We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My worst night ever!”
Review of Chateau de Beaujeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Beaujeu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sens Beaujeu
Reviewed 27 July 2010

HORRIBLE! This place is absolutely incredible in the negative sense. If you look at the pictures on the internet you get no idea how this place is in reality. Seen from a distance and together with the incredibly beautiful landscape this looks like a wonderful place to stay. Once we were there we could not believe how such a building can be offered to paying guests. The building is decaying and dirty. The rooms are dirty, dusty and smell, with most of the furniture broken or mended somehow. We were scared to get electrocuted when plugging and turning on the lamps. At night there is a lot of noise from animals on the floor above (we think rats). The worst was the dinner. For 80 Euro we were served cold food that must be the have been remains from the days before (russian salad, couscous, salmon pie, slices of beef, apple pie, cheese). The only good part was the wine, which was really delicious. We were so disgusted of the kitchen, that we left the next morning without touching the breakfast. Overall this was was a total nightmare experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank rangliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

Sens-Beaujeu is not a modern day, marbled floor Oberoi Hotel. It is not a fancy five star hotel and nor are you paying for it! It is, instead, a place that allows you to live in, poke around, touch, feel and see all the old furnishings, cupboards, sections and live in a stunning country setting, imagining how people may have lived here centuries ago. There is a level of hand made finishing, wallpaper, woodwork and statues that you would rarely see replicated in any fully renovated hotel today. This is what makes brings so much charm.

The bathroom was large, immaculate and modern. The rooms were filled with books, paintings and furniture dating back as far as the 16th century. Huge windows overlooking the fields gave our room a princely feel.

It is a beautiful place to stay, away from the stodgy, unlivable feel that other more expensive chateaus can leave you with.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank gttlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This excellent chateau (Build 16th Century!) gives you a true feel of how it is to live in a castle environment! The room we stayed in was very clean and nicely renovated/restored while keeping the antique castle feeling. The environment is absolutely asthonishing and gives lots of opportunities to wander around (trip to the village of Sancerre, walk around the chateua, mounting-bike tour, etc.). As one of the day-trips we made a kanu-trip down the river that is also highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I spent a week at the Chateau with a group of about 15 friends. It is a relaxed place with a feeling of being "far from the madding crowds". The Chateau itself is worth a visit. Each room is different. The place has great history. It has large gardens and plenty of space for relaxed wanderings. It is close to the little village of Sens Beaujeu for a spot of food or dinner. The Chateau is a great base for exploration of the Sancerre region.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuchullainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful time in this peaceful and cosy traditional 'chateau' in the Loire Valley, very close to the town of Sancerre which is famous throughout France and beyond for their wines.

The accommodation is charming and comfortable, the owners extremely hospitable, and this is the kind of place you can get a taste what it's truly like to be living amongst the beautiful French countryside.

Everything from the fresh baguettes to walks in nearby fields and bushes, to visits to the local wineries, this is the authentic experience that sets itself apart from much of the over-commercialized and often de-personalized standard tourist fares that loses touch with the true roots of this central region of France.

Definitely a hidden gem in a great location to relax and completely immerse in the local environment.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

I have just completed my third stay at the lovely Chateau Beaujeu, a 15th century family-run estate in the rolling hills of the Sancerre wine region. This time I elected to stay longer -- a full seven days. I was given an apartment with a full bath, kitchen, living room and extra bedroom for my 15 year old daughter. The apartment was huge,clean, and comfortable with two fully modernized baths. The furniture was a combination of old and new -- as is fitting in a chateau that is more than 500 years old. It was a rare treat to be trusted so, as a guest, and to be able to roam the rooms and share the life on this grand old estate.

I am at a loss for words at the horrible review someone wrote previously. All of my experiences there have been so completely the opposite. Although I'm not sure, I believe I stayed in the same apartment mentioned by the person from Canada. There was no stench. Yes, the rooms had an 'old chateau' feeling, but quite frankly, I liked that. I also liked the cloth covered walls, the huge windows, the tile floors, the fourteen foot ceilings, the tranquility and hidden light switches!

I'll leave this review with a remembrance -- having my morning coffee on the back terrace overlooking green fields and forests, watching cows graze, and my daughter chancing a boat ride in the small creek below with another young person staying at Beaujeu. Their excursion was overseen by several geese and ducks who had staked out territory on the banks.

Truly this is one of the rarest and most beautiful places to stay in France. But, it is not for those who expect a 'hotel.' This is for those who want to participate and experience life in the French countryside.
M.B., New England, USA

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank MBONewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We were supposed to stay a month in the apartment in the Chateau however, there were so many problems we left after 3 days.

The problems included:
- The entire apartment was not the cleanest but the kitchen was the worst. There was a thin layer of dirt over the counter and kitchen sink and the oven was extremely dirt with baked on food. We had to buy cleaning supplies which we used to clean the kitchen. After cleaning the kitchen we released the water in one sink tub and bugs were pushed up into the second tub.
- The master bedroom bed footboard was covered with a cloth; it had stains on it which looked like either urine or semen.
- The little sitting room had a continuous musty smell emanating from the furniture.
- The whole family was cold at night because the owners shut off the heating system in the Chateau in the summer. During the time period we were staying there it was cold at night because it was raining. It is especially drafty around the windows.
- Our kids were having a problem turning on one of the lights. When I assisted I thought that I would electrocute myself. The electrical system in the house appears to be very primitive. When we first arrived at the Chateau we were told not to use the lights very much because "electricity is very expensive in France."
- At night we would hear squeaking noises. We originally thought that the noises were the heating system however later we found out the heating system was off. The noise was the worst on the third night; in fact we could hear squeaking, scurrying, fighting and animals falling behind the walls in the 2 bedrooms. The owners said the noise was "rare owls" but the fighting that we heard was NOT rare owls. There may be rare owls running through the walls but the fighting was definitely not owls.
- The second bedroom in the Chateau had a continuous combination smell of mold and rotting flesh. The smell was coming from the wall behind the beds. The smell was progressively getting worse each night. We were unable to open the windows because it was cold at night and it was raining. By the third night the smell was coming into the master bedroom. The smell was so bad one child refused to stay in the room. We sprayed perfume and put Vicks under the noses of the 2 people staying in the room in order to mask the smell; this had to be done every 30 minutes. We also thought of having the 2 people sleep in the sitting room but the musty smell was bad in that room.
- We spoke and wrote to the owners and they agreed in writing to refund over 500 Euros. We are still waiting for our money to be returned.

Our experience with this Chateau was the worst experience we have had at any hotel or B & B anywhere. We have purchased a web address and will be telling our story on a dedicated website soon. Obviously the owners of the Chateau are not happy with us and they have already notified us that they will be taking international legal action against us if we tell our nightmare story.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank OMNItrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sens Beaujeu
6.2 mi away
Le Clos Saint Martin
Le Clos Saint Martin
#2 of 8 in Sancerre
200 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel de la Loire
Hotel de la Loire
#4 of 8 in Sancerre
97 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel la Buissonniere
Hotel la Buissonniere
#1 of 1 in Bannay
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Le Panoramic
Hotel Le Panoramic
#3 of 8 in Sancerre
239 reviews
7 mi away
Le Verger Fleuri
Le Verger Fleuri
#1 of 1 in Saint-Satur
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Potiers
Les Potiers
#1 of 1 in Sens Beaujeu
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Beaujeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Beaujeu

Address: Chateau de Beaujeu, 18300 Sens Beaujeu, Sancerre, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Cher > Sancerre > Sens Beaujeu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sens Beaujeu
Price Range: £111 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Beaujeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Beaujeu Sens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing