We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seventh night of our group cycling holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bricquebec
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Eleven of us stayed in six rooms on the seventh and last night of our group cycling holiday. Wonderful location inside the castle in a delightful town. Plenty of space in a garage for our bikes. After looking at other restaurants in town decided to stay in the hotel for evening meal. Fairly pricey but good quality food and wine. Ditto breakfast.

Standard of the rooms was a little disappointing but OK. One couple had a tiny bathroom and some had no views.

Had to pay 50% deposit for the rooms. Not the norm these days, nowhere else on seven night trip asked for cash up front !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for L'Hostellerie du Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We first visited here over 20 years ago with young children and thought a revisit would be a nice, nostalgic experience. I know time affects the memory, but not that much!
Shabby rooms, the toilet would not stop running. When we reported this we were told " it sometimes does that" I had to fix it myself. The bed was too short. I'm not quite 6ft tall but my head touched the headboard and my feet the footboard.
The food was poor, tough lamb and fillet of fish with bones.
A very poor end to an otherwise good holiday.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We fell up L'Hostellerie by chance and booked in on spec. The owner was friendly and helpful. We paid 80 euros for a standard room with mini bar (which we didn't want or use) and the room was delightful. Small but hey it was for a night. Lovely bathroom. The room was well furnished, in the way that you would expect from a period hotel. A proper period style French bed and French furniture. I don't know where Peter K was staying but our room was perfectly secure. Yes Dinner was a bit pricy, and what we would call "bollock" food ie a bit Master Chef, but it was well cooked and tasty. The house wine was good. We were on a serious budget and I would have thought 80 euros expensive if I was not comparing it with what we had paid previous nights. If you want a modern bland chain hotel, then do not stay here. If you want something different, and are prepared to accept that the floors squeak, the stairs squeak and there is a really cute cat in the courtyard, then this is the place for you. If it hadn't been 8 May and a French bank holiday we would have gone back for a second night. Trust me after a week travelling around the Peninsula staying where we could, this is good value for money at the bottom end.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheatreGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's ideally located in the town centre. Easy park, individual rooms are clean, warm, definitely not a bland chain.
Dinner was good, a bit pricy. We had lamb and duck both of which were very, very pink and hard to eat.
The broadband didn't work at all throughout our stay although the owners offered to let us use their computer if we needed to.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Chosen for its convenient location near Cherbourg, the hotel seemed from other reviews to be OK. We found it to be awful. Rooms are pokey and none-too-clean ( we asked to be shown several before we decided to take one). The room doors are not secure. The management were unconcerned when we commented. Restaurant food was indifferent. Next time we are passing through Cherbourg, we'll try somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Choose room in another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Absoutely charming, at least to this American family. Host very personable and helpful. Restaurant also very good. In a good position if traveling from Normandy beaches area to Mont St. Michel. Beds extremely comfortable. There was even a sweet cat in the outside courtyard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shebasilverspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My first stay in a castle... We booked the room where Queen Victoria herself along with Prince Albert and the two princesses (future Queen Mary included) had stayed. AMAZING. Clean, stylish, vast room with a settee and huge double bed...
Lavish surroundings, the whole structure is totally decorated in XIVth Century style with suits of armour, rich dressings on the windows and furniture, beautiful carpeting and low ceilings!
We dined lavishly in the Knight's Chamber of a four-course menu for a very low price considering it had foie gras!!!
The next morning as we'd gotten up latish, they served us EXCLUSIVELY, in the Knight's Chamber again, a very nice breakfast, even obliged my husband with eggs at no extra cost as we were waited on by two lovely and friendly waitresses... A memorable, cheap but grand stay we are not likely to forget!

Room Tip: If it's available, spend the extra twenty Euros (majoring the standard rate) for the unique Supe...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bricquebec
9.5 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
285 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
137 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#3 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
266 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
193 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hostellerie du Chateau

Address: 4, Cours du Chateau | BRICQUEBEC, 50260 Bricquebec, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Bricquebec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bricquebec
Price Range: £53 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcom to the chateau de Bricquebec A natural setting for the chateau de Bricquebec A peaceful image bathed in tranquility,an exceptiona place of dreams for guest who have had ,or will have,the joy of staying there. The chevaliers room"The chateau's restaurant" invites you to taste a cuisine which subtly blends countryside flavours and the chef's secrets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your L'Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hostellerie Du Chateau Hotel Bricquebec
L'Hostellerie Du Chateau Bricquebec, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing