We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I still have a soft spot for this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“I still have a soft spot for this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

It is a year since we were last here and I was commenting then that the refurb was progressing at a snail's pace and one might want to think about an alternative. Don't.

We had two refurbished rooms (rooms 8 and 10) which have been done out really nicely and we were very comfortable. The corridors are still work in progress but that will happen in time.

The thing about this place is the food and the restaurant is of such a high standard and such a delight to sit and have a meal in that I shall keep coming back. I chose the scallops followed by the confit de canard which were both just sublime. I rounded this off with cafe gourmand to make sure I got a taste of miniatures of some of their best desserts.

Dinner with wine and aperitif came to EUR 68.50 per head (call it GBP 56) and I think this is really good value when you consider the exceptional quality.. The rooms were EUR 72 each and breakfast another EUR 9.80 a head.

The setting is delightful and you will enjoy listening to the rush of the millstream. If I have not said so before then there is safe parking at the back of the hotel through the arch from the road. (be careful exiting here when you do!).

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms with dual aspect windows then you have the best of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    62
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
35
84
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in February, having visited 5 years ago. A lovely old mill that is being renovated. Restaurant is excellent as we're the restaurant staff. This is a restaurant that prides itself on quality and service with a huge wine list. I have to have a gluten free diet, and other than bread, they adapted things to suit me.
Breakfast ok, not as good as it could have been.
Rooms are quirky, comfortable and clean but still bits of work in progress, very happy to stay here though.
Hoping to visit again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyerKeytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Having had a wonderful 7-course dinner on Valentine's Day last year, we returned this year, expecting the same. Sadly it wasn't so good: firstly the number of courses had been reduced to 4 but the price reduced only to €40 (from €45 last year). This was over-priced, especially given the disappointing main course: a steak (rather tough, so not even fillet), a marrow bone (!) and a few chips. The other 3 courses were excellent, especially the delicious desserts.

The restaurant was nicely decorated and there was a pleasant ambiance. Service was good and a young waitress spoke excellent English, The ladies received a smart flower table decoration (not tacky!).

Our bedroom was rather small but very smart, especially the bathroom. It seemed that both had been recently renovated.

The buffet breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Me and my family have for the past 10 years always a fabulous stay over at this place! The staff is friendly and warm and make you feel welcome, the chef provides good food and the wines are great. Rooms comfortable and the surroundings really rustic and peaceful. Gardens and grounds lovely to sit and enjoy a few drinks or an apero. Eating on the terrace is pure bliss! Do stay over and let them spoil you and you would stay there for ever!! Prices and quality are in balance and a private parking is for free. If you go there please say hello from us!!

Room Tip: if you like to hear the church bells tolling ask for a room with view on the garden and if you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-Ernst d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely Auberge over a weekend and had a great experience. The food was although traditional very good, taste, quality of products and presentation on nice warm plates was very appreciated friendly service and very attentive from the lady who runs the restaurant after questioning she is the co owner with her husband, .

You can see that the owners are working hard on their business and also refurbishing their rooms, excellent bed, free wifi, great duvet, clean bathroom, a real pleasure.

the service although slightly damaged by some individuals in all fairness, I will not mention a name as this is simply not respectable however the young lady in question was not particularly the most pleasant one during breakfast, in fairness I hope she is off when we plan to come back. sorry must this must be dealt with by the owners.
Their service is second to none and so pleasant that you want to come back again and again.

The garden must be a pleasure in the summer and my son would be delighted to play there with his ball.
We will come back to this fantastic hidden gem in North Burgundy.
In my best French " Merci beaucoup et a la prochaine".

Room Tip: I think you will need to book well in advance for the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barca1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been visiting this Auberge for some time, irregularly. This visit (a Saturday night) marked a further step-change in quality. I had, by mistake, listened to a Trip Advisor comment - when I booked the room, and had forgotten the room number I preferred! Anyway, though small, the room was well appointed, and we slept very well. Obviously there is still a fair amount of work in hand, on an old and dilapidated (but magnificent) building like this. but it is well underway, and will continue this winter. First floor rooms are the best. But if you can't get one, book in anyway, you will be well looked after!

The restaurant is however bang on form. And the meal we had was superb - quite one of the best. Monsieur was excelling himself in the kitchen The wine list is extensive ( a bit light on Bordeaux, but plenty of excellent Burgundy and Rhone). And Madame - the proprietor - runs a great ship - and its equipe - with a light hand and could not be more helpful and friendly, both to locals and visitors alike. And this is an example picked up by all the team who are, without exception, really excellent!

Room Tip: First Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband, daughter and I were travelling down to the Alps for a skiing holiday and made an overnight stop at the Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux.
We were possibly the only quests as it was a very cold and snowy January 2013 weekend. The hotel public areas were warm and comfortable as were our two bedrooms.
The two bedrooms we had I dont think had been refurbished but were none the less functional and met our requirements.
Our dinner in the restaurant was very good and my daughter who is a strict vegetarian had a wonderful risotto. They made sure she had a good choice of starters, main course and desserts.
I would stay at this hotel again as it represents good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyflower668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve l'Archeveque
13.0 mi away
Hotel de Paris et Poste
8.4 mi away
Auberge de la Scierie
Auberge de la Scierie
#1 of 1 in Aix-en-Othe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.7 mi away
Havana
Havana
#5 of 7 in Sens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ibis Sens
Ibis Sens
#1 of 7 in Sens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
22.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
17.1 mi away
Le Carre Long
Le Carre Long
#1 of 1 in Eaux Puiseaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux

Property: Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux
Address: 18 rue des Moulins Banaux, 89190 Villeneuve l'Archeveque, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Villeneuve l'Archeveque
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villeneuve l'Archeveque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Vieux Moulins Banaux France/Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing