We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandy IV

Sandy IV
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pas de la Casa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy IV
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
wales
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

ok so after reading some reviews i was pretty much dreading my stay and almost attempted switching hotels, but i went and i was very pleasantly surprised, staff were very helpful, both in the hotel and the ski shop in the hotel, most of us took our own equipment but my friend rented. she swapped her boot 3 times and they couldnt do enough for you. the guy in the ski shop even hooked her up with discount lessons off his mate... ok so we were the party crowd that came home drunk at 5 am most nights.. and the receptionist was good as gold and was always up for a laugh. rooms were very clean. when we arrived t was around 2 am and the girl in the bar stayed open a bit longer for us. only thing i will say is its a very echoey hotel as its all tiles etc. expect to hear ski boots on the tiles in the mornings, and even though we were the rowdy party crowd, the one night, and one night only mind you hehe, we stayed in and had no problems with loud party apartments etc. towels were changed mid week and the one day we did have a bit of a problem with the lock on our door. it would lock but it was loose and they sent someone up immediately. all in all i was very pleasantly surprised by what i found. and would recommend to groups of friends not so much the older crowd but our group was aged 17- 28 and its cheap, and clean. great when your on a students budget and i would stay there again. infact im booked for next february. SEE YOU THERE GUYS =)

  • Liked — cheap and cheerful, helpful, close to slopes!
  • Disliked — the 150 euro deposit! ( returned ofcourse)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ashfw789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    10
    5
    5
    12
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

We got a pretty sweet deal on our holiday which included lift pass, flights and accommodation so were not really expecting that much, but was pleasantly surprised.

Starting with the negative, our main gripe was the cleanliness of the room, we were told it would be cleaned which ours wasn't for the duration of the stay, which meant it was pretty grubby by the end of the holiday, only other issue was having to pay a deposit especially as we were not told we could pay in sterling so had to pay 150 euros which we didn't get back until we checked out at 3.30 in the morning, so now have to change back. We weren't told you could pay in sterling, wish we had known, as it would have been a lot easier.

Having been to Andorra before, I knew about the drop off in the middle of town, and at least they took our luggage up this time, last time I had to carry it which was not so much fun. The transfer isn't very nice but there is nothing you can really do about that, thankfully ours were at night so we just slept most of the way.

On the plus side, having read some of the reports on here, I was a bit concerned about staying at the Sandi IV, but it was fine, it wasn't particularly glamorous, and our room was quite noisy, but it certainly had everything we needed, it did help that we didn't pay very much for our holiday, there was only 2 of us in our room and the snow was good.

I think they must have redecorated since some of the reports were written as the bathroom was actually quite nice, we had a kettle, toaster and microwave in the room, only thing missing was a corkscrew. I think technically our room would sleep 4 and that probably would have been a bit of a squeeze, but with 2 of us it was plenty big enough, and although we had our own snowboards, the chap in the ski shop was very helpful, and mended our boards for free. The lady on reception was brilliant, the guys were okay, not overly friendly, but helped us as and when needed.

Overall I have stayed in a lot worse budget accommodation, the staff were mainly friendly and helpful, and the room and location were fine. If you are a couple or a family looking for accommodation, I would probably consider going elsewhere, but if you are a group of friends who want somewhere cheap to stay you could do a lot worse.

  • Liked — value for money and convenience for the slopes
  • Disliked — dirty room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank eviltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2008

The staff were generally very good with the exception of one manager with glasses, the main problems are is the location is on the highest road furtherst away from the resort bars & restraunts no good for children.
The biggest problems were the extremely noisy neigburs (young Spanish lads) most nights despite being told they continued to carry on.
Also there is a very sketchty unreliable small bus service for transport & practically no taxis in the resort.
I also thought the cost of the lift passes, lessons & generally food + drink were expensive in Pas.
Beware of the Reps telling you it about to snow in the next few days beacause basically like last year there is much snow about.
The bottom line is I would rather go some where more up market next time

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPollo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pas de la Casa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

This Hotel is an absolute disgrace.

You have to leave theTour operator bus in the middle of the town, after an ardous night flight & Monster Bus Ride, walk up a massive hill covered in Ice in the middle of a blizzard.
By the time you reach the hotel you find your suitcase thrown in a puddle in the middle of the street!

Greeted by a miserable & inept Tour rep who's only conceren is to sting you for a lift Pass & Skiing equiptment, then by Grumpy hotel receptionist who takes your passports then stings you for £100 before he gives you your keys! ( the chap who looked like Harry from Dumb & Dumber was more usefull )

The rooms are the quite frankly the dirtiest I have ever paid money to reside in. 4 of us were given a "cell" with 2 Prison Style bunk beds in a tiny area, with dirtly blankets & pillows a filthy kitchen, with broken cupboards, filthy impliments & Dust / Crumbs everywhere, and a dirty, mouldy bathroom to complete the set. The guy who inspected our room on departure ( before he gave us our £100 back even had the nerve to say it wasn't the cleanest when we left despite the fact we left it cleaner than it was when we arrived)

Didnt bother to eat or drink in the hotel given the state of the rooms we didnt even risk the hygeine of the kitchen / bar. there are Plenty of decent eateries & Bars in the main town. Skiing conditions were excellent, very few lift ques / breakdowns and the location of the sandy is the only thing going for it

If you are mindful of the fact the Hotel is going to be a dump, and don't mind slumming it for a week then stay here - otherewise don't even contemplate booking here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shr0pshirelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2007

I have just returned from a week in Andorra staying at the Sandi IV apartments. I cant really fault them in any way whatsoever. We were a group of eight lads in one duplex apartment. It was a bit of a squeeze but very good fun. The room was clean and everything was there. The reception staff were always helpful and we used the on-site ski storage area with no problems. The Man in the Sport shop come hire shop was also very friendly and helpful and sorted us out with what we needed very quickly. The bar area was also very good with nice smiley people working behind the bar from morning to night. The Full English breakfast being served provided us with all the energy we needed for a full days skiing. The other food on the menu was also very good and well priced. The slopes are a 150 yards away down the hill and are no problem to walk to even with ski boots on your feet. For the night life the place is well situated with the main bars just down the hill and being drunk means you don't really notice the hill on the way back. I had my reservations about this apartment after reading a few of the reviews on here but it was excellent, especially for the price we paid for the holiday. I didn't hear anybody else complain about anything either so I can recommend a stay here no problem.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Big-G77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2007

well just came back from the sandy apparments , was with a group of 9 lad's , well as soon as we got there they only had us down for one room , after a couple of minutes they soon sorted it to there credit . they wanted 150 euros straight away but after leaving our passport's we delayed paying for a few day's .

The rooms were preety shocking as they were meant for 6 people we had 5 in there and there was one tiny wardrobe for 6 people so basically we had to live out of a case , the bed's are bunk bed's which are not the best with hardly any room to move .

the lounge was basic with hardly any room what so ever .

bathroom was preety awful.

towels only got changed once in a week which is not the nicest.

ski / snow board room , had no padlocks left so we had to put ski's etc in the appartment not good when you could hardly swing a cat anyway.

reception people and bar people were quite nice people and can understand english and speak english well which is all good if any problems.

we did manage to see the room next door to us on the last day and they did look quiet nice with separate bedrooms and modern bathroom, if only we had that room !!!!

overall really nice resort with some nice pubs to enjoy a few beers after the skiing. for the hotel dont expect to much special probally best to try and pay a bit extra and get a higher star hotel !!!!

  • Liked — The view and people we went with
  • Disliked — th
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank earnie_boy_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2007

Bad Points - Well theres only one - the fact they sting you with a 150 euro (£100) deposit on the room when you check in, which you do get back when you check out if theres no breakages in the room

Good Points - Well after reading many reviews on here i must say i was slightly dubious but once there i soon realised it was one of the friendliest hotels i have ever stayed in.

I would say it was more suited to singles and groups rather than families although there were a few families there who seemed to enjoy their stay!

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable with kitchenette, living area and seperate bedroom and a balcony overlooking the main town of pas
There is a ski hire shop within the hotel and lockers for your skis/boards.
The apartments are in an ideal location being close to the slopes and nightlife, with billboard and milwauke being most popular!

The bar area was communal with nice food and friendly bar staff . I would definitely stay here again!!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Bodzcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Himalaia Pas
Hotel Himalaia Pas
#10 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guineu
Hotel Guineu
#12 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#5 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arka
Hotel Arka
#15 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Camel.lot
Hotel Camel.lot
#21 of 33 in Pas de la Casa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy IV

Property: Sandy IV
Address: Calle La Solana, Pas de la Casa, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Also Known As:
Sandy Iv Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing