We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accused of stealing Sheets and Pillow Cases... WTH?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eureka Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spider Creek Resort
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Accused of stealing Sheets and Pillow Cases... WTH?”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Accused of stealing pillow cases and sheets at the resort we stayed at... The funny thing is there were no fitted sheets on the bed nor on the pillow cases when we arrived! Also, the blanket was just tossed on a chair...in BOTH ROOMS! Not to mention the housekeeper told the manager after we left that we destroyed the cabin. Having respect for not only ourselves and our things we would definetly not disrespect someone else's property. We cleaned, did dishes, took trash out, made sure nothing was on the floor when we left. We Didn't want to complain about not having a fitted sheet, we just used our regular sheets and a vinyl blanket that was neatly folded on the shelf. We shortly received a phone call within thirty minutes of our departure. The message stated we will be charged $100.00 for taking the sheets and will not be welcomed back! WOW!!!! Seriously, stealing sheets and pillow cases??? We've never stole anything in our life. Were definately disputing this along with our last stay there! This resort is known for telling people they are not welcome back. Read reviews, and most importantly if you see something out of the ordinary, get it fixed immediately so you wont be falsely accused.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a fancy resort, this is not the place for you. Luckily, it was exactly what we were looking for in a place to stay.

We just wanted a no-fuss place on the river to hang out and relax. We stayed in Cabin 6 - a studio cabin with a king bed - on the first week of September. Check-in was easy. The AC was not on in our cabin when we arrived, so we cranked it up and went to dinner. When we got back it was perfectly fine.

Bed is comfy. The tap water is not great. It smells like sulphur and causes the room to smell like it. if you drink a lot of water, i would buy some bottled water to keep in the fridge. It was fine to cook with and bathe in, though. We used the kitchen a lot to make meals. Pots, pans, dishes, cups and utensils were all there - along with coffee pot. Bathroom was roomy. View from the back deck is the river and it's amazing. Tv worked fine.

We took advantage of the canoe rental. It's only a 3- mile ride, but totally worth it. The river is beautiful and clear. There is also fishing access on the property. We did not have a lot of luck but it was fun.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spitfire25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Cabin #6
Ups: Nice views of the White River, Everything you need supplied, A/C works well
Downs: Water smells like sulfur, Cabin has a slight dog or cat smell, Matress needed to be replaced a couple of years ago

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in Cabin 4 for three nights. The last night the electricity went off. There was no water either because of an electric pump. My husband was no able to use his sleep machine, and there was no way to even make coffee in the morning without water. The owner refused to compensate us at all saying it was not his fault. Awful experience in the end. We will not go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We just returned from staying at Spider Creek Resort for a week. We were mostly pleased with our stay. I am just going to lay out the facts and allow you to decide if it meets your needs or not. I would not consider it a "resort" by any means. If you go expectly a campground atmosphere, then you will be pleased. The cabin we stayed in was clean to a campground standard; clean sheets and bathrooms; some stains on furniture; could use a deep cleaning. They don't clean or freshen the cabin while you're there. If you need clean towels, you have to take the dirty ones to the office and exchange them. The cabin had an awful odor that we were told was the "sulphur" in the water. We used air freshner and you get used to it after awhile of being in the cabin. The cabins are closer together than the "resort map" appears to show on their website. The cabin we stayed in was "JBG" which was by the office. I would NOT stay in this particular cabin again. It is directly by the entrance and the office so there is alot of traffic, but the worse was that every morning around 7:30 a.m., the ladies that clean the cabins would sit behind our cabin to talk (loudly) and smoke before they started their day I suppose. They woke us up every day with this and with getting in and out of an old suburban type vehicle that was parked behind our cabin as well. Very poor consideration for their customers who are on vacation. The creek was pretty and it was convenient to rent canoes from the office for a daily outing. We rented 4 canoes and everything went fairly well. They don't give any instructions on how to use the canoes so make sure you know how to begin with. They simply shuttle you down to the drop off and tell you where to return to (which is at Spider Creek). The ladies in the office are very nice should you have any questions. Other than the canoes or rafts to rent and fishing in the creek, there is not much else to do here. They do have a small playground area, horseshoes and a volleyball net set up. Everything else, we drove to other locations for. Very laid back atmosphere; other than the cleaning ladies, it was fairly quite and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1027rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

For six years my husband, kids and I went to Spider Creek with my parents, my sister & her family. It was a special tradition for us and great memories. Since my father is considered a senior citizen, our cabin rental was 25% off. My husband called up a few months prior to our visit to confirm things. He was told we had cabin 12, but my father had the printed confirmation for cabin 13. They never explained how the mistake happened. They ended up putting us in 2 separate cabins instead of one. When my father tried to make next years' reservation, the office "manager" Heather told him that they would no longer allow him to come back. What?? THEY messed up our reservation and then said WE were unpleasant. I would be wary when reserving. Even with written confirmation they may "change" it on you. I assert they no longer wanted to honor the discount so they blacklisted my father when they could.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sophstctd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We went to Spidercreek lodge summer 2012. I was apprehensive because we changed vacation plans at the last minute. We ended up at Spidercreek because they were the first people to return my call! This is no fancy resort and they do not pretend to be. If you enjoy a clean cabin, more like a house really, sitting on the porch and looking at the White river this is for you. The office staff is so kind and helpful. Heather took so much time with my kids teaching them how to fix their fishing rod and how to catch the different types of fish in the river. They have kayaks and canoes to rent and the river is serene. The water is very cold year round but a mile away is beaverl lake for swimming or water skiing. Eureka springs is 20 minutes away as are a multitude of sightseeing opportunities. Hiking at Lake leatherwood was awesome. Lots of history here and nature. We cooked in almost every night, hiked, caught rainbow trout for dinner, canoed, and relaxed by the river every evening. Most cabins look out onto the river, but we stayed in secluded one back in the woods with an old stone fireplace. I would stay there again. I love the 5 star hotels, but this was one of our most special family vacation

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank seeyouatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
6.3 mi away
1905 Basin Park Hotel
1905 Basin Park Hotel
#11 of 35 in Eureka Springs
1,330 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
772 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
Best Western Inn of the Ozarks
#7 of 35 in Eureka Springs
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 35 in Eureka Springs
476 reviews
6.3 mi away
Allseasons Treehouse Village
Allseasons Treehouse Village
#56 of 65 in Eureka Springs
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabin Fever Resort
Cabin Fever Resort
#16 of 65 in Eureka Springs
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spider Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spider Creek Resort

Property: Spider Creek Resort
Address: 8179 Highway 187, Eureka Springs, AR 72631-9120
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Eureka Springs
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Spider Creek Hotel Eureka Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing