We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic renovated holiday let in Ribe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Den Gamle Kobmandsgard
Ranked #1 of 43 Ribe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2014

we have stayed here for 1 night in May 2014. Central location in the old city. comfortable and beautifully 3 renovated large holiday suits(1 with toilet/shower facilities outside the room) with all the comforts one needs. Communal kitchen well equipped! coffee/tea facilities are complementary. Breakfast was of a good standard. Free Wi-Fi. Parking was on the street and with pretty expensive parking ticket(can be bought from the B&B owner and must be placed 24 hours a day!) Owner was welcoming us on arrival. Well recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a great sleep at this informal b & b. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable - and appreciated the informal and friendly approach of owner Jacob who came by with delicious Danish breads for breakfast. There a small kitchen space so you can prepare light bites (meals out in Denmark are expensive for some EU nationalities). Thanks for a really lovely stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank percdprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked the suite for one night: Excellent location close to the city center (ok, it is just Ribe, so everything is more or less close to the city center), nice interior (modern, but also with the right feeling for an old town as Ribe), friendly host, good breakfast. Maybe the bathroom is a small con (very small), but it is clean and there is hot water - so it´s ok :-)
All together, perfect, would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in Room 1, "the suite", which includes a small sitting area with a tv, an en suite bathroom and bedroom with a comfy bed. The interior is clean and crisp, mixed with the rustic historical details of the house, which is well in tune with the rest of old Ribe. Great location within walking distance to the cathedral and town centre. Breakfast was pleasant - fresh bread was set outside our door in the morning and the rest was in the refrigerator, where each room is assigned a shelf. Good to know: Cash only when settling the bill. Parking is tricky in the narrow streets but the owner gave us a parking card to put in the window, allowing us to park our car in the town centre for free, for the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaGisladottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A very small B & B with only 3 very nicely furnished rooms. All are of a decent size and have adequate storage areas. Bed was very comfortable. Free coffee and tea all day. Breakfast is honor system with each room's food on a different shelf in the fridge. Very nice pastry was put out each day. Cash only!

Room Tip: Any, but one has a private bath but is not ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for one night in Room 1, which had a bedroom, a private bathroom, a sitting room with TV, and a small table with 2 chairs in an alcove that also could be set up with an extra bed, which we used. The communal kitchen area had a refrigerator, a coffee machine, and a dishwasher where we were asked to put our dirty dishes. Everything was very clean and the bedroom was quiet. WiFi worked well. The owner met us on arrival and brought breakfast the next morning, but didn't live on-site, so it was a little more like an apartment than a B&B. We parked in the street, but the owner warned us to move the car in the morning and we didn't have a problem. The location was great, within walking distance of the cathedral, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ribe is beautiful. And it lives organically with its history. For Australians like us, this is at times overwhelming: most of the houses in Ribe’s centre were built before Arthur Phillip sailed into Botany Bay.
This was our second time in Ribe, … and staying again, for a couple of nights in Den Gamle Købmandsgaard. So old, so much a part of historic Ribe: you look through the window on to the narrow, cobblestoned Hundegade. Inside, you enjoy all the comforts of modern living, beautifully furnished and appointed. With delicious breakfasts, and a 24 hour-a-day coffee machine.
Last time we were in Ribe, we stayed in Den Gamle Købmandsgaard’s Unit 1, which has a private shower and toilet. This time, we had Unit 2: our private amenities were reached by walking through the dining area and down the hallway. But this is a small price to pay for living in such an historic building.
One caution, though! Do not let anyone convince you that you may park your car on Hundsgate. We did, and found ourselves with an infringement notice and a fine of 500 Danish kroner, a not inconsiderable amount of money. We had parked our car in the narrow cobblestone street too close to the corner, too close to the wall. When we asked about relevant signs, we were told by the traffic inspector that signs are unnecessary because everyone knows the rules. We didn’t, … and obviously, few drivers in Ribe really do! A traffic infringement notice that seems unjust can somewhat spoil your holiday and jaundice some of your feelings and attitudes.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 1 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOldiesBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ribe hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dagmar
Hotel Dagmar
#2 of 6 in Ribe
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ribe
Hotel Ribe
#3 of 6 in Ribe
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ribe Byferie
Ribe Byferie
#1 of 6 in Ribe
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bed & Breakfast PostGaarden
0.2 mi away
Weis Stue
Weis Stue
#22 of 43 in Ribe
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danhostel Ribe
Danhostel Ribe
#2 of 6 in Ribe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Den Gamle Kobmandsgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Den Gamle Kobmandsgard

Address: Hundegade 25, Ribe, Esbjerg 6760, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Esbjerg > Ribe
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ribe
Price Range: £74 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Den Gamle Kobmandsgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing