We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic service”
Review of Hotel Kandahar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kandahar
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The location could not be better, and the service was excellent. The rooms although clean could really use to be updated. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the hotel and thought the food was actually good. Kids had a great time and overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kandahar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

I've just got back from a one week vacation in Andorra while sleeping in Kandahar Hotel.
The hotel is located in a great spot but the following things really irritated me:
Wifi coverage:
Wifi In the hotel was really bad, in my room which was located on the 4th floor, only in the toilet and bathroom I got wifi working, in the bar it never worked for me even after complaining to the reception they kept telling me that it must be a problem with my iphone 5s.
My parents were located on the same floor as mine but 3 rooms closer to the elevator, in their room I had 3 lines of wifi reception (meaning that it worked there like a charm).
Food:
I paid for half-pension (meaning breakfast and dinner), The food was bad for the whole period I stayed there.
The meat was always served over-cooked, I learned that i need to order a rare steak in order to get a medium level one.
There were no vegetables served during breakfasts or dinners.
The food looked great but was just not tasty.
Service:
The service in the hotel's restaurant was great, the waiters were very friendly and professional.
The service in the hotel's bar was very bad, there was a lack of barmen at all times, and the one that worked there usually took all the time in the world while making the drinks, for example, I had to wait 12 minutes for the barman to finish his current order and take mine, then another 7 minutes to serve me one coke can and one Jin & Tonik, more than that for coctails the hotel offered, the barman had to look for the ingredients for each order.
The rooms:
The rooms were equipped with a TV (which wasn't working in my room) , twin beds with the worst mattress I've ever lied on, it was not far from the feeling of lying on the floor.
The room was always feeling warm and cozy.
The bathroom was very nice and warm all the time as well.
The cleaning staff forgot to change the towels twice during that week.

Conclusion:
The price I've paid for the hotel was too high for the value i got.
With these problems the hotel should have gotten 3 stars and not 4.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are located closer to the elevator for better wifi coverage. Rooms on the side...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itai g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

An excellent place to stay. The hotel is very close to the chair lifts and facilities are just what you want for a ski holiday. Our room (3 people) was spacious with plenty of cupboard space. It was initially hot and stuffy but this was easily solved by turning the radiators off and having the balcony door open for an hour or so each day. The large guest lounge was a great place to relax during the day or evening. We felt food was very good. Children were well catered for, as was a vegetarian in the group. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmainbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It may not be a 4 star hotel (as per previous comments) if you are comparing with a major city rating, however the rooms are clean, warm, and have all you need for a skiing holiday. Excellent location right next to the ski lifts. Staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Spa was a little disappointing, not the luxury we were looking for and no treatment rooms. But then its not included in the price so don't go. We took B&B, breakfasts are good, and you have a choice of restaurants close by. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a slope view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

You do not get what you pay for. It is not a 4 star hotel, it is an expensive 3 star hotel with no kind of luxury. Even the spa is paid. the hotel is old and feels like we are moving back in time. Poor rooms, poor bathrooms, food good but not great.
Bad quality price ratio.

There are better options in Pas de La casa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moppine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hi,

A group of us stayed here for a long weekend to enjoy the snow.

The hotel is perfectly located for the slopes with a good locker room to leave all your ski attire.
The rooms were nicely sized and were very warm but they were quite basic for a 4*. It would have been nice to have robes etc but seeing as it was a skiing trip, it was ok.
We only had breakfast in the hotel and that was nice with a good selection from the buffet. The breakfast staff were not the most helpful and friendly though.

My wife went to the spa and said it was good but not worth the 12 euros to do so and felt it should have been included in the price as it wasn't a cheap hotel.
Overall a nice hotel but quite expensive for the value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimamatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Maybe the best accommodation in Pas de la casa, but expensive spa and not very warm rooms. As well room furniture are simple, and wi-fi (as in all Andorra) were limited - 80Mb per day only for one device..
The most unforgettable thing from our staying was restaurant. We take halfboard, but our breakfasts and dinners were as like in the michelen's places. Kandahar is gastronomic hotel - it's true. I'm afraid to stand on the scales now))) so, we give to this hotel four with big plus.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Font D'Argent Hotel
Font D'Argent Hotel
#7 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magic Pas Hotel
Magic Pas Hotel
#12 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kandahar

Address: 5 Carrer de Bearn | C/Bearn No 5, Pas de la Casa, AD200, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: £100 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kandahar 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel located few steps away from the Grand Valira slopes, will give you the possibility of tasting genuine home made food served with a daily changing Menu, composed with Catalan, Spanish and French dishes. If you have special food needs, please do not hesitate to contact us. You can choose between rooms with slope or street view. From our renewed ski-locker room you can practically leave the hotel skiing. We organize several free of charge activities along the week: Irish coffee night, appetizer on the slopes, leaded group ski on the Grand Valira slopes. To park your car, we will drive you to the communal covered parking located 600mts away, with the hotel car (hotel service, free of charge between 8am and 10:30pm). You can order your ski-passes and ski classes directly at the reception. We suggest you to book your classes in advance. When booking directly with us, we can offer you discounted rates on ski-passes if you place your order at least one week in advance. We wish to welcome you very soon. Kind regards, the Kandahar family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kandahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing