We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Landudec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Guilguiffin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our stay at Chateau Guilguiffin was absolutely delightful. We stayed for three nights with our adult children - all of us found it enchanting. Our hosts, Philippe and Angelica could not have been warmer or more welcoming. They went out of their way to help us with local sightseeing plans and restaurant recommendations, often sitting with us in the breakfast room (with open fire) marking local highlights on the map.

The Chateau itself has a wonderful sense of authenticity and history. The rooms are large and charming without being grand or opulent. The location is great for exploring the fascinating towns (especially Quimper) at the tip of Brittany.

Very hard to fault - Our only tiny suggestion for improvement would be to use pure cotton sheets. Otherwise, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneysiders005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Very nice location for this chateau in Brittany. The parc is nice, even if the garden is not up to standard for a chateau (could be alot better), however the grounds are absolutly smashing!! The bedroom we stayed in was well furnished, the overall service is OK. This was an nice first time experience in Brittany.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madbrittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Beautiful environment - felt as though I was in a beautiful dream. A fairy-tale experience.
Philippe and Angelika Davy, the owners of the chateau were extremely hospitable and gracious. If anyone wants to visit Brittany this is the PLACE to stay. A truly inspiring visit. Beautiful walking paths and lush gardens plus close to the quaint town of Quimper. Would have loved to stay longer. The chateau is magnificient as well as the owners.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We stayed here with our UK family for 4 nights while looking at the Quimper area where my Great Great grandmother had come from in 1800s to NZ.
A little hard to find in country area, and having driven from Nantes and arriving in the evening, found it a bit disappointing to have no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms or lounge areas. That for us this was a big minus as it meant the only time you could have a hot drink was at breakfast, or otherwise travel out some distance away.
The Chateau is a beautiful old place and pretty comfortable on the whole. Parking plentiful. Breakfast ok. Fascinating history as so many of these old places have.
Quite expensive. If ever went to Brittany again would stay nearer to a village or city. However on coming back to NZ it was nice to be able to say we had stayed in a chateau.

  • Liked — sense of history, big spacious rooms, and privacy
  • Disliked — no tea or coffee making facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwitravellersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landudec
5.6 mi away
Auberge de Kerveoc'h
Auberge de Kerveoc'h
#9 of 10 in Douarnenez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
5.8 mi away
Manoir de Kerhuel
Manoir de Kerhuel
#1 of 2 in Ploneour Lanvern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
Hotel Restaurant Breiz Armor
#1 of 3 in Pouldreuzic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Manoir Hotel des Indes
12.0 mi away
Villa Tri Men
Villa Tri Men
#1 of 3 in Combrit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Guilguiffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Guilguiffin

Property: Chateau de Guilguiffin
Address: Chateau de Guilguiffin, 29710 Landudec, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Landudec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Landudec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chateau De Guilguiffin Brittany/Landudec, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing