We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place”
Review of La Lande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Lande
Ranked #1 of 1 Bricquebec B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super place”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stopped here off the ferry from Cherbourg, en route to the Dordogne. Two lovely en-suite rooms for the six of us, with comfortable beds, exceptionally presented, followed by a very good breakfast. Our hosts were very welcoming, they had booked us a table at a nearby restaurant for dinner so that we were fed after the ferry. All the email enquiries were promptly dealt with.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortyfour65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at La Lande for one night as a stop over after getting off our Ferry at Cherbourg before driving further south. We were greeted by Paul and Val who were so friendly and quickly offered us a glass of chilled wine....just what we needed after a long journey. I have never stayed in such an enormous family room. We have 5 in our family and it is often difficult to find a hotel/ guesthouse that has a family room to fit our whole family.....this was not a problem for La Lande. The room was fabulous. A huge room with a beautiful iron kingsize bed, 2 iron single beds (with lovely white cotton duvet covers) and a cute little white wooden bed that our 4 year old loved. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything you could need, including a fridge. We also had our own dining room and lounge with all the UK TV channels and sports channels....great for our teenage sons! They also have a huge barn outside full of games like table tennis for kids (and adults!). The breakfast was something else too, more fresh fruit salad, croissants, bread, ham and cheese than you can eat. Paul and Val are truly fantastic hosts, book this place to stay, you will definitely not be disappointed. It is the best family room that we have ever stayed in. Hopefully we will return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in France where we used La Lande as a stop over before travelling further South. We were made to feel so welcome on arriving and the complimentary glass of wine made it a great start to our holiday. The B&B room is very spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the day! We will definitely return and maybe next time we'll stay in one of the gites as they were equally idyllic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolGem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

An utterly perfect place to stay with your family if you want to escape from the busy and frenetic nature of life.
It is set down a quiet country lane in such a picturesque setting. Surrounded by landscaped lawns, specially mown paths around the expansive land, secretive paths that take children on a magical journey, whilst being totally safe. As parents you can feel totally secure that your children are enjoying the freedom and safety within the grounds whilst playing happily on the trampoline (set into a specially dug hole so there is no risk of them falling out and hurting themselves - genius), provided racket games, table tennis, table football and riding upon the provided bikes with safety helmets. You can observe their happiness whilst sitting on one of the many seated areas set around the gardens with a glass of chilled wine in one hand and your book in another. Or as I did, chose to paint one of the many beautiful landscapes that were on offer. The reassuring factor about this accommodation is that there was no open water feature that young children could fall into, and our two year old daughter was perfectly happy running around after her brother and sister.
We stayed in Kestrel which was perfectly spacious and very homely. The towels and bed linen are of fine quality. The master bedrooms windows open towards the stunning rear gardens, with a child lock if required. The showers and bath pump out a constant supply of hot water. The kitchen is well equipped with very modern white goods, this opens onto an open plan living space with two doors opening out onto the mature flower beds and bird songs.
This gite is in a perfect location, ten minute drive to stunning beaches that you feel are totally your own, markets, Bayeux 50 minutes drive. St Marie Eglise 30 mins drive. We managed to do something everyday whilst also recharging our rather flat batteries!!
The hosts Val and Paul have an eye for detail and have thought of everything that you may need during your stay. They exude warmth from the moment you arrive until you drive off down the driveway, constantly waving. Your privacy is never compromised.
The sign of an excellent holiday is when you have to comfort your children as you drive away. Tears rolling down their sun kissed cheeks, as they sob between breaths that they wished that La Landes was their home.
Book your weeks vacation now before the regulars rebook. You have been warned......
Xx

Room Tip: Both gives are beautiful. Val showed me the bed and breakfast rooms, which were of breath taking pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from our 3rd visit at La Lande over the past few years. It was wonderful and gets better each year! Paul and Val are excellent hosts and would recommend this retreat to families or couples. We rented Barn Owl gite which i would recommend if you are two families sharing - it worked perfectly for us and as a treat we had Paul and Val cook for us on our last night - reasonably priced with excellent food and wine (getting restaurant quality food whilst your children are asleep- perfect!). I am sure we will return next year as there is so much to see in the local area. Thank you Paul and Val - see you soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie-BristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for an evening meal, bed and breakfast at La Lande on our way from the south to the ferry at Cherbourg. It was superb! Our only mistake was not to have booked in for longer.
The upstairs 'Admiral' bedroom is unique, absolutely huge, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and has an lovely bathroom, seating area, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities (not always readily available in French hotels) and views over the delightful garden. Paul and Val could not have been more welcoming and have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable and able to relax. We had opted to have the evening meal and what a treat that was! It was served to us in the dining room and each one of the four courses was delicious, as was the wine. Val is an excellent cook . Breakfast was delicious,too and very plentiful. There was a lounge which we could have used, but the weather was so glorious that we walked in the extensive gardens and relaxed on the garden seats provided.
Bricquebec is a delightful town and the whole area is lovely with proximity to the sea.. We hope to return and make La Lande our base for a longer holiday without having to drive very far from the ferry port. Certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandWalker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A+ property. Val and Paul were the perfect hosts. They were at hand with all their local knowledge, gorgeous breakfast every morning and always making you feel that nothing was too much trouble. La Lande is set in fabulous surroundings and extremely comfortable. Would definitely recommend a stay there if you are looking for somewhere convenient to Cherbourg and/or Normandy Beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bricquebec
0.9 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Logis La Regence
Logis La Regence
#8 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#3 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.6 mi away
Manoir de Savigny
Manoir de Savigny
#1 of 4 in Valognes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lande

Property: La Lande
Address: les Gros Monts, 50260 Bricquebec, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Bricquebec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bricquebec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful 2 & 3 bed gites in Bricquebec, Normandy, 25 minutes drive from Cherbourg. B & B available in our suite & also in the gites, out of peak season. Close to the Normandy landing sites & gorgeous Atlantic beaches. Peace & quiet; luxurious tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Lande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lande Bricquebec, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing