We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Pearl Tatman house!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pearl Tatman House
Ranked #39 of 69 Eureka Springs B&B and Inns
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
“We loved the Pearl Tatman house!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Pearl. We are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and decided to go somewhere nice for the weekend. The Pearl was the perfect place to be! The house is nicely furnished with antiques and has all the “Victorian Charm” that reviews claim it has. We found the place to be clean and well kept. It was a nice place to return to after spending a day touring and shopping in the historic downtown area of Eureka Springs. The Jacuzzi room was a welcome place to work out tired muscles and feet!

The owners, Bonnie and Richard, were very helpful as we made our plans and the local property manager, Doug, made check-in a breeze and gave us great advice about the house and places to visit and eat in Eureka Springs.

The Pearl Tatman House is definitely a nice place for a couple to get away from the city for a few days – or longer. We will definitely stay there again when we want time to ourselves in a beautiful Victorian house!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry and Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Pearl Tatman house every year for four years. We recently found out we were expecting and decided that there would be no other place we would rather spend our "baby moon" than the "Pearl". From it's beautiful Victorian gingerbread outside, to it's decadently furnished insides, this house is a vacationers paradise. Coffee in the morning listening to the sounds of the Koi pond are beyond relaxing, and even more sublime, to take a dip in the jacuzzi tub in the grotto. Love, love, love this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cassie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanita, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed in the Pearl Tatman House this past spring! We have family living in Missouri, so we used the house as a break from family visiting in the Mexico, MO area!

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this charming Victorian home! We found it clean, and beautifully furnished with antiques from the period.

I noted that another reviewer had mentioned that the access and stairs were not safe, and difficult. We are in our mid sixties and carried two large suitcases up and down with no trouble at all. I did not note any mismatched curtains and the towels were entirely suitable.

The hot tub is in the old annex to the house ( perhaps the old cold storage room? ) There we found a panoramic view of the area! What a surprise!

We slept with the windows open, but we were not at all disturbed by noises from the pump for the pond. After sleeping in relatives' homes for several days, we will remember our sleep in the Tatman home to be extra refreshing! We loved this place!

I will be booking this house again for a girls/cousins weekend in the fall, I have no concerns about recommending it to my family and friends. Staying in an old Victorian may not be every person's cup of tea, but this place was certainly ours!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthiakenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My mother and I stayed here and it was a highly disappointing experience. We were scheduled for a few a nights and the house was so filthy and in such disrepair that we only stayed one night and left very early the next morning.

We understood that the property was meant to be "self catering." However we were surprised not to find even the very basic toilet paper and soap provided.

The house was in major disrepair, including:
> steep cracked steps leading up the front door (which should have been noted in the description)
> ripped screen door
> outdoor furniture that is falling apart and unsafe
overgrown plantings covering the the outdoor steps and hand rail
> Algae covered pond
> Fountain that made noises all night long from a pump that didn't work properly
> Towels in bath were faded/bleached out and mismatched
> Cracked, uneven, dangerous pavement outside near the pond
> Broken tiles and stacked up wood planks outside kitchen window

It was also filthy, including:
> Wet towels left behind the door of the inside bathroom from previous guest! And, when we called the manager about it, nothing was done.
> Refrigerator which had some kind of scummy white substance on the shelves and looked like it hadn't been washed in months
> Dusty furniture
> Dirty windows with streaks of dirt
> Dirty dishes and glasses
> Dirty, mismatched, curtains in drawing room
> Fake flowers that are shabby at best and caked with dirt and in need of washing at worst
> Kitchen in need of a good scrubbing

In addition:
> The property was pitched as having two baths and three bedrooms. In reality it has one full bath and another half bath (no shower or tub) outside. For more than two adults showering is a problem. And, the three bedrooms are really two plus one, where you have to walk through one bedroom to get to another
> There is nothing Victorian about this house except the original architecture. The furniture consists of flea-shop finds that are in bad condition and a jumble of dusty stuffed animals and fake flowers.
> Steep stairs to second floor of house should be noted. This is not safe for children or ageing adults
> The matt at the foot of second floor staircase is missing it's rubber backing making it slippery and quite hazardous.

All of this is a major shame, not only because the price of the stay isn't warranted, but also because the bones of house are lovely. And with some care, upkeep, and de-cluttering it could be an interesting overnight option. However in it's current state this is certainly not a fitting tribute to Mrs. Pearl Tatman.

By the way, we called the manager who told us it wasn't his problem and that the house is just the way it is. And, when we tried to email the owner, we discovered the email had been disabled.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAsiaWithEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthappens, Owner at The Pearl Tatman House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Bonnie and I are extremely disappointed to have so completely disappointed our two guests.
We certainly value reviews from all our guests, especially negative ones. We understand that real time feedback from our customers is s valid way to tell how we are doing and what we need to do to improve the experience of Pearl’s visitors.

Certainly several items outlined by these two guests have helped us in this regard. First, we are going to install protector bars over the screen door, as the screen is easily pushed out and repairing it (as we have done too many times in the past) has not proven to be effective; it keeps getting pushed out. Also, there is in fact a rather old, and somewhat dated, outdoor wicker love seat on the upper veranda, and we are going to remove it, as its value (as we perceived it) as a nod to the past, has apparently outweighed its functionality. The rest of the outdoor furniture perhaps gives an erroneous impression of “disrepair” as it is all “shabby sheek”, but we purchased it four years ago, and I cleaned it personally several months ago. While it is all in good working order, the uneven nature of the fieldstone decking around the pond (which was noted by the guests) may make the furniture seem unstable if one leg is placed over a gap. As to dirty windows, we may have well been deficient in window cleaning in the past, and appreciate the heads up and will make that a regular inspection point from now on. The “broken tiles” outside the kitchen window are samples of the hundred year old former patio floor, which is carved limestone and was used extensively throughout Eureka Springs. We positioned them there so that guests could get a quick look at the old mason’s handiwork. They could easily be moved and we standby for input from future guests about that.

AS to the cleaning and stocking deficiencies in the review (wet towels, dusty furniture, unclean kitchen, etc), we reviewed the observations carefully with our manager, Mr. Doug Breitling, owner and operator of the Arsenic and Old Lace Bed and Breakfast, and we of course agree that failures of that nature are completely unsatisfactory. He assures us that these important areas should definitely not be an issue in the Pearl, and he points to his crews’ record in the past to reassure us about the future. We have never had a complaint in this regard in the four years Doug has managed the Pearl and sincerely apologize for this unforgivable mistake.

As to the floor plan, Bonnie and I always discuss the layout of the rooms with prospective guests, as it is unique, and we are mindful that our guests need to know that before a reservation is confirmed. We sincerely regret that the unusual three bedroom layout was a problem for these two guests.
As to the furniture being described as “flea shop finds”, the couch and companion chair, the dining room table and chairs and hutch were all purchased from the late billionaire John Paul Getty’s estate by a previous owner. The rest of the furniture was purchased by Bonnie and I in antique shops on the West Coast when we purchased the Pearl in 2007. We bought each piece specifically for the Pearl, shopped carefully over a two month period, and hauled it all from Oregon to Arkansas ourselves. While apparently much of it is not to the taste of these two visitors, based on the reaction of our many quests, we just have to respectfully disagree with these folks opinions and, especially, their descriptions. We will be publishing extensive pictures on Pearl’s Facebook pages within ten days of all the furniture in the Pearl, so prospective guests can satisfy their curiosity about the furniture.
As to the steepness of the steps to and within the Pearl, we are always careful to alert prospective guests of this, and agree that all guests need to be aware of the many stairs. As to their being “cracked”, we point out they are over 100 years old and many, many steps all over Eureka Springs are similarly “cracked.” We believe they are very safe. Vines do indeed grow over the walls in front of the house and the stair walls, but the vines obviously should not be over the handrails or on the steps. Thanks for giving us a heads up on that. We have a landscape attendant and have alerted him to be more aware of that possibility.

As to the pond: 1. Algae is an integral part of a sustaining ecosystem within a pond, and our pond is managed professionally by Sean’s Fishy Business of Berryville, who also maintains the pump. The pump has failed in the past and has been replaced twice. Also proper water level is important to correct pump operation, and Sean is mindful of that possibility as he maintains the pond on a regular basis. No abnormality was reported or observed during this time period, but we are aware that the sound of rushing water down the two streams is detectable in the house, and perhaps we should inform guests that it is possible to silence the streams at night if the sound of burbling water is disturbing to them. Thank you for highlighting this aspect of the Pearl.
We were unable to locate the “mismatched” curtains in the “drawing room.” The mat at the foot of the stairs is not missing its rubber backing, as it never had any, and we have conducted slip tests as to its safety. We were unable to make it slide, however we do agree that the possibility of a sliding mat is unacceptable, so we will take it up while we look for an acceptable rubber backed mat. Thank you.
As to the mismatched towels, we indeed have not stressed to our cleaning personnel the importance of matching the color of the towels which they hang in the bathrooms. We are considering the import of this. We have instructed our cleaning crew to dispose of any towels which have been spotted with bleach. We apologize for this failure and thanks for pointing it out.

As to the bathroom situation, we are careful to discuss this with potential guests. When we purchased the Pearl there was only one bathroom upstairs, so we added a water closet and dressing area in the small room which is two steps outside the kitchen door and we added a Jacuzzi tub four steps to the right in the cold room in the mountain. Many of our guests find the cold room, Jacuzzi tub an inviting and refreshing experience; a guest can relax in the tub and have a view across the pond to South Mountain across the valley.

In closing, we sincerely regret the disappointing experience our two guests had at the Pearl. Our inability to meet their expectations is unsettling and we appreciate the effort they made to point out how we can make the Pearl experience better for our future quests. Rest assured we are making every effort to respond appropriately and constructively to their unfortunate experience.

Thank you, Richard Speer.

Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Nice, old Victorian house with all that you need for a comfortable stay. Probably works out better for 2 couples instead of 3, due to the bedroom layouts. (have to walk through one of them to get to another) Great patio and water feature, accent lights at night, and landscaping, make it a super place to enjoy the evening or morning coffee. Walking distance to downtown, but wouldn't want to walk much longer at night on the way home. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom in the house was a little small, but it is what it is. Outside bathroom helps, as well as separate jacuzzi house.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
199 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Good option for a family with kids looking for a b&b experience. No worries about noise or evil looks from other adults on romantic get always. Great location in the middle of Victorian home historic district, short walk to town provides architectural enthusiasts an enjoyable 1/4 mile trek. Many of the beautifully landscaped springs and parks are along the street as well. However bring toiletries, hair dryer, ice and anything you might want--totally on your own. Great washer and dryer w/detergent avail outside w/other restroom and jacizzi tub. There is not a bat in the jacuzzi room outside, just looks like one. We did not use the room b/c it was a little creepy due to the non-bat thing hanging down from a hole in the ceiling. Regardless of the bat cave, it was the only good affordable and available option in Eureka. Would rent again, was fun staying in a real Victorian "painted lady".

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville tn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a nice visit in Eureka Springs and a nice stay at the "Pearl". We did not get to enjoy the outside pond or patio as the pond lights were not working and ground too uneven to be outside after dark. The beds were comfy! House could use a little better cleaning,somewhat dusty. One caution I would suggest before renting this is the age group you are. It was a lot of steep steps for my Mother and Uncle and a little hard for us "younger" ones to get the luggage up the outside steps and then the inside steps and there are a few more steps to deal with if you use the jacuzzi tub in the outhouse. The lighting is dim to be more in the original era of the house but a little too dim in the bathrooms to put on makeup. Overall we did enjoy our stay but probably would not go this route again.I did call the owner regarding the lights and she was very kind.The water sprinklers were running when we arrived and we did get wet trying to get the luggage up the steps.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bugjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#20 of 35 in Eureka Springs
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#9 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Brownstone Inn
The Brownstone Inn
#30 of 65 in Eureka Springs
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
Hidden Springs Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 69 in Eureka Springs
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elmwood House
Elmwood House
#17 of 69 in Eureka Springs
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Tatman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Tatman House

Property: The Pearl Tatman House
Address: 256 Spring Street, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-3152
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Eureka Springs
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing