friendly hotel that provided us with a wonderful break on our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#12 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#17 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#4 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arka

Address: Calle de la Solana 64-66, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra (Formerly Hotel Reial Pirineus)
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: £91 - £1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arka 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribou Hotel is the ideal hotel for those seeking an authentic ski destination in the high mountains, but with the atmosphere of a cosmopolitan and international destination – this is Pas de la Casa, with shops of all types, department stores, bars and restaurants, nightclubs, entertainment centres and of course, access to one of the best ski resorts in Europe: Grandvalira. The Caribou Hotel, with only 38 rooms, engenders tranquility and relaxation. Guests can enjoy the benefits of its location near the slopes and of Pas de la Casa, but, when rest is required, enjoy all this welcoming little hotel has to offer. Between the installations will be able to find a restaurant, a room of TV and a meeting room. The location of the hotel is ideal because you can practise sports of snow (to as only 200 metres of the tracks of ski of Grandvalira), hiking for his peaks and his lakes, active tourism, routes gastronomiques, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ahotels Reial Pirineus Hotel Pas De La Casa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing