We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying here was a mistake!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Thurman's Lodge

Thurman's Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thurman's Lodge
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Marshfield MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying here was a mistake!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here and about half of the lights worked in the room. There was no hot water when we tried to take a shower in the morning. There are plenty of nice places to stay in Eureka Springs. This is not one of them. Don't make the mistake we did by staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicken-bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    5
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recently 6 of us (all over 70 and some over 80) spent 3 nights @ Thurman's Lodge. The rooms were spacious and clean. Everyone of us spoke of sleeping well, comfortable beds, plenty of towels, etc. This was "off season" but we were still able to see a show each night and Mr. Thurman supplied us with enough brochures that had we seen all he gave us we would still be there. We look forward to going back and would make every effort to stay at this motel. My only complaint is there was not a coffee pot in each room and the continental breakfast could have been a little more Americanized. (Like add a slice of bread, toaster and butter and Jelly.) There were those in the group who wanted a hot cup of coffee and something to eat as soon as their feet hit the floor. Still, McDonald's is diagonally across the street and Pancakes isn't far away. And 'though this review is for Thurman's I would definitely recommend the catfish at Catfish Cabin. Eureka Springs is just a super place to go and if you are into jewelry check out Lady Eureka.

Room Tip: Take the Jacuzzi room. ALWAYS
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Clean, friendly staff, but the rooms and furnishings are very dated. The carpet throughout this place really needs to be replaced. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to sleep, it's worth the price. The wireless doesn't work on the first (basement) level. Beds are a little hard.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansascity76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eureka Springs hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here many times, the rooms are always clean, service is always outstanding and even though you have to wait for the office to open the coffee is good!

If your looking for the Hilton, don't come to Eureka at all. This is small community full of motels and bed and breakfasts. Thurman's is a great place to lay your head when you come back from the bar.

If you're going to Eureka to stay in your room all day, you picked the wrong place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrc082576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

While it is more a dated motor lodge, it is family-run with exceptionally friendly staff and the rooms are very clean room. Old clean furniture vs. new dirty hotel wins every time. There is, however, a pool.

Room Tip: Dated but very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cre8ivegals8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I wouldn't wish this motel's experience on my worst enemy. When we first checked in, the night manager was very nice and accommodating. Although the state of the motel was not ideal (a mattress stained with urine was propped up against the stairs we had to pass), we were still planning on making the best of the situation. However, the day manager (whom I was later told was the owner) was peeping through windows at guests, entered our room while we were gone (with a "do not disturb" sign on our door), and tried to charge us for four nights of stay even though we left after one night. Absolutely horrible experience. I will do whatever I can to keep anyone from ever giving money to such terrible, rip-off, owners.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amberlanephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thurmanslodge, Owner at Thurman's Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
I am sorry that your stay with us was as unpleasant as you have indicated. You are correct, that prior to your stay, a young child had an accident on one of our beds. We were in the process of rectifying that situation and purchasing a new mattress for that room for that weekend. I'm also sorry that you interpreted my actions as "peeping through windows at guests". I can assure you that was not the case, and I likely was following up with my staff to make sure rooms had been cleaned, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, KS
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I stayed at Thurman's Lodge because I gave my family member the option to choose and he stopped at the first cheap hotel he could find. Big mistake. Several reasons go into this opinion:
1. The rooms are damp and moldy smelling, not to mention they smell like cigarettes.
2. the air conditioners are old and broken.
3. They have no coffeepots in the room and the "office" opens at 8am, so if you are an early riser and want coffee, you have to bring your own or go find some (kind of difficult if you don't know where to go)
4. The beds are hard and the sheets uncomfortable and stained.
5. The rooms seriously need some updating.

Basically, there are several other places in town that offer the same low rate that look much nicer, have an open office all of the time, and have more amenities. I kept noticing them after we already paid for the rooms and was kind of depressed that I would be smelling mold all night at Thurman's Lodge. I do agree with the other reviewer though, dude's wife was nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naneek80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eureka Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Statue Road Inn
#30 of 35 in Eureka Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Village Inn
Swiss Village Inn
#34 of 35 in Eureka Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
Eureka Matterhorn Towers
#19 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stonegate Inn
Stonegate Inn
#33 of 35 in Eureka Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Land O Nod Inn
Land O Nod Inn
#13 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ozarka Lodge
Ozarka Lodge
#21 of 35 in Eureka Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurman's Lodge

Property: Thurman's Lodge
Address: 163 E van Buren, Eureka Springs, AR 72632-8801
Region: United States > Arkansas > Eureka Springs
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 Hotels in Eureka Springs
Hotel Class:2 star — Thurman's Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thurman's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing