We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Montagne de Brancion(Martailly-les-Brancion)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Hotel Chalon-Sur-Saone Sud(Saint-Remy)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Saint Remy(Saint-Remy)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Dracy(Dracy-le-Fort)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Syracuse Hotel(Chalon-sur-Saone)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
20
20
10
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
20
10
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We spent a night here while cycling through Burgundy. The pool was a very welcome sight after a day on the bike? The room was clean and comfortable, nothing outstanding but not simply mediocre either. Free wifi is provided so it is easy to stay in touch while there. The restaurant is across the street from the inn. Our dinner was great and we sat outside on the patio which made for a very memorable evening. The owners of the Inn are very visible and friendly so service is excellent. This was a great example of what rural France has to offer.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellingfamily287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

this is one of those little hidden gems of a restaurant in which France still specialises . It's important to avoid confusion with the closed Hotel du cheval blanc which is opposite and which is the incorrect subject of the picture here. The auberge is a 'Logis de france' . Under new management it is beautifully decorated and quite charming . We sampled a 30 euro lunch menu which was lovely in every respect . The thinly sliced sauteed Scallops decorated a salad with mushroom and tomato salsa on the side . As a starter it was delicious . Second course was medallions of sword fish in a reduced sauce coated with sesame seeds and served with asparagus and vegetables. it looked good and it tasted great !! A cheese board followed with a selection of 15 well chosen cheeses both classic and local. I finished with fresh fruit in a caramelised sauce covered with creme anglaise and then grilled or torched - wonderful !!
Service was friendly and relaxed - this is not a place for fast food but for savouring both food and wine . The wine list was varied and reasonably priced . We had a cote challonais white from Buxy for 17 euros .
I can only praise this lovely restaurant which brightened up an otherwise rainy sunday . We will go back for more in two days time !!
We did not stay in the Auberge rooms so I cannot comment on them

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broombank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I were staying in a small gite a few km up the road in St Vallerin, and so we can't comment on Cheval Blanc as a hotel, but we quickly became regulars at the restaurant and really enjoyed our several visits for lunch and dinner. It is a family-owned and -operated place that draws a brisk lunchtime trade of both locals and travelers; dinnertimes were quieter but we were there in the off-season, and I would guess that as summer warms up the dinner traffic will do likewise. Menus are creative and inexpensive, and excursions a la carte don't have to be hugely expensive; same with the wines, which can be had by the caraffe/pichet as well as by the bottle from their rather extensive list. The cuisine is really good country fare with touches of refinement; the usual entrecotes are good, but I liked the fish and duck too. The chef cuts his own herbs in a kitchen garden, and even during our early-season stay there were lots of fresh fruits and veg on offer. The staff are very friendly, service is well-organized, and the inside of the place is very pleasant; there is a small area behind that *may* offer outdoor seating at warmer times of year, though I'm not certain of that. We became fans of the place very quickly, and someday I hope we can return --

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had been taken to this hotel by friends who had used it for nearly 25 years. We arrived and the owners had left. New management were friendly but the dinner was nothing special, service was slow, not just for us but other diners. Breakfast was the saving grace.
We had a small double room at the front which was noisy.
We had travelled with great expectations, sadly not reached.

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the garden with a bath, they are bigger and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We visited the Cheval Blanc for the 4th time in 5 years, this time we stayed for 3 nights with friends. As always, the welcome is warm and genuine, the food and wine superb and great value. Dinner under the trees at the back of the restaurant was a delight, and breakfast overlooking the garden with local honey and different home made jams each day just perfect. As another reviewer said, rural France at its best. The owners are really helpful, even providing a cool place to store the wine we had bought locally, and recommending local caves to visit. The rooms are simply furnished and comfortable. There is also plenty of secure parking. Nearly all of the guests we have met at the Cheval Blanc were making return visits.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CGPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews