We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect R n R”

Chateau d'Emalleville
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau d'Emalleville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emalleville
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our third visit, twice previously in 2010, fair to say we like the place. Many fellow visitors seem to use the Chateau as a one-night stop over on route and miss out; this does not do either the area or the Chateau justice. We like it because of the facilities, but also because it is so fantastically peaceful, wonderfully rural and whilst it is only very slightly off the beaten track, it’s hardly the back of beyond, situated just off the D155, 9 Km’s north of Evreux.
The tennis court which is impeccably maintained and the swimming pool are the magnets for us, set within the grounds but far enough from the main buildings so as to appear near private. The grounds are surprisingly extensive, and are a mixture of horse paddocks, fruit trees and abundant floral displays, all of which aid the sense of country. The young owners, Frederique and Arnaud go out of their way to create an informal atmosphere, very much leaving the guests to their own devices and the pleasures of the estate, a style that suits us very well.
The rooms are all converted outbuildings as far as I know, and are perhaps a little quirky for some, but again to our liking. My preference would always be the Mailloc suite which is made up of a two spacious rooms, one with 3 single beds for “smaller people” and the master bedroom which is huge, contains a massive King Size bed and oodles of space. Worthy of note, this is the attic conversion of a barn and as such contains many original beams, all of which have to be avoided from time to time. Getting the cases up to the room provides something of a trial too. The bathroom is small and only functional.
A simple French breakfast in provided in the light and airy breakfast room and always seems to be a place of helpful tourist conversations, a great way to start the day.
There is no evening restaurant on site but the local area provides some real treats.
Being approximately 50 miles West of Paris, Rambouillet, Chartes and even Versallies can all be reached, Giverney and Les Andelys by comparison are much more local, but always allow yourselves time to relax in the grounds of the Chateau.

Room Tip: Suits people of an independant nature wonderfully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We chose this place due to its proximity to Giverny and its beauty based on the website. The owners were good to respond to our late arrival, but like others have noted on this site, we, too, were at the gate in the dark for sometime before we were allowed in. One would think if this were a problem, guests would simply be given the code for the gate? We couldn't get out either, and one of our party ended up climbing over the wall to enable our departure!
The owners were unfailingly helpful and the chateau and grounds are beautiful. Our rooms were fine, and the bath was excellent.
Disappointing is the fact that you are not allowed into the lovely chateau even though it is featured prominently on the web site.
For what you pay to stay here, I suspect there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duvel11Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Chateau d'Emalleville. We arrived in time for a delicious swim in the beautiful pool and we were invited to help ourselves to apples and pears from the many fruit trees in the grounds. We were able to choose the room we liked best from the two that were available, both were very styishly decorated and clean. A restaurant for dinner was booked for us in the nearby village as the Chateau only provides breakfast. A fantastic meal and very French! The charming owner made us feel very much at home and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds. Excellent breakfast with a wonderful array of homemade jams.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oliverdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We were two families of 4, one of which had stayed here about 4 years ago. We were staying in the Mailloc Suite and the Paddock Suite both on the first floor of the outhouse and stable block. These comments refer to the Paddock Suite.
Upon arriving at the Chateau at about 4.45 pm, the overall impression was one of grandeur and we eagerly awaited being shown to our room. The lady owner showed us to our suite. Our children, aged 4 & 9, eagerly explored the room as only children of this age do.
Oh dear, as we were led into the room, it smelt musty and was unkempt; the lady owner hurriedly picked up bits off the floor and attempted to open the windows to get some fresh air. One opened the other was stuck and couldn’t be opened (even after asking us to try!).
The room had no tea or coffee making facilities, but did have a couple of bottles of water and some glasses that appeared to have seen better days! We decided to have a walk around the grounds, which are lovely.
We then met the family we were staying with at the guest lounge, the room on the ground floor of the opposite outhouse building. Here there was tea and coffee but no milk. The lady of the house then asked if we could ensure that we kept our children from running in the room as they had guests staying underneath us. (It appeared that there was no form of soundproofing between the family room on the first floor and the rooms underneath). We agreed to do so and then returned to our room to bathe and change to go out for our evening meal - during which time our children were quietly sitting, playing their games. We were in our room for about 30 minutes.
As we were about to leave for our evening meal (this was at about 6.15 pm), the male owner approached us and aggressively gesticulated and rudely indicated that the couple below our room were leaving due to the noise of our children. However, the couple below were overheard earlier complaining to the owner about a smell in their room and that they were not willing to sleep there. We think it was because of this reason that they were leaving and we were just a convenient excuse. This ranting continued for several minutes during which time my wife informed him that the children had not made any noise (except walk in the room!). This was ignored. Needless to say we were extremely upset, as were the family we were travelling with, as they had recommended we ended our holiday here. We feel that the behaviour of the owner was completely uncalled for.

As you can imagine we packed and left there and then and have never felt so offended. The owners lost 2 families and other bookings that night and we ended up with a disappointing end to our holiday.

Would we recommend this place? Definitely NOT with children.

Room Tip: Family Rooms are not soundproofed in any way and in need of some tlc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rsckhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The photos look great on the website but:

1. There was only one person on duty during our entire stay. We waited a long time before the intercom was answered and the gates were opened.
2. The beautiful chateau in the pictures is NOT accessible to guests, instead you'll stay in outlying buildings which vary in age and decor
3. There is NO restaurant on site and the nearest is in another town around 17km away. We arrived tired and with hungry children but there was no food at all available - even snacks
4. Our children wanted to use the pool but it was covered. We had to try to find the staff member and eventually encourage her to let us use it but by then it was getting late. It isn't heated either as per their website
5. Brush up on your French as the only person in the hotel didn't speak any English

We booked a family room via booking.com for 150EUR but when we came to pay they'd added an extra 90EUR for our 3 children! Apparently it was in the small print so check thoroughly. I've never heard of a family room where you have to pay extra for children. We feel really ripped off and given the other points feel it was very poor value for money. Like another reviewer there were very few guests and it is in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Unfortunately you can't stay in the Chateau so will be in nearby buildings instead. They reckon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CrazyDaisyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My stay at Chateau d'Emalleville was entirely too short. The Chateau is nestled in a quiet spot of the outskirts of the Normandy region. The hosts have prepared a lovely place to stay complete with pool, bikes, you name it. There is even wi-fi for those who need to be better connected. a French breakfast of pastries and home-made jams and jellies was plentiful and very tasty.

I am sorry I did not budget more time to stay, perhaps next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for just one night and wished it could have been more. I don't think I have ever stayed in a more beautiful setting.
There is a heated pool, tennis courts and large, beautiful grounds. The fruit trees were laden and the roses in bloom when we were there and I just wandered around and felt so relaxed. Horses grazed contentedly in the paddocks and two labradors pad about looking equally laid back!
The breakfast (included in the rate) was fabulous with homemade jams, made from the fruit trees and one famous (apparently) mulberry tree.
The owners are very friendly and helpful - booking us into a great restaurant for a very good meal in the evening.
Can't say enough good things about this place and I will definitely be back when we return to France. Only three hours from Calais so would be just great for a weekend!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emalleville
7.6 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
181 reviews
7.9 mi away
Chateau Corneille
Chateau Corneille
#1 of 1 in Vieux-Villez
211 reviews
21.1 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
300 reviews
12.5 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
250 reviews
17.2 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Emalleville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Emalleville

Address: 17 rue de l Eglise, 27930 Emalleville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Emalleville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emalleville
Price Range: £118 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Chateau d'Emalleville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing